We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn, great location, lovely staff and yummy food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Upstreet B&B and Inns
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Inn, great location, lovely staff and yummy food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at The Grove Ferry Inn and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing break. Our room contained a double and a single bed as there was 2 adults and 1 child in our party but, the room was easily large enough to accommodate all of us. Our en-suite bathroom was also large and airy. Both rooms were very clean and tidy and we loved the rustic decor and design. The staff were extremely friendly and made a real fuss of our little boy even taking him in the morning to check if the chickens had laid any eggs. The location was just perfect next to the river and had a really nice relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was very very good and the food from the evening menu was also especially good.
If you are looking for a regimented, stereotypical, characterless room then don't stay here. If you want an individual room in a great location, friendly staff and yummy food with a warm and welcoming atmosphere then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRD1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    45
    27
    26
    20
See reviews for
44
127
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

we intended to stay for 3 nights but on arrival found our room was double booked .we booked through eviivo . com .we ended up staying 1 night the bar staff were very helpful in finding us other accommodation "The Red Lion Inn Wingham" for the other 2 nights .we were looked after well that night and had a room looking over the river .this particular room needs a good spring clean,lovely setting just not quite what we expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jivebunny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night on our way to Dover ferry. On arrival there were plates with food on on one of the tables outside and they were still there when we left the next day. When we asked for breakfast at 8am we were told breakfast didn't start until 9am but we could have a breakfast tray put outside our room. We then had a knock at the door at 10pm from a member of staff saying we could have breakfast at 8am. The room was nothing like the one on the website and was done in the style of "the distressed look" which really looked like someone had started to restore the furniture but got fed up and left it half done. The lights from the bar shone through the floor boards in the bedroom and we could hear the staff bottling up and clearing up in the bar. The building is nothing like what we expected and needs a complete refurbishment. A spring clean would help. We do not think the food and drink in this establishment is value for money. Beware WIFI is not available throughout this establishment at least not on the day we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerqueen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Beautiful setting, staff maybe a little too laid back, some professionalism wouldnt go amiss. Zoe the young waitress had it just right attentive and helpful. Stayed in a room with a balcony with excellent view of the river however the cleanliness left a lot to be desired, thick dust on the headboard, black marks on the grout in the shower, the plumbing isnt up to the job, wooden floor dusty, outside tables smeared and ashtrays dirty. The bedlinen was crisp and clean as were the towels. On a high note the food was great and although we didnt have breakfast it looked good. This could be a great Inn if more attention is paid to the basics including cleanliness and professionalism at check in. We called to book a table but nobody bothered to record it. Good job it wasnt over busy. Shame.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed at The Grove Ferry Inn on Saturday 4th August for my partners birthday. Its perfectly set on The River Stour with a Nature Reserve next door. The building itself is beautiful, on arrival we were shown to our room by Aron (1 of the managers) who was charming. The room was fab,outside space was of a highstandard also, loved looking over the river with my glass of wine. Took a riverboat cruise from the hotel which was very relaxing & had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant, breakfast great as served untill 11 so a nice slow start to the day. In all we had a perfect weekend, would go again next weekend if i could! See you soon, Jo & Shaun.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Booked for 4 nights, only stayed for 3. Staff unhelpful. No remote control for television, however when speaking to other guests they did not even have a television. Husband had to complain on 2 occasions about the noise from music being played by staff clearing up at 11 - midnight.. No hanging space or wardrobe. Breakfast is served from 9.00 was quite late for us but on one occasion the proprietor slept in and did not start serving until 9.30 after guests had to locate the chef etc.No apology offered. Service extremely poor which is a shame as the location is perfect

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at The Grove overnight and really thought we'd use the room as a base, however, on the day of our stay there was an open mike concert in the gardens... We had no alternative than to stay exactly where we were, the friendly and professional staff made such an effort to ensure we were catered for, the acts at the open mike were fantastic... And we stayed for a roast dinner also, we had the Pork and it was wonderful.

We were so impressed that we've told all our friends about this gem of a place and it's amazing setting, the landlord and all the staff were just a joy to be around.

Well Done The Grove!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upstreet
6.2 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
6.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
6.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
8.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn

Property: The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn
Address: Grove Ferry, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4BP, England (Formerly The Grove Ferry Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upstreet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upstreet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our homely little slice of Kent. The Grove Pantry Pub is an old Georgian manner sitting on The Great River Stour in the middle of the Stodmarsh Nature Reserve. The Georgian manner is now our very own pantry pub with pigs, goats, chickens, pheasants and quails all in our gardens and helping us to be proper country folk. Our menu is brought to you by our very own forager chef who trawls the countryside each season to bring you fresh ingredients. If our chickens are up to it the eggs on your full English will be freshly laid and collected that morning and if you cant quite polish the breakfast of don't worry Lily and Pickle our pigs will eat the left overs except for the bacon naturally. If you are naughty during your stay the team might rope you in to helping pick the fresh veg, herbs and fruit from our garden or feel free to volunteer and you might get a free slice of cake. But don't forget there is loads to be seeing and doing in the local area including boat trips chartered from the pub and pleasant walks around the nature reserve that boasts some very rare birds and beautiful panoramic views of the marsh and river. Don't expect a glitzy spanking hotel but expect loads of character, lovely old rooms with all the facilities you need to spend a weekend in the country with the added benefit of a short hop to the beach or Canterbury itself. The pub has its very own pantry area where you can pick and choose items made by the team, we have open fires and stoves, plenty of comfy chairs, a menu to make your mouth water, ales racked up on the bar and some scrumptious wines. The rooms are big and airy in that typical Georgian fashion, each is individually styled and has its own bathroom. All rooms have large sash windows overlooking either the river or across our front garden into the nature reserve. oooh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Ferry Hotel Upstreet
The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn Upstreet, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing