We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Upstreet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2013

When we checked in to our room at the Grove Ferry inn, the ceiling corners and window had many cobwebs with live and dead spiders. Some of the spiders were squashed on the wall by previous guests and had not been cleaned. There was also a clump of hairs on the duvet sheet. We informed the staff and although we changed rooms, there were still dead spiders and cobwebs, and this time a shower that trickled water after a few minutes of use. Overall, this hotel was not up to 4 star standard. We were looking forward to eating in the restaurant and having breakfast based on previous reviews, but we never got that far due to our room issues. Dissatisfied with the standard of the rooms, we left the hotel without staying the night or eating in the restaurant. The hotel staff were friendly and gave us a refund. Nonetheless, we will not be returning here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LM1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is right by the river with sweeping overhanging weeping willows, the room we had was very large with french windows which led onto a balcony so we had a wonderfull view!
The bedroom contained a huge 6ft bed, the floors were stripped back to the original bare wood which felt lovely underfoot.
The coffee machine was brilliant, ( Ive seen in earlier reviews that some people found it hard to use but we found it easy) and there was plenty of choice, tea coffee hot chocolate and even cappuchino!
The hotel will happily arrange a river cruise trip, which we took and which was a highlight of our stay.
The hotel is old ( its a country pub) but welcoming , Mark the assistant manager was lovely, really friendly and couldnt do enough for us.
The breakfast was great and plentyfull.
They also offer picnics if you want to go out for the day to explore the countryside which was lovely
Just a couple of suggestions Mark, ( you did ask me for suggestions) how about a dressing table in the room and any chance of the french windows have mosquito nets to protect us from the the little devils at night!!
And please stop using those tiny little jam jars for salt and pepper on your restaurant tables......

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view of the river, and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue8Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

At first glance the room we stayed in (the Honeysuckle room) is massive with a huge six foot bed and a balcony overlooking the river.

Many people have commented on the lack of a wardrobe, but quite honestly a dresser with mirror would have been more useful, especially for Lady Madge. And maybe a larger shower in the spacious bathroom.

When you visit the Grove Ferry Inn, and believe me you should, bare in mind this IS a country pub with a few rooms. It isn't The Ritz. And the countryside that surrounds the building will sometimes find it's way in.

The staff are incredibly pleasant and very helpful, and we were given a warm welcome from the Assistant Manager, Mark.

We will certainly stay there again next time we are in Kent.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a great three nights at the Grove Ferry Inn at the beginning of August

Firstly it's important to say that the Grove Is a B&B over a pub. That's not intended as a negative comment just a point to remember if you happen to read some of the comments on here from people who appear to have been under the assumption that they had booked into Claridges.

The room we had (Room 5) was a decent size (my wife and I were with our 11 year old daughter) and the beds were really comfortable. The complimentary tea and coffee machine, which made great drinks, was an added bonus.

The staff were friendly and the service was excellent.. They make everything to order so don't expect ridiculously fast service. The food we had was delicious - we had an excellent breakfast each morning and ate at the Inn on two nights. We'd recommend the bacon and poached eggs and the salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast. My daughter loved the burgers at dinner.

The grounds are great to sit out in and the animals (pigs, goats and chickens) add to the experience.

I said at the start of this review that the Grove is what it is, a B&B, but the management and staff try so hard to make it more than that and they are succeeding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ropercarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The strangest place we have ever visited in the UK.

Rustic charm ?. Yes. Scruffy ?. Yes.

Booked one night on Laterooms for £60 and enjoyed the experience but one night was probably enough.

We enjoyed :- The price paid, the location, clean comfortable bed, good shower, hot water, coffee facilities, verandah overlooking the river, friendly staff, most of the food which we tried from the somewhat basic menu.

We did not enjoy :- Food served on wooden platters and boxes, bedroom door which did not lock, state of the carpets in public areas, breakfast and the cramped breakfast area, the general state of dilapidation of the building and furnishings.
.
Would we go back ?. Overall it was an enjoyable experience so we possibly would. Would we recommend ?. Only to some specific friends whose likes and dislikes we understand well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedRoseMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

As you pull up to The Grove any concern about whether you'd made the right decision to book there instantly vanishes. We were greeting by a nice lady who explained what time breakfast was and that we could have it earlier if we wished. She even offered to carry our bags! (We declined but a lovely gesture nonetheless). We were in room number one named Elderflower. The room was lovely and spacious with a big modern flatscreen TV and a large double bed. The décor was wonderful and it really felt comfy. The shower room was functional with two sinks. The coffee maker unit whilst being slightly unusual, was a nice quirk as well as producing some decent drinks. Our room had a balcony overlooking the garden and outside restaurant tables - the option to bring your drinks up from the bar to have on your balcony was also a nice touch.

What you notice once you start reading through the information guide in the room is that this is a place infused with the owner's passion and warmth. This permeates through to every aspect of the hotel. Where else would you find the ability to brush pigs or feed the chickens who were also staying at the bottom of the hotel garden? :)

The food was of good quality (we both had burgers with chips) although I'd have suggested the burger patty be slightly thinner than the fat and squat type of burger than you often get these days... This and a minor bathroom issue aside, eating here was a real treat with a full breakfast served promptly after we sat down the following morning.The breakfast area seemed quite small and I'm not a huge fan of outdoor metal tables and chairs being used inside (albeit with cushion provided). I think the meal would have been even more enjoyable if it'd be a nice square, smart wooden table and matching chairs. Saying that we really enjoyed our breakfast and the service provided was excellent.

Finally, a few last things to be aware of. The hotel in summer is divine and whilst none of the rooms have airconditioning we found having the balcony doors open allowed a suitable amount of cool air. Be aware though that the hotel is close to a local train line and short carriaged trains pass by every 30 mins or so until about 11pm. They drop off after that but start pretty early in the morning. Nothing that'd be off too much concern but if you're a very light sleeper that could be an issue.

Lastly, the location of the hotel is excellent with the park and ride for Canterbury being only a short drive away and Margate being really close-by if travelling by car as well.

All in all we had a wonderful time here and wouldn't hesitate to go back!

D & S

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This place truely is lovely, as we arrived we found we had walked into the end of what looked like a very busy lunch, but the vibe was brilliant so many happy chatting customers, with only two members of staff they were coping fantastically!
After a mini incident with the 'new wifi' we were checked in by a young lady Tara who had luckily earlier in the day taken time to write down new arrivals, she politely asked if we needed a hand with any of our luggage which was very sweet to then take us around to the pantry area where she told us breakfast was between 9-11 although if we did require an early one to let the staff know to inform the chef, although we didn't need one, this is a very good idea, setting eyes on our room was amazing with the view from the balcony over the river we simply didn't want to leave! we went on to throughly enjoy our evening with my husband even trying the spiced pigeon something he wouldn't normally do but said was delicious like wise with my meal the chef certainly knows his stuff, nice to sit & observe the staff were very friendly and all got on very well helping eachother along the way, bed was very comfy and the breakfast that following was simply wonderful served again by Tara who we then asked questions about the local area and suggestions on where to visit she was more than happy to help and advise us, cannot find a fault on our stay and will be back as soon as work allows us! Would just like to say thank you to all the team you are doing an amazing job, keep it up :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaandkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upstreet
6.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,020 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
6.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,190 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Black Pig
The Black Pig
#1 of 1 in Staple
59 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn

Address: Grove Ferry, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4BP, England (Formerly The Grove Ferry Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upstreet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upstreet
Price Range: £91 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our homely little slice of Kent. The Grove Pantry Pub is an old Georgian manner sitting on The Great River Stour in the middle of the Stodmarsh Nature Reserve. The Georgian manner is now our very own pantry pub with pigs, goats, chickens, pheasants and quails all in our gardens and helping us to be proper country folk. Our menu is brought to you by our very own forager chef who trawls the countryside each season to bring you fresh ingredients. If our chickens are up to it the eggs on your full English will be freshly laid and collected that morning and if you cant quite polish the breakfast of don't worry Lily and Pickle our pigs will eat the left overs except for the bacon naturally. If you are naughty during your stay the team might rope you in to helping pick the fresh veg, herbs and fruit from our garden or feel free to volunteer and you might get a free slice of cake. But don't forget there is loads to be seeing and doing in the local area including boat trips chartered from the pub and pleasant walks around the nature reserve that boasts some very rare birds and beautiful panoramic views of the marsh and river. Don't expect a glitzy spanking hotel but expect loads of character, lovely old rooms with all the facilities you need to spend a weekend in the country with the added benefit of a short hop to the beach or Canterbury itself. The pub has its very own pantry area where you can pick and choose items made by the team, we have open fires and stoves, plenty of comfy chairs, a menu to make your mouth water, ales racked up on the bar and some scrumptious wines. The rooms are big and airy in that typical Georgian fashion, each is individually styled and has its own bathroom. All rooms have large sash windows overlooking either the river or across our front garden into the nature reserve. oooh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Ferry Hotel Upstreet
The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn Upstreet, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing