We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lucy & Megan at the Grove ferry pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Upstreet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Fantastic pub!

Firstly for the unbelievable warm welcome one recivces. My daughter and I were warmly welcomed by Lucy tge manager on our first visit, and Lucy even cooked my daughters eggs her self because they came out hard boiled the first 2 times, even though it was a warm Saturday and incredibly busy!

Megan a member of staff gave us 5 star service, !

I dont need to stay tge night unfortunately as only live 4 mikes away but the views location and service is better than posh restaurants and hotels I've eaten and slept in! And ive travelled tge world twice, !


Coming again soon love it x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D2238FCsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I arrived to a very warm welcome, shown to my room which was very nice with a balcony over looking the river. The room was very large and modern.

I was leaving before breakfast was being served, however this didn't bother me as in general I never eat it anyway but when I checked out there was a sausage barm ready for me as they said I couldn't leave without it as it was the best part of the stay ( the sausage were gorgeous ).

I stayed on business, but it is also perfect for holiday. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil001155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We just had the best possible time! My wife and I had been taken for dinner by the rest of the family as part of the celebrations for our 70th birthdays, so nine of us (including 8 & 6 year old fiesty grandsons) sat down at a table that had been arranged for us in a raised corner. It is difficult to imagine how Lucy (the Boss) and Katie (the sous Boss) could have taken better care of us - and the friendliness and cheerfulness were all one could wish for. The food was agreed to be excellent (with, perhaps, the possible exception of the waffles . . .) and well served. A light fitting had just failed so, as it began to get darker, we were quickly provided with splendid candelabra and continued our meal by cheery candlelight. We were lucky enough to stay the night and found our room to be spacious and simply furnished - but as this is a 'pub with rooms' rather than a hotel, we found that we had all we needed for a good rest. We understand from Lucy that serious refurbishment is about to take place and will look forward to returning to check it out. Free hugs are on offer, and it would have been churlish not to take up the offer - so I can confirm that Lucy is a great hugger!! Peter C.

Room Tip: If the weather is likely to be warm - ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the river and take y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We live locally and have passed the pub many times but never ventured in. We tried on Good Friday, not having reserved a table, and the very helpful supervisor found us room inside. It was one of those Spring days when it was warmer outside in the sun than inside, it was cold inside and could have done with the log fire ticking over.
I asked if the food was home cooked which it was, although I suspect that the (cold) waffles weren't, but everything else was very good. Most of us had the excellent fish and chips that were some of the freshest and largest portions we'd had. The drinks were very reasonable although there was a limited choice of beers.
Biggest complaint, referred to in a recent review, the constant banging of the door in the restaurant. Why, when they obviously know how to serve a decent meal and drink, do the owners allow this constant banging to go on. After about an hour it does get very irritating. For the sake of some simple rubber stops or a spring, this place would be perfect for a meal in a lovely riverside location.
Overall, a good place for a pub meal, but don't expect pub prices, £6 for a waffle is pushing it a bit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManfromBOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Grove ... The good stuff .. Food / staff / location
The not so good stuff .. No heating in room / plumbing and electrical issues / chips were cold ..
In summary , needs a bit more attention to the tired rooms .. Change the shower curtain !!!! .. But staff great ( could do with a few more tho) ..
This place could to with a accommodation manager ... Food and Beer is great , and outside by the river is lovely ..
Could be a real diamond with a little more TLC ...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sjbare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have just come back from a really lovely stay at this gorgeous, and quirky pub. I took my other half for his birthday, and everything was perfect! We were shown to our room, which was beautiful, and to top it off we had a lovely balcony, with a picturesque view. The room had lovely touches making it feel very homely, and there was a coffee machine in the room too which was a real luxury!
All the staff are so friendly, particularly Katie, who really made you feel like nothing was too much trouble, she even let me feed the 5 new baby pigs their breakfast in the morning.
I would thoroughly recommend staying here! It was a perfect romantic weekend away!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiecabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for one night March ,2014 .

There were too many issues here for me to recommend this place .
The positives were that it's in a good location & the room we had was decent .

However the negatives pile up ;
The whole place felt a bit neglected .Outside in the car park there was litter & tin cans lying around .This would take someone 10 minutes to clear up. Inside ,it didn't feel very clean .

The place is understaffed & while they do their best & are friendly there isn't much communication amongst them .We said we were coming back late at night & were asked to use the fire escape around the back but when we returned it was shut & fortunately some staff were still there & let us in but if we'd been an hour later potentially we could have been locked out for the night !
In the room ,the radiator control knob had broken off ,the bathroom mirror light didn't work & the shower curtain was dirty at the bottom &.also the shower pressure was tempermental.As well ,there was a door below us leading into the restaurant that was frequently banging that could be easily remedied .
They also advertise free internet but we couldn't pick it up at all .

Breakfast was really poor .They didn't seem to be expecting us (poor communication again) & i asked for eggs royale only to be told that they didn't have any eggs !! or muffins .The full english we asked for was very unappetising & we both left half of it.
When we left there were about 8 people waiting to be served at the bar.
At £79 a night they're going to need to do much better .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KJBBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upstreet
6.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
6.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,974 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
4.9 mi away
The Black Pig
The Black Pig
#1 of 1 in Staple
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn

Address: Grove Ferry, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4BP, England (Formerly The Grove Ferry Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upstreet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upstreet
Price Range: £66 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our homely little slice of Kent. The Grove Pantry Pub is an old Georgian manner sitting on The Great River Stour in the middle of the Stodmarsh Nature Reserve. The Georgian manner is now our very own pantry pub with pigs, goats, chickens, pheasants and quails all in our gardens and helping us to be proper country folk. Our menu is brought to you by our very own forager chef who trawls the countryside each season to bring you fresh ingredients. If our chickens are up to it the eggs on your full English will be freshly laid and collected that morning and if you cant quite polish the breakfast of don't worry Lily and Pickle our pigs will eat the left overs except for the bacon naturally. If you are naughty during your stay the team might rope you in to helping pick the fresh veg, herbs and fruit from our garden or feel free to volunteer and you might get a free slice of cake. But don't forget there is loads to be seeing and doing in the local area including boat trips chartered from the pub and pleasant walks around the nature reserve that boasts some very rare birds and beautiful panoramic views of the marsh and river. Don't expect a glitzy spanking hotel but expect loads of character, lovely old rooms with all the facilities you need to spend a weekend in the country with the added benefit of a short hop to the beach or Canterbury itself. The pub has its very own pantry area where you can pick and choose items made by the team, we have open fires and stoves, plenty of comfy chairs, a menu to make your mouth water, ales racked up on the bar and some scrumptious wines. The rooms are big and airy in that typical Georgian fashion, each is individually styled and has its own bathroom. All rooms have large sash windows overlooking either the river or across our front garden into the nature reserve. oooh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Ferry Hotel Upstreet
The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn Upstreet, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing