We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"another fabulous weekend"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upstreet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nethergong Nurseries Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

have just got back from another (5th visit this season) gloriously long weekend at nethergong and although the weather wasn't kind to us on this occasion, it in no way put a damper on things, and in fact we virtually had the whole place to ourselves. we love the fact that even when the site is busy, or not, you can still lose yourself and be at one with the wildlife and nature of it all, and if your lucky,witness some wonderful flying displays from the bats although they do get a bit close at times, as do the harriers, and we wont even mention the ducks,geese and swan that decide to investigate, looking for some scraps !!! jed&chris really do offer up a fantastic site with their back to basics camping and their laid back nature to life and conversation, a real treat in todays fast and frenetic lifestyle !!! " roll on next year"

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sievemelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

me and my husband spent one night here, arrived early sat morning, greeted warmly by the owner Jed and he showed my husband around the campsite to find a pitch, he chatted and was very warm and friendly. we pitched by the duck pond / fishiing lake, as my husband wanted to fish, very relaxing day sitting by the lake, I had a lovely slow walk around the campsite and found it to be lovely, the woods and the camping areas are great, there's a lot for children to do, places to play and hide etc.I found the little showmans cabin hidden in a secluded glade, its very pretty. A fire and some wood was delivered to our pitch in the afternoon ready for the evening which we enjoyed, thanks very much for a lovely relaxing stay, a little disappointed not to meet Christine this time but will make the effort to next time, definately will stay longer and bring some friends / family with us. I found the porta loos to be ok, the showers, I didnt use but had a wash and used the loo , they were ok too

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We love Nethergong :-)
We live about 4 miles from the site and treat it as a weekend getaway without the hassle of a long drive. It seems we are not alone as a lot of other campers their are local. You can camp in the woods near the facilities or further out by the fishing lake or frog pond, we set up by the fruit trees last time and were treated to a midnight flurry of owl calling.
Firepits are allowed, Jed delivers them to your tent with plenty of kindling and logs for the evening, the small shop stocks enough basics to get by and they have a veg box scheme so you can take your Sunday roast veg home with you :-) Be aware, there isn't a large supermarket without heading off towards Canterbury.
Only downside for us are the portaloos, which by their very nature are unpleasant things so worth ambling across to the main block unless desperate!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is our fourth year camping at Nethergong and each year it gets better. As a small group of 4 without children we choose to camp in the quiet tranquility of the duck pond and have seen herons, marsh harriers, an egret and even an arctic tern along with plenty frogs and ducks and the odd bat! We were lucky enough to be staying on the night of the 12th when there was a fantastic display of shooting stars - a wonderful sight. Even at this peak time there was plenty of space and the site did not feel crowded. The shop is selling more now than last year which was very useful for all the things you forget! Our friends work in schools so like to avoid children when on holiday! Although the site obviously has a lot of children staying we found them well behaved and loving the freedom of playing in the woods and making camps.

Earlier on in the year we spent a wet and windy weekend in the Romany trailer which is situated in it's own little glade. Which despite the weather was a wonderful and peaceful way to spend time relaxing. Great if you don't want to put a tent up!

With plenty to do locally from shopping in Canterbury, sandy beaches, nature reserves and historic museums - we will be certainly returning again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We first stayed at Nethergong a couple of years ago and it has changed quite a bit since then. They have increased the number of tents staying/ night which has created a busier feel to the place with some queues for the toilets/ showers. You can still choose where you want to stay but there were some places that were reserved for larger groups which limited us slightly. We camped by the woods which were lovely and when it was less busy it was very peaceful. Unfortunately we were plagued by mosquitos and I think came away with many bites after the first night. We then employed the spray but we did get a few more. We then realised that there was a canal of standing water not far from our tent. Not sure if this could be filled in to make it a more comfortable experience as in the end us and others did leave early because of the bugs. Our son did enjy exploring but felt a little intimidated by the large groups of children, probably as a result of the larger group bookings. We did have them running around our tent late at night screaming and they did scare smaller children. All for children having the fun of the place but it was a little inconsiderate at the time of night. The area surrounding Nethergong has lots to do and I would recommend Howletts Animal Park, Broadstairs for Morellis ice cream and Herne Bay for arcade fun. Overall we had a good stay but couldn't relax quite as much as we were hoping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJaneC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We found this campsite on the 'cool camping' website, where it had nothing but good reviews. Nethergong doesn't allow caravans or campers and doesn't have a bar, TV, kids club or pool- just what we were looking for. When we arrived we were greeted by Christine, who walked us around the site; what was great was we could choose wherever we fancied camping- there are no 'pitches' as such. Just set up camp where you fancy! The site is very spacious- it was fully booked at the time of our visit, and yet we didn't feel crowded or cramped, in fact the nearest tent pitched to us, you would struggle to throw a ball at! There are only a few toilets and showers, yet there was never a queue. The facilities are minimal, but offers exactly what you need if you want to camp back to basics. We camped at the furthest corner of the site- we were very glad we'd brought our bikes, as it was quite a trek to the loos (but that was our choice). There is also wheelbarrow loan for taking your washing up. If we visit Kent again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here as you can access the main centres and attractions from here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev_D13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have just come back from a four night stay at Nethergong - what a beautiful little find this was! The site is very large but its limited to 35 tents which means that even on a busy weekend, you can still have privacy in a little corner somewhere. The site is beautiful - there are no pitches and before you set up, Christine or Jed will take you round the site so you can choose where you want to go. There's such a variety of areas in this little nature haven, from wood to meadow, pond side or even a shallow frog pond (which is where we camped) Christine and Jed are just such lovely people - very welcoming and approachable. We didn't see much of them because we were so busy! Make sure you take time to walk around the whole site and take in everything it has to offer. There is an abundance of wildlife on the whole site - we saw plenty of frogs, swans, moorhens, an owl, bunnies, dragonflies, butterflies, turtle doves and even a sparrowhawk. The facilities are quite basic and if you like the amenities of a big holiday park then this maybe isn't for you - but, like me, if you want to get away from it all in glorious, peaceful and natural surroundings then Nethergong is the place for you!! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nethergong Nurseries Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethergong Nurseries Camping

Address: Nethergong Hill, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upstreet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Upstreet
Also Known As:
Nethergong Nurseries Camping Upstreet, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing