We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll run, spacious campsite in East Kent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upstreet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nethergong Nurseries Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
253 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“We'll run, spacious campsite in East Kent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This campsite is spacious and well managed, there are lots of camping locations spread around in woods, clearings fields and by ponds. The location is half way between Canterbury and Margate. Lots of room for children to play and the whole site is managed to support wildlife. The site is as near to idyllic as I've seen for a long time.

The owners are friendly and very helpful

The only real con is that the toilet facilities are fairly basic and because of the size of the site y ou could end up a long way from them. The toilets are VERY clean. 2 of the 4 showers are very cramped.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

A lovely place with wonderful camping, set in the Kent countryside, just a short drive from Canterbury and the coast. Lots of space in beautiful surroundings and plenty to keep the children (4 & 6) happy. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

have just got back from another (5th visit this season) gloriously long weekend at nethergong and although the weather wasn't kind to us on this occasion, it in no way put a damper on things, and in fact we virtually had the whole place to ourselves. we love the fact that even when the site is busy, or not, you can still lose yourself and be at one with the wildlife and nature of it all, and if your lucky,witness some wonderful flying displays from the bats although they do get a bit close at times, as do the harriers, and we wont even mention the ducks,geese and swan that decide to investigate, looking for some scraps !!! jed&chris really do offer up a fantastic site with their back to basics camping and their laid back nature to life and conversation, a real treat in todays fast and frenetic lifestyle !!! " roll on next year"

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sievemelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

me and my husband spent one night here, arrived early sat morning, greeted warmly by the owner Jed and he showed my husband around the campsite to find a pitch, he chatted and was very warm and friendly. we pitched by the duck pond / fishiing lake, as my husband wanted to fish, very relaxing day sitting by the lake, I had a lovely slow walk around the campsite and found it to be lovely, the woods and the camping areas are great, there's a lot for children to do, places to play and hide etc.I found the little showmans cabin hidden in a secluded glade, its very pretty. A fire and some wood was delivered to our pitch in the afternoon ready for the evening which we enjoyed, thanks very much for a lovely relaxing stay, a little disappointed not to meet Christine this time but will make the effort to next time, definately will stay longer and bring some friends / family with us. I found the porta loos to be ok, the showers, I didnt use but had a wash and used the loo , they were ok too

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We love Nethergong :-)
We live about 4 miles from the site and treat it as a weekend getaway without the hassle of a long drive. It seems we are not alone as a lot of other campers their are local. You can camp in the woods near the facilities or further out by the fishing lake or frog pond, we set up by the fruit trees last time and were treated to a midnight flurry of owl calling.
Firepits are allowed, Jed delivers them to your tent with plenty of kindling and logs for the evening, the small shop stocks enough basics to get by and they have a veg box scheme so you can take your Sunday roast veg home with you :-) Be aware, there isn't a large supermarket without heading off towards Canterbury.
Only downside for us are the portaloos, which by their very nature are unpleasant things so worth ambling across to the main block unless desperate!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is our fourth year camping at Nethergong and each year it gets better. As a small group of 4 without children we choose to camp in the quiet tranquility of the duck pond and have seen herons, marsh harriers, an egret and even an arctic tern along with plenty frogs and ducks and the odd bat! We were lucky enough to be staying on the night of the 12th when there was a fantastic display of shooting stars - a wonderful sight. Even at this peak time there was plenty of space and the site did not feel crowded. The shop is selling more now than last year which was very useful for all the things you forget! Our friends work in schools so like to avoid children when on holiday! Although the site obviously has a lot of children staying we found them well behaved and loving the freedom of playing in the woods and making camps.

Earlier on in the year we spent a wet and windy weekend in the Romany trailer which is situated in it's own little glade. Which despite the weather was a wonderful and peaceful way to spend time relaxing. Great if you don't want to put a tent up!

With plenty to do locally from shopping in Canterbury, sandy beaches, nature reserves and historic museums - we will be certainly returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We first stayed at Nethergong a couple of years ago and it has changed quite a bit since then. They have increased the number of tents staying/ night which has created a busier feel to the place with some queues for the toilets/ showers. You can still choose where you want to stay but there were some places that were reserved for larger groups which limited us slightly. We camped by the woods which were lovely and when it was less busy it was very peaceful. Unfortunately we were plagued by mosquitos and I think came away with many bites after the first night. We then employed the spray but we did get a few more. We then realised that there was a canal of standing water not far from our tent. Not sure if this could be filled in to make it a more comfortable experience as in the end us and others did leave early because of the bugs. Our son did enjy exploring but felt a little intimidated by the large groups of children, probably as a result of the larger group bookings. We did have them running around our tent late at night screaming and they did scare smaller children. All for children having the fun of the place but it was a little inconsiderate at the time of night. The area surrounding Nethergong has lots to do and I would recommend Howletts Animal Park, Broadstairs for Morellis ice cream and Herne Bay for arcade fun. Overall we had a good stay but couldn't relax quite as much as we were hoping.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJaneC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upstreet
6.0 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
8.0 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Birchington Vale
Birchington Vale
#2 of 3 in Birchington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
22.5 mi away
Longberry Farm Glamping
Longberry Farm Glamping
#2 of 2 in Bethersden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
6.0 mi away
YHA Canterbury
YHA Canterbury
#3 of 18 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethergong Nurseries Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethergong Nurseries Camping

Property: Nethergong Nurseries Camping
Address: Nethergong Hill, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upstreet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Upstreet
Also Known As:
Nethergong Nurseries Camping Upstreet, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing