We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Kent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upstreet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nethergong Nurseries Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Paradise in Kent”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a review that I almost don't want to write as I am worried that more people will find out about Nethergong. We are a family of 5, 7 & 8 year old. They had so much fun. This campsite is beautifully managed by Christine and Jed (thanks for help with my car trouble). It is clean, well kept and provides huge variety with the woodlands, fields, frog pond, fishing lake and simple but well thought out facilities. We are planning next year already and will stay longer than 4 nights next time. Thanks for everything, Garth & Tessa

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Garth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have just returned home following an excellent week at nethergong, jed and christine are excellent hosts and the site is fantastic. kids loved pond dipping for frogs and the tyre swings hidden around the site, perfect position to explore the surrounding coastline. we will be returning soon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rushlane38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had an absolutely fantastic time camping here this Summer. Christine and Jed are very friendly and offer a great service - things such as emailing you before your stay with a site map so you can choose where you camp, personally welcoming you when you arrive on site, and always making time to stop and chat during your stay that make you feel that you're not just another anonymous booking. They also have prepared a printed guide to the areas with sights to see and location of nearest shops etc. This was invaluable as we were both new to Kent and it guided us to some lovely walks, cycle rides and places to visit which we'd have missed otherwise, as well as giving us directions to things such as the nearest Halfords which proved invaluable when my bike got a puncture.
On site shower facilities were a little basic - there is a small block of toilets in the middle of the site and the main block including 5 showers at reception - but they were fine for us. At reception there's also 3 sinks for washing up and two big fridges that you can put any chilled food in or freeze your ice blocks. This came in really handy as it got so hot when we were there that our traditional cool box and freezer blocks struggled to cope! Christine also runs a small shop selling all the essentials.
As a couple we make a conscious decision to go camping out of school holiday time, so during our stay the site was quiet on weekdays and noticeably busier at the weekends. However there is a family field nearer the facilities and quieter areas else where to get away from it all, so this wasn't a problem for us.
The site has real character and really does allow you to go back to nature! It's not just a flat field... you can camp in the woods, by lake or in the orchard. Lots of shelter from the wind is provided by trees all around the site. When you go to the loos in the morning and evening you may well frighten a rabbit or two nibbling on the grass. Go for a walk at twilight and see Barn Owls hunting over the fields, or a Heron in the pond, and go to sleep listening to the croaks of the Marsh Toads in lake. (A lot louder than you'd think.... something to bear in mind if you're thinking of camping lakeside!)
There are also two great pubs within easy walking distance of the campsite; The Gate in the neighbouring village (about 25 mins walk across country) was a particular favourite, offering fabulous pub grub and local beers.
Previous reviews have mentioned the bugs... Again not really an issue for us, we sat out on numerous evenings around the fire (something else provided by the site - logs and fire tray) or went for walks in the evening and found with a quick squirt of insect repellent we were fine.
I really can't praise this site enough and thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 260kateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Camped for four nights last month with my husband and so glad we picked this site. We didn't arrive until quite late but the owners came out specially to give us the tour of the place and let us pick our spot. They were so friendly and helpful, suggesting places we might like to visit.There are a few different pitching fields and we chose the wood as at atmospheric place to camp! For two nights we had this all to ourselves and felt very lucky, but it got a bit busier at the weekend. The showers were clean, and the shop stocked everything you needed, including local strawberries. The owners helped you have a camp fire, which is a lovely touch as most campsites seem to ban them. Lovely walks around the campsite, or to the nature reserve up the road. We will definitely recommend this site to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would second everything everyone elso has already said, I would also say that despite being in the countryside "rainy day" options are only short drive away such a multiplex cinema.

So you get the best of both worlds, isolation and rainy-day options nearby!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This has to be the best campsite my family and I have stayed at. The owners, Christine and Jed could not be more helpful and friendly. They are so relaxed and leave you to do as you please on the site.
They have a small shop which has a few bits and pieces i.e cold drinks and ice creams for the kids. would be nice if they stocked some bags of ice though!
the shower and toilet facilities are more than adequate and I have always found them to be clean. It would be nice to have some of the swimming pool floor mesh on the tiled floor of the showers as the water does pool on the floor.
There are loads of places to visit within a 20 min car journey.
All in all this campsite makes for a brilliant cheap weekend away!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say that hasn't already been said in T.A, we spent the weekend here with brilliant weather, campsite is just fantastic, broadstairs is definitely worth a visit, kids played on the beach at Viking bay and joss bay , owners Christine and Jed were sooo friendly ....we will definately visit again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kshc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upstreet
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
699 reviews
8.0 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
374 reviews
6.0 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Longberry Farm Glamping
Longberry Farm Glamping
#2 of 2 in Bethersden
16 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sutton Vale Country Park
0.6 mi away
The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethergong Nurseries Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethergong Nurseries Camping

Property: Nethergong Nurseries Camping
Address: Nethergong Hill, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upstreet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Upstreet
Also Known As:
Nethergong Nurseries Camping Upstreet, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing