We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Neptune

The Neptune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant has some rooms, and has a listing under B&Bs, but I feel should feature under restaurant section for Hunstanton - as that is its main strength and focus.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quality all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Absolute gem, visited for our anniversary on a sunny day at the seaside. First impression was that of a cleanliness - the bar area and room was spotless - helped by the tasetful use of "seaside" colours making the most of the coastal light. The next was of friendliness. Kevin - owner and chef - welcomed us and took of stuff up to the room, then his wife Jacki popped out to say hello as well and explain the shortcut down to the sea. Food - main reason for the visit, eaten in the cleanly decorated separate dining room was seriously good. Lots of lovely, local produce showcased and flavours were clear and clean. My husband raved about his rose veal (nicked a bit - it was lovely!) and my sea trout was the best I've had. Wine list was super, spent a bit of time reading and appreciating a well-priced selection from all around the world. Loved our time here - oh, and breakfast was a bit good too! Highly recommended and felt it offers quality for your money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herne_the_hunter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    22
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“excellant food yet again standard superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the second time we have eaten here and we were not disappointed.This time we decided to have the 10 course taster menu.Kevin recognised us from when we visited last year and went through the menu with us.i told him I was abit dubious as I did not like fish and he was only quite willing to make me something else but I said I would try it.The food was wonderful but when it came to the fish courses I just didn't like them although my husband said they were superb.Jackie was lovely and said that Kevin would make me something else and came back with a melt in the mouth lamb dish which was scummy.The menu was really excellent and again we are so glad we travelled100 miles to sample it again.If you are anywhere in the region I would strongly advise you to go and try it you wont be disappointed and Kevin and Jackie are lovely

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merilyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is an outstanding restaurant. There are several intermediate courses in between those ordered.
A meal costs twice what we are used to paying but in this case you get what you pay for: excellent food and service. No wonder they get fully booked!

Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First class food, first class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is the best fine dining on the north norfolk coast, Kevin & Jackie never fail to deliver outstanding food in a lovely intimate setting - a must for everyone celebrating and if you aren't - find an excuse and book in!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal BUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just had lovely food at The Neptune after a very disappointing start when we were advised they had no large bottles of red so ended up with qtr bottles. However when we wanted more, a large bottle of red "magically" appeared to our satisfaction. Alas we were also charged for the qtrs which also disappointed us. That said, the food was very, very nice and the one waiter was very polite and jovial on a busy Saturday evening.

Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Neptune also viewed

 
Hunstanton, Norfolk
 

Been to The Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing