We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time”
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We (hubby and I) have just returned from a wonderful weekend at The Lodge. What a beautiful hotel and so carefully maintained. It was lovely to read all about the history of The Lodge and plenty information for you to access.

We arrived on the Friday lunchtime and were shown straight to our room (Number 5). People comment on the rooms being small but the bed was incredibly large as was the furniture (so are the rooms really that small, I don't think so) and extremely comfortable. The furnishings and fittings were all to a very good standard and the bathroom was beautiful too with a basket of very nice toiletries should you forget anything.

The staff from the management to the cleaning staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much bother.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night only and it was beautiful. Fresh local produce, cooked to perfection. Had starters and main, couldn't manage desert. The second evening we chose to eat at an Indian in Hunstanton and thought it was very average, nothing to write home about, only wished we had ate at the restaurant again. Breakfasts were well cooked and presented and lots of choice to choose from.

The weather was in our favour and we spent the three days we were there exploring the local area. We did the 11 mile walk advertised by the hotel which took you through many local beauty spots, well worth it but make sure you take a drink. We didn't as we planned to stop at the pub in the village close by for lunch only to find this closed for The Holidays!!!!! but managed to get back to the hotel without too much distress and to colapse on one of their comfy settees by the fire, so lovely to relax, read the newspapers, have lunch and a much needed drink.

A brilliant weekend, well worth the money. Perhaps the next time we may upgrade to a superior room however would happily stay in the standard again, nothing at all to fault.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stay at the Lodge about 4 times a year and its not enough. Its by far my favourite place to stay - and I travel around the world frequently. The rooms are adorable and spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food amazing. Its such a pleasure the moment you walk through the door.

Room Tip: I like the converted rooms in the court yard.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Lodge.

We are delighted to receive such positive comments about our small hotel, it gives me great pleasure to pass such comments onto my team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent a very pleasant two night break at the Lodge. The location is very good, just a stroll down to the beach. Our room was a double with king sized bed, and was very nicely decorated and furnished though not all that large. We liked The Natural Soap company toiletries. We ate in the restaurant both nights - great food and service and a nice place to be. The TV dominates the main bar area a little bit, though the opposite end from the TV is a bit quieter and very pleasant with a log burner and comfortable settees. There are lovely photographs of local scenes throughout the hotel and bedrooms. We did the hotels website's suggested 11 mile walk, which was very enjoyable. We would definitely like to come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni121cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

My Fiancé and I stayed here for the night and thought it was wonderful!
Room was very clean and decorated well. We asked for a quiet room and the staff provided this which was fabulous.
We ate dinner in the bar and thought it was good value for money and tasted good.
My only criticism would be check out time.. 10:30 am is far too early and we didn't get to enjoy the room or breakfast as we were rushing to check out for this early time. Change it to 12 and it'd be perfect!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Boo_1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We spent an enjoyable two night winter break at The Lodge with our greyhound and the staff looked after our every need, including the dog. We were given a spacious room with a large bed and large modern bathroom. The food was good as was the service. The log fires in the bar made for a warm and pleasant atmosphere. For the sports fans there was a TV at one end of the bar that was so loud that it interfered at all with our conversation. 5 minutes to the sandy beach and lots of nice walks. A very dog friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms for dogs, top floor for sea views. Room 17 for bathroom with disabled facilities.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having read good reviews we made a point of visiting the Lodge...we arrived to a perfunctory welcome with the comment " we are very busy tonight" but looking around most of the tables were empty....we were not shown a table and had to find one for ourself in the bar area and the menus.
The sign outside the place advertised real log fires which turned out to be an unlit wood burner.
The staff were willing but lacked knowledge of the menus or the wine list and the service was very slow..cant imagine how the place would cope if it was really busy?
The food was ok but overpriced for what it was..well cooked but unexceptional,and the drinks were ridiculously priced at £7.95 for a glass of sauvignon blanc and £2.30 for an appletise!!
The place was devoid of any ambience and the lighting scheme resembled a cross between a dental surgery and an airport lounge...all in all an unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Did not stay there
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickMcBreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your review of The Lodge Inn.

I am sorry to read of your disappointment with the overall experience during your recent visit. It is difficult for me to investigate your experience with the limited information in your review but rest assured I have shared your comments with the team here.

The welcome you received was clearly unacceptable and I am sorry for this, I will say that unless you have booked a table with us (and I suspect from your review that you had not) it is not policy to show walk in guests to a table if dining in the bar area. The whole ethos of The Lodge, a pub with rooms and separate restaurant is to offer a more relaxed experience in the bar area and guests are free to choose their own table out of any that have not been reserved.

With regards to our drink prices, they are most competitive - we have recently compared prices with 6 local competitors and our are amongst the lowest in the area for the same size/product. You ordered a large (250ml) glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc for which £7.95 is quite reasonable, we do have a Spanish Sauvignon Blanc priced at £5.50 for the same size glass. In fact our entire wine list is available by the glass - quite unique I'm sure you will agree.

With regards to the light fitting in the bar, I personally agree with you they are hideous but our owner clearly liked them enough to have them installed when this area was refurbished 6 years ago. I am sorry they are not to your taste.

It's clear from your review that The Lodge isn't for you and that is a great shame, I have noted all of your comments and they have been taken on board in the constructive way they were written.

Yours sincerely,

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager

P.S - Although it's odd comparing The Lodge to Stansted Airport, I'm also a little relieved you didn't compare us to Gatwick or Luton Airport as they really are dives in comparison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed for two nights and had a marvellous time. We arrived very early - about 1030 - but were warmly welcomed at the hotel and able to check in although our room understandably wasn't ready. We enquired about the circular walk as per the website and were given the map and directions so we set off for a lovely 9 mile (although I swear it was closer to 11 miles!!!) walk- well worth doing if the weather is right.
On our return our room was ready - the Coal bunker chosen for the jacuzzi bath - it was a lovely room but we both noticed a strange smell. Thinking it was probably some cleaning smell we went and enjoyed a drink in the lounge - a lovely relaxing place to sit. However the smell was still there and was worse in the bathroom. we mentioned it at dinner and we cannot fault the response - they acknowledged the issue and we were offered another room straight away and we moved to the Attic suite which was fabulous. Both rooms were spotless, beautifully furnished and in the case of the Attic even had a distant sea view!
Now to the food - we ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was wonderful. A wide choice of options including some specials and everything we had on the two nights was beautifully cooked, of huge portion size and very, very tasty! Over two nights we had mussels, soup, duck, ribs and the lodge burger plus puddings and cheese. There was also a good selection of wine and we enjoyed our coffee in the bar on very comfy settees.
We had two good nights of sleep and thought the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was superb - great service again and wonderful choice. The full English was great and on the second morning we enjoyed the smoked haddock and smoked salmon/scrambled eggs - fabulous, plus there was plenty of toast, juices, fruit and cereals.
We had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend the Lodge. We were impressed with the rooms, food, laid back atmosphere, location and above all else service, in particular their response to the issue with smell in the room. Top marks all round!

Room Tip: The Attic suite is spacious but with low beams and has distant sea views. Modern furnishings and ver...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGBWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Inn.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much, I am sorry for having to move you mid stay but am pleased you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to the Attic Suite.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lodge Inn again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
836 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hunstanton
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range: £113 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing