We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we could have stayed longer!”
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I together with our 3 month old son just spent three nights at the Lodge and had the most wonderful first family holiday.

The hotel is beautiful, they welcome dogs and families. Our room had the perfect blend of warmth and character, the modern four poster bed was amazing! Our cot fitted perfectly beside it and the 3 of us were very comfortable indeed.

The little Chesterfield style sofa opposite the enormous Flatscreen TV was perfect for relaxing in with a coffee whilst feeding our little man, there was also a lovely wing back chair for reading in along with a dressing table amongst other furniture.

The bathroom was brand new really modern and just lovely, I really liked the presentation of the toiletries and the range chosen and supplier (I didn't use any of my products the Norfolk ones smelt amazing!)

The bath was lovely and big and we had some great fun with baby each night at bedtime, the power shower was fantastic for us and a heated mirror was a welcome luxury too.

The little tea tin had a great selection of hot drinks for us to make and shortbread biscuits too, everything was well presented and neatly arranged.

The only possible slight and very minor observation I made regarding any possible improvement was the hair drier! I have long hair and the little travel drier in the dressing table meant it took a few minutes extra to dry my hair - I literally cannot find any other fault and to be honest I am fussy about my hair and should have brought my own!

So, the room is beautiful, well equipped and stylishly furnished; the bed is heavenly and the bathroom has everything you could wish for.

Now onto the food - Breakfast - quite possibly the best value for money, the granola is nutty and delicious, the croissants fresh and buttery, the hot food cooked to order is like nothing I have tasted before! You truly are set up for the day if you start it here after a great nights sleep.

We had breakfast and dinner at the Lodge each day, we hadn't planned to but it was just so good we didn't want to go anywhere else! I haven't eaten so well since our honeymoon -the food here is just spectacular, presented beautifully in next to no time and piping hot the produce was fresh and the flavours delicious.

All this is complimented by the staff all of whom were friendly, polite and welcoming. Special thanks must be paid to Chelsie & Sam who looked after us with such care and attention morning and night.

The location is beautiful, a stones throw from the beach which you find down a road which has the most charming shop 'The Strandline' - I could have spent a fortune in here it was just packed to the rafters with beautiful things! (Note: cash only)

A few doors down before you hit the beach is the Le Strange antiques and art gallery - again I could have spent a fortune here! To look properly through all the little shops inside you really need about an hour - then it's down to the beach!

We didnt take our buggy onto the beach but could clearly see beyond the dunes how beautiful the sand was - loved the beach huts too it was all so pretty!

There are loads of things to do nearby on foot and even more if you have a car - you have to go to Sandringham for the day the grounds are breathtaking and the house and museum are amazing.

If you have kids you must go to Norfolk Lavender, even if you don't have kids go it's great!

We spent four days in North Norfolk and barely scratched the surface, one thing is for sure though when we return we will definitely be staying at The Lodge again!

Thank you so much for having us

Emma, Ben & Noah

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoLittleMonsters24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed two nights and had a lovely visit. The themed room 'garden shed' was really comfortable. We liked the added extras - clearly well thought out.
The radiators allowed plenty of heat and the bathroom was cosy. Good supply of tea/coffee and no quibble about extra supplies.
The staff were friendly, polite and considerate. Meals in the bar were of good standard. Table booking a must when busy! Breakfast was of a high quality and nicely presented.
From this Lodge we walked to the beach about 15 min walk - we stopped off at the local craft shop which was a trove of delights. This was by far the better of the two 'sister' hotels in the same area and ticked all the boxes on many fronts. We made enquires about revisiting with our daughter who is disabled and clearly the staff would be willing to accommodate her needs.
Thank you.
So all in all a good place to stop not that far from home but far enough that you feel you have gone away!

Room Tip: We had a room off the courtyard - ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jangalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Inn.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during a busy Easter weekend, the Garden Shed bedroom is a great asset to the hotel; we have some lovely quirky bedrooms in the main house too as well as a selection of self catering properties in the village.

Thanks again for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you all to The Lodge soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After a pretty uncomfortable experience at a restaurant in hunstanton we came to the lodge for a family meal which we hoped would be hassle free we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and pleasant. The food was excellent, the baby changing facilities were the cleanest and most decent I had encountered in hunstanton. I would definitely recommend eating snd drinking here. Fantastic food and outstanding staff at last and decent family friendly place to eat in hunstanton.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0ll1e07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Everything very good the room was superb, the evening meal one of the best,the breakfast first class, all the staff were helpful & do there jobs very well nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely book again worth more than 5 stars.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sclaxton175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is my second review, I couldn't help it, we keep going back, its almost an annual pilgrimage. I have to say any one who like us sometimes feels awkward or embarrassed and stressed going to hotels with two large dogs especially after they've had a wonderful time on the beach it is so important to be welcomed and feel relaxed. This is just the place, they don't bat an eyelid and the service and staff are always welcoming and helpful. The courtyard rooms are the place to be in with your dogs, quiet, spacious with a dog blanket and bowls available. The beach at Old Hunstanton is a dogs paradise and a short easy stroll from the Lodge!
For the humans, the breakfast is fabulous, if you like healthy then the home made granola with fresh fruit salad and soaked dried fruits with yogurt on top is perfect. The cooked breakfasts are also delicious and you can pretty much have anything, I usually opt for kippers or smoked haddock and poached egg, but the full English is superb too. And there are coixants!
The menu is a relaxed mix of traditional and Italian all at a fair price and well portioned and well cooked, wines are good and can be bought by the glass.
We will be back of course!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms for those of you with dogs, they are spacious, The garden Shed is lovely and has a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Visited in March, taking advantage of a winter offer for a 2 night stay. Stayed in room 6, which has plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. Although a "superior" room, this does not extend to the view, but unless you like to spend hours looking out of the windows, this is no great handicap. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent - a particularly delicious bowl of soup - and it made such a pleasant change to have breakfast cooked to order rather than have to make do with the usual "hit and miss" buffet effort. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the manager. They all appeared to be working in a happy environment, which helps enormously. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Inn following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us, the food and our hospitality. It gives me great pleasure in passing such wonderful comments onto the team here.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Gavin


Gavin Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After extensive research for our male only walking weekend I plumped for this Inn due to all the accolades and reviews on Tripadvisor, we weren't disappointed. Our room (number 1) was at the front and was a nice size, well decorated with a modern bathroom, which included a bath as well, the standard of cleanliness was excellent. The only thing that put me off was the fact that I thought it may be noisy, being at the front, my fears were unfounded and despite a band playing that night it all quietened down nicely about 11.15, this room might not suit someone wishing to turn in early! Breakfast was superb, fresh and stewed fruit, muesli and croissant from the buffet, plus a selection of freshly cooked dishes from the menu, fresh brewed coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice ( a rarity nowadays) and apple juice from the orchard down the road, wow!
We ate in on the first night and again we weren't disappointed, all ingredients were freshly cooked to a high quality and the service was friendly and attentive in a relaxed atmosphere, the menu was small but enough for fish and meat eaters alike!
We all enjoyed our stay and found everyone was friendly and interested in how our day went, all in all a great Inn!

Room Tip: When booking be aware that the rooms at the front might be a noisy until 11'ish, especially in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
974 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
920 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
431 reviews
12.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range: £97 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing