We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant surprise!”
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

we have been visiting old hunstanton for many yearsand have always driven past this hotel/resteraunt.after checking out the reviews decide to go and have our evening meal there.we have been missing a treat all these years! friendly staff,good service and good food,could only manage one course, fairly busy for a midweek in april,we managed to get a table but booking probably advisable in high season.will be returning!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review, isn't it nice to be surprised once in a while!

We are delighted you enjoyed what we do here so much and had a good dinner with us, you are quite right - booking is a must most of the time but vital in season to guarantee service.

Thank you again for not judging this book by it's cover. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Arrived here on a very busy Friday night, after checking in, (the only negative point having to do this in the busy bar where people were drinking) We were shown our room which was nicely decorated with good oak furniture & a four poster bed, great size bathroom with a walk in shower & a separate bath. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good,lovely scollops to start followed by the curry, unfortunately to full to try pudding. A good nights sleep was followed by more food in the very good breakfast cooked or not your choice. Really enjoyed our stay worth the long journey,would love to stay with the dogs another time they would love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 at the end so no one past our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pipharris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This place is great. We had interconnecting rooms for the family. Looked in a couple of other rooms as we were in a group. All were lovely, each is slightly different - very cosy. Breakfast was included and was delicious every morning. The pub can get busy in the evening so if you want the cosy couches by the fire you need to reserve early!! The pub menu is also great. All the staff made us and the locals with their pet dogs feel very welcome and at home.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Smoltzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We returned yesterday from our stay at The Lodge and dearly wished we could have stayed longer. While there, we were so enchanted that we actually enquired about the possibility of staying another night, but in the end (alas!) we couldn't find anyone to feed our cat for any longer, so had to come home!

This was our third trip to the North Norfolk Coast, and both trips previously have been wonderful, but the Lodge Inn is just the perfect base to explore from, particularly, if like us you are reliant on public transport. We travelled by train to King's Lynn, and it was quick, cheap and easy to get the coast hopper bus to the hotel in Old Hunstanton. We were especially delighted when we arrived, with our cumbersome cases, to discover the bus stop is right on the hotel's doorstep.
We had paid for a superior room and it really was a haven of calm after a long travel and after long days walking and exploring. That said, all the other rooms looked beautiful as well.

We decided to have lunch straight away, when we arrived, and just about managed to eat outside in the pleasant outdoor eating area before the weather turned. On this Bank holiday, Easter Monday, the bar and restaurant area were packed, and it was happily buzzy with a mixture of couples, families, and very happy dogs! The staff were always on top of things and super-friendly and professional in spite of the busy-ness and our lunch of chicken Caesar salads came promptly and was delicious, with epically good soft-boiled eggs with vivid sunset bright yolks.

It was only a five minute walk to the beach, which was still beautiful even in the wind and drizzle. On other days, it was a short bus journey to the incredible Titichwell Reserve, Holkham Bay and Hall and Wells-next-the-Sea.

Breakfast every day was incredible, with really good choice. Breakfast was served in the restaurant, but in the evenings, it was equally nice to eat in the bar area. I personally liked to see how child and dog-friendly the hotel and bar were, but if you wanted to be away from dogs, there are dog-free areas. We had originally intended to eat in lots of different places, but the food was so good at The Lodge, we only are somewhere else one night (and I wish we'd not bothered to be honest!). Highlights were the whole lemon sole we both had off the catch of the day, my seared salmon with perfect bearnaise and the impeccable poached eggs at breakfast every day!

Both my husband and I have backgrounds in customer service so we particularly appreciated the professionalism, good cheer and kindness of all of the staff at the hotel, restaurant and bar. We both know how tiring customer service can be and how under-appreciated one can feel sometimes, so to see and experience a team as friendly, considerate and efficient as the team at the Lodge was a proper joy. Thank you *so much*. Not a weak link anywhere, and your efforts elevated the hotel as a whole.

Another word about the food. I am currently working as a private chef/caterer, so it's always nice to have someone else cooking for me (!), but I have rarely had fish cooked as well and as consistently as I did here. So fresh and beautiful! I think the catch of the day option off the specials menu is well worth going for!

Thank you again. We had such a wonderful stay,

Penny and Nathan Pearce

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

What a fabulous review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.

Feedback like yours gives us the motivation to continue to evaluate what we do here and improve things further, we are all so delighted that all of the hard work that goes into running a challenging property like this doesn't go unnoticed.

Thank you once again, we hope when you return you have an even better stay.

Kind regards,

Gavin

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I together with our 3 month old son just spent three nights at the Lodge and had the most wonderful first family holiday.

The hotel is beautiful, they welcome dogs and families. Our room had the perfect blend of warmth and character, the modern four poster bed was amazing! Our cot fitted perfectly beside it and the 3 of us were very comfortable indeed.

The little Chesterfield style sofa opposite the enormous Flatscreen TV was perfect for relaxing in with a coffee whilst feeding our little man, there was also a lovely wing back chair for reading in along with a dressing table amongst other furniture.

The bathroom was brand new really modern and just lovely, I really liked the presentation of the toiletries and the range chosen and supplier (I didn't use any of my products the Norfolk ones smelt amazing!)

The bath was lovely and big and we had some great fun with baby each night at bedtime, the power shower was fantastic for us and a heated mirror was a welcome luxury too.

The little tea tin had a great selection of hot drinks for us to make and shortbread biscuits too, everything was well presented and neatly arranged.

The only possible slight and very minor observation I made regarding any possible improvement was the hair drier! I have long hair and the little travel drier in the dressing table meant it took a few minutes extra to dry my hair - I literally cannot find any other fault and to be honest I am fussy about my hair and should have brought my own!

So, the room is beautiful, well equipped and stylishly furnished; the bed is heavenly and the bathroom has everything you could wish for.

Now onto the food - Breakfast - quite possibly the best value for money, the granola is nutty and delicious, the croissants fresh and buttery, the hot food cooked to order is like nothing I have tasted before! You truly are set up for the day if you start it here after a great nights sleep.

We had breakfast and dinner at the Lodge each day, we hadn't planned to but it was just so good we didn't want to go anywhere else! I haven't eaten so well since our honeymoon -the food here is just spectacular, presented beautifully in next to no time and piping hot the produce was fresh and the flavours delicious.

All this is complimented by the staff all of whom were friendly, polite and welcoming. Special thanks must be paid to Chelsie & Sam who looked after us with such care and attention morning and night.

The location is beautiful, a stones throw from the beach which you find down a road which has the most charming shop 'The Strandline' - I could have spent a fortune in here it was just packed to the rafters with beautiful things! (Note: cash only)

A few doors down before you hit the beach is the Le Strange antiques and art gallery - again I could have spent a fortune here! To look properly through all the little shops inside you really need about an hour - then it's down to the beach!

We didnt take our buggy onto the beach but could clearly see beyond the dunes how beautiful the sand was - loved the beach huts too it was all so pretty!

There are loads of things to do nearby on foot and even more if you have a car - you have to go to Sandringham for the day the grounds are breathtaking and the house and museum are amazing.

If you have kids you must go to Norfolk Lavender, even if you don't have kids go it's great!

We spent four days in North Norfolk and barely scratched the surface, one thing is for sure though when we return we will definitely be staying at The Lodge again!

Thank you so much for having us

Emma, Ben & Noah

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoLittleMonsters24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed two nights and had a lovely visit. The themed room 'garden shed' was really comfortable. We liked the added extras - clearly well thought out.
The radiators allowed plenty of heat and the bathroom was cosy. Good supply of tea/coffee and no quibble about extra supplies.
The staff were friendly, polite and considerate. Meals in the bar were of good standard. Table booking a must when busy! Breakfast was of a high quality and nicely presented.
From this Lodge we walked to the beach about 15 min walk - we stopped off at the local craft shop which was a trove of delights. This was by far the better of the two 'sister' hotels in the same area and ticked all the boxes on many fronts. We made enquires about revisiting with our daughter who is disabled and clearly the staff would be willing to accommodate her needs.
Thank you.
So all in all a good place to stop not that far from home but far enough that you feel you have gone away!

Room Tip: We had a room off the courtyard - ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jangalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Inn.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during a busy Easter weekend, the Garden Shed bedroom is a great asset to the hotel; we have some lovely quirky bedrooms in the main house too as well as a selection of self catering properties in the village.

Thanks again for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you all to The Lodge soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After a pretty uncomfortable experience at a restaurant in hunstanton we came to the lodge for a family meal which we hoped would be hassle free we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and pleasant. The food was excellent, the baby changing facilities were the cleanest and most decent I had encountered in hunstanton. I would definitely recommend eating snd drinking here. Fantastic food and outstanding staff at last and decent family friendly place to eat in hunstanton.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0ll1e07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
950 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
892 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel and Bar
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range: £107 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing