We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, nice bar/restaurant, not cheap”
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, nice bar/restaurant, not cheap”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our second visit to The Lodge. We opted for room 1 (a superior room) as we have a young child and wanted space for a travelcot (and a bath for washing her). The room is nicely decorated and is very large. The bathroom is a good size with a bath and a separate walk-in shower. The fan in the bathroom is almost silent so doesn't disturb people sleeping. The bed is a super-king - 6feet wide and is very comfortable. Bedding is high quality and very comfortable.

The bar/restaurant areas are very nice. The quality of food is very good. Portions are on the large side. We would have preffered to pay less and get a smaller portion. The bar (and certain rooms of the hotel) is dog-friendly. The beer garden is very nice and has a small playground for children. There is also a big glass covered area for those usual wet summers.

The staff are all very friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast is serverd from 08:00 until 09:30. The food quality is great but the speed and quality of service leaves some room for improvement. It was also slightly dissappointing that there seemed to be limited rations of some items (eg croissants) which meant we were often not able to have them - not great for £150/night B & B. Tea/Coffee/Toast all of good quality. We began breakfast at 09:00 each day and were not rushed.

The only minor gripes we had with The Lodge are that it is look ed a little dated in places. Some carpets could be replaced and some painting re-touched.

I would visit this venue again (and would recommend it) BUT at the same time feel that it is a bit more expensive than it should be.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJBHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, General Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Lodge Inn.

We are delighted to see that you returned to us after a previous stay and very much appreciate your return custom. Thank you for your kind comments on our food, staff and comfort of the bedroom, bathroom and public areas.

I am sorry for the few elements at breakfast that didn't match the standards of the rest of your stay, these have been discussed with the team and I am confident improvements have been made. We never ration any items at breakfast, the continental buffet is there for guests to help themselves, an amount of croissants are freshly baked each morning and popped onto the buffet for 8am - to avoid wastage, these tend not to be replenished automatically as we would the fruit salad or homemade granola for example but we are always happy to bake some more off if and when a request for more is made.

We invest quite heavily into The Lodge each year, we are a seasonal business and although we do open all year round, we usually do some form of major refurbishment in January, that said we usually do something each month, just recently we had 2 new mattresses arrive, created a herb garden in the courtyard area, had most of our garden furniture replaced and re decorated 3 guest bedrooms as well as new refrigeration for our kitchen. Our bar, kitchen, corridor carpets and remaining ground floor bedroom are all scheduled for refurbishment January/February 2015.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon, thanks once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    119
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
103
331
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, Beds
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our accommodation was terrific - we had a converted superior room called The Bottle Store. This was well decorated with a huge bed and very cosy. We loved the shuttered little lookout window on the door! It was also very close to the beach.

We ate two nights and the first night I was blown away (swordfish steak) while the second night was very good (Lodge Burger). The portions were very generous which was appreciated. Staff for both hotel and restaurant were never less than fantastic - always good humoured and very professional. This is probably the best place I have stayed and eaten at for the last two years.

If I had to find one thing that could be better it would be that the route most likely taken (admittedly a shortcut of sorts) by customers paying for superior rooms between their accommodation and the car park leads through slightly unsightly puddled area and rattrap round behind kitchens which isn't the best of impressions. Let me stress that this is a minor issue for perfection and that as soon as I got home from my trip I tried to rebook only to find it sold out for the next 6 weeks which I think says a lot!

Room Tip: Choose one of the courtyard rooms if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, General Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your outstanding review of The Lodge Inn.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our Bottle Store bedroom is very popular and is currently booked out up to 6 weeks in advance for stays of more than 1 night.

We recently added additional refrigeration to the rear of the kitchen and are currently in the process of relocating the bin area - alas there will always be a non guest area which tends to house bins, empty beer barrels and other bit's and bobs needing storage. The route some guests choose to take does take you through the rear store area of the hotel but is much quicker if parking at the rear of the Inn rather than the front.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back again soon, try the Coal Bunker next time!

All the best,

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a lovely 3 night break here. Room 10 was spacious, clean, well equipped and had lots of storage space. The bathroom was huge, with a big deep bath and a great walk in shower. The room overlooked the road so some traffic noise intruded. Breakfast and other meals were good quality and nicely presented. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. We stopped here for our wedding anniversary on a DB&B basis and the hotel reserved us a lovely table for the 3 evenings (Nice one James!!) The beer garden was a pleasant way of spending a hot sunny afternoon with a mixture of shady and sunny tables and is child and dog friendly. The lodge is located within a few minutes of the beach and near a lovely cliff-side walk to Hunstanton. All in all a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, General Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for an excellent review of The Lodge Inn.

Room 10 is one of my favourites, it's a superb superior four poster bedroom with bucket chairs and a coffee table for relaxing in as well as a large modern four poster bed. As you mention the bathroom is particularly good in this room.

Our location is quite special as you mention, village shop next door, stunning sandy beach 500 yards away, all the North Norfolk coast has top offer is on our door step and if you fancy a dabble in the amusements you have the hustle and bustle of the main town just 1 mile away.

We hope to welcome you back to The Lodge again soon for another relaxing stay!

Kind regards,

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for two nights with my mum as a little getaway before I go off to university. We have actually stayed here twice now, the first time being about 10 years ago before the much-needed refurbishment. The hotel is lovely! Our little room was small but fine for us as it was a short stay and we were out and about during the day. We liked very much that it was located in the hotel's courtyard, so when we opened our door we were right outside. There was lots of outdoor seating in this area to enjoy a cup of tea/glass of wine in the sunshine, too, although we didn't get round to it. Everything we needed was in the room, such as a comfy double bed, good pillows (although I wish there were a few extras so we could have watched tv/read more upright!), clean bowls should you bring your dog (we prefer cats!) and a huge bathroom with a lovely big bath and walk-in waterfall shower. Tea and coffee facilities were satisfactory but would have preferred a bit more choice (no chamomile tea) if I'm going to be fussy. Everything was topped up and tidied whilst we were out for the day, as expected.
Breakfast was nice but didn't go on for very long, only until half 9 so not much opportunity for a lie-in if you still want a bite to eat. There was both cooked option to order and a small buffet. We couldn't recommend the lovely homemade muesli/granola enough! The belgian waffle was also very good and would've worked just as well on their evening dessert menu. The waiting staff during breakfast were attentive and friendly.
For dinner we had the choice of sitting in the bar (which was a large area with lots of natural light and larger tables) or the restaurant. We at first chose the bar as it seemed a bit more lively, but swiftly moved after being sat by a large and very loud family eating with their two also very large dogs all sprawled over the floor! The restaurant was much nicer and more civilised, as well as being free of giant dogs. Didn't have starters but I chose a special for my main which was a fillet of hake crusted in sea salt and pepper. This was well cooked, if a tad over-seasoned. The side order of vegetables was divine with really fresh baby carrots! Could've eaten a couple of them to be honest!! My vodka and lemonade was a bit on the weak side, though. I chose the snickers sponge for dessert, which claimed to be warm but actually turned out to be a cold chocolate cake with a hard and sickly "buttercream" and a few peanuts! It was pleasant enough but not at all what I was expecting. My mum's tiramisu was divine, though, served with a cappuccino ice cream. The waiting staff at this time were also really efficient and kind. There was a large choice of pizza with different toppings on the menu but only one pasta dish which was disappointing. I would have liked to have seen more pasta dishes to balance out the pizza. To make up for this, there was a few fishy options which all sounded great (hake special, too) and some shellfish if you're that way inclined (I'm definitely not!).
Our stay overall was very good. Old Hunstanton is a sweet little place and within close driving proximity to our favourite Norfolk coastal town of Wells-Next-The-Sea (definitely take a visit if you haven't before and go on the miniature train to the beach!), as well as Heacham (Norfolk Lavender is there, which has a nice lavender-themed shop and cafe) and Cromer (lots going on there and some good fish & chips). We would definitely return to The Lodge Inn again in the future for another short stay, or even just dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Garden Shed' room in the courtyard, which was lovely and cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at the Lodge Inn in one of their courtyard rooms, the Bottle Store, with my husband and two dogs. We arrived in the afternoon on a Friday and stayed until the Monday. We were looking for a relaxing, refreshing getaway from the hectic chaos that is London and that is exactly what we found.

The check-in process was very efficient and were shown around the hotel by a very friendly member of staff. Unfortunately I did not get any names, but we did not meet a single member of staff who was not friendly, attentive and efficient. On the Monday morning, we realised that we would quite like a late check-out although with the late notice weren't sure if it would be possible. Talking to a member of staff at breakfast we asked if we could perhaps delay check-out for an hour until 11.30am and were promptly offered a 12noon check-out, no problem.

The room was very spacious, much larger than anticipated, with a hallway leading to a large bedroom combined seating area. The bathroom was fairly standard but with an excellent, roomy shower. The only thing that might have been helpful with the dogs would have been a handheld attachment to shower the dogs after numerous trips to the sandy beaches. The ceiling fan in the bedroom was a wonderful addition and could not have been more appreciated during these very hot summer days.

Breakfast was very reasonable with a wide variety of options on the cooked menu as well as a limited cold buffet of cereal, yoghurt and pastries. We had lunch at the Lodge each day for convenience and had dinner twice. The portions are large and good value for money, as well as being absolutely delicious. The service is prompt and always asking if they can get you anything else. It does get very busy though, particularly at weekends, so booking is essential in the evening.

The surrounding area is quiet - the Lodge is on a rather busy road but you really don't hear it at night. The nearest beach is a five-minute walk with various other beaches a short drive away. The majority of the beaches are dog friendly, even off the lead and the sheer expanse of Hunstanton beach means you can easily get away from the crowds with your dogs.

All in all, we enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing long weekend at the Lodge and there is nothing to complain about. It was the perfect break and we came back refreshed. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I can give an honet review of the Lodge as I stayed here for 7 months whilst working in the area. The staff are amazing and are a honour to their employers, nothing is too much trouble and they will go to any length to organise any needs you may want. The food and the bar are excellent with a great atmosphere and the locals enjoy the bar. Courtyard rooms have their own access so that you can come and go as you please and are furnished to a very high standard. Option of breakfast or a packed lunch each morning.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, General Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Wow! What a great review, thank you so much.

It really gives me great pleasure to pass on such wonderful comments to my team here - without whom what we do would not be possible.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Please do come back and see us with the family soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have spent a week in The Lodge Cottage adjacent to the hotel. We ate there and also met a large family group for drinks, cannot fault the lovely staff, the food or the great selection of beers! My husband stayed a month previously on a cricket tour and said the breakfast was the best he had ever had in a hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DIANE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
872 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
793 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
391 reviews
12.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Property: The Lodge Inn
Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing