We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B for a family stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at the Moorhen's cabin, the Coot Cabin, and had a really fantastic welcome from Neil and Josie. The Cabin is excellent for a family stay, giving us the flexibility of a self-catering holiday (the cabin has a fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle) with someone else to make the breakfast! The breakfast was extremely good quality - ingredients sourced from the local butcher with nice touches, such as home-made yoghurt. They went to great lengths to help find breakfast things for our daughter, who has a dairy allergy. The Moorhen is next to the staithe at Horning, so perfect for a sailing holiday. Neil and Josie went several extra miles to make our trip memorable and our stay comfortable. I thoroughly recommend the Moorhen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zillah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a canoe trip. The welcome could not have been warmer and the rooms are lovely. There's no compromise on quality, the room was very comfy and the bathroom spacious with a great shower and bath. Breakfast was delicious and you can have any variation you ask for. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swood65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have often stayed ay this B & B. The Moorhen has new owners, Neil & Josie. A lovely couple who are providing a very welcoming service. The room was very comfortable. They are very friendly and could not do enough for us. The village is beautiful. Definitely will be returning. Best B & B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Neil and Josie have just taken over the Moorhen and we coudn't have asked for two nicer hosts! Nothing was too much trouble, the room we stayed in was lovely with a great view over the broads. If we go back to Horning we will certainly stay there again. We wish them both every success in their new venture!!!

Room Tip: Barton and Malthouse rooms are right on the front overlooking the Broads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had a fantastic nights stay here in the lovely little guest house out the back, very charming on th eoutside and modern in the inside, great place to stay for Bewilderwood, the local pubs are just right and there is a little chinese takeaway in the village that serves tasty food. The breakfast at The Moorhen is perfect and so are the hosts (try their homemade jams). highly recommended and we will use them again this year.

Room Tip: book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthaandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Excellent hosts, David & Christine are very easy to deal with and very accommodating. We've used this B&B twice now for lodging our engineers when working locally, and they all have given very good feedback. We will certainly be using them again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Nice rooms, really good ensuite.
The Moorhen is right on the Broads, local parking free and reasonably available.
Helpful owners who waited in for us so we could change before going to our do.
Breakfast billed as 4*, and it was too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaitForPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
4.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
971 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
230 reviews
0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
9 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
9 mi away
The Assembly House
The Assembly House
#7 of 80 in Norwich
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast

Address: 45 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Moorhen Bed And Breakfast
The Moorhen Hotel Horning
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast Horning, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing