We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cannot fault”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hinckley,uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cannot fault”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a small b&b which normally I would avoid however I was so glad that I booked here due in part to the reviews on trip advisor. Neill & Josie our hosts were so welcoming & couldnt do enough for you nothing was too much trouble. The bedrooms & en suite were emaculate maybe on the small side but hey how long do you spend in it. Breakfast plentifull & catered for all tastes & all cooked fresh.. do try the white pudding everyone seemed to avoid it but they are not what you expect. I repeat a previous reviewer the Moorhens main attributes are Josie & Neil a lovely couple who will bend over backwards for you. Neil if you read this get your recipe out for tatie scones & give a brilliant Norfolk breakfast a scottish twist. All the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anny_1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
58
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Neil and Josie are new to the B&B business but are doing very well by providing good, personal service in a nice property near the Bure. Great breakfasts from Neil and good advice on where to go on the Broads.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent a super weekend here,more of a Hotel than a B@B,
the room was spotless as was the whole place.
Bit pricey but worth it,a nice chill out sort of place and the breakfasts were very very nice.
Can be a bit of a prob to park in the summer as you have to use the public staithe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just come back from a three nights stay at this lovely B&B. The rooms we stayed in where "Barton" and "Malthouse" rooms which are situated at the front and over look the river - so you can watch the boats go by. They are lovely comfortable rooms. The Breakfasts were great too. But the main attributes to the "Moorhen" are its host Neil and Josie, although they have only been proprietors for a few months now, they are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to family and friends. Certainly will be going back in the future.
Keep up the good work Neil and Josie

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

As I am disabled my wife and chose the Ranworth Garden Room which has a wet room. Josie and Neil made us very welcome. They had only been the new proprietors for six weeks and were trying very hard to stamp their individuality on the Moorhen. The property is situated very conveniently in the center of the village with an excellent variety of "eateries" close by. Try their "White Pudding" for breakfast- delicious.

Room Tip: Nice garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Moorhen for three nights during a touring holiday around Norfolk and Suffolk. Neil and Josie are excellent hosts. Nothing seemed to be a problem to them and they were so helpful. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend The Moorhen to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I spend a night at the Moorhen in July before joining up with a boat for the weekend. The welcome was warm, and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent; a "Full Norfolk" included in the price.
We we lucky to have had a view over the river (see the picture).
The new owners have only been there a few weeks, but they're doing a great job.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paul2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
282 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
485 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Moorhen Bed And Breakfast
The Moorhen Hotel Horning
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast Horning, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing