We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This B&B is literally a few yards from the river. We had a lovely greeting when we arrived and coffee and biscuits were provided. We would recommend taking one of the river view rooms. Breakfast was great with fresh local produce being used. A lovely stay

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaderoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Thank you Josie and Neil for welcoming me back to the Moorhen, sorting out my suitcase on arrival and departure - much appreciated - and for generally making me feel at home. As always the wonderful Lavender products in the bathroom and the fudge in the bedroom always a winner for me! Also I just loved the duvent covers - very cheery and had yet another two nights of excellent rest. Hopefully see you soon. Thank you both again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is an excellent place to stay, right on the Broads. The couple running it have not long taken over and they are trying very hard to make a good impression. Breakfast is superb. the rooms are good but for luxury do not choose the family room. However if you are a family and you want to stay in one room then this is for you. There are lots of little touches that make The Moorhen's much more than a normal B and B. I think they will do very well, and they deserve to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

First off the Moorhen b&b is a super location. It is literally a 30second walk to the water front. The owners Josie and Neil are friendly and very welcoming. They are a exceptionally helpful and Nothing is too big a task for them. The accommodation is exceptionally fresh and clean (fresh fluffy white towels daily). The rooms are decent size and bright and airy. Everyday they are cleaned and have the nice touch of leaving local clotted cream fudge for you to nibble on. The breakfast consists of a good selection of choices ranging from cooked (locally sourced produce) to homemade yoghurt and fresh fruit (again locally sourced). We really enjoyed our stay at this b&b and are already planning another visit to it. Well worth the money for the super service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lovely location by the river. A warm welcome, very comfortable bed in the room by the garden. Breakfast probably bet ever had in a b&b. The local bacon was superb. We were delighted. Only point is that neighbouring room sound very audible due to thin walls but this was really not a real problem. We were delighted.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilsumner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked five of the Moorhen’s rooms for several nights in August for a family celebration. I cannot speak highly enough of this lovely bed and breakfast – immaculate rooms and wonderful breakfasts. The presentation of the breakfasts was just beautiful to come in to, with fruit salad and so forth laid out, and then a variety of cooked items, all prepared freshly to our individual requirements. Beats a hotel buffet on a hot plate by a long way! But the main assets of this establishment are the owners, who seem to have been born to run a bed and breakfast, they are already so good at it. Booking, parking, getting trains, tea when we arrived, information, those breakfasts, they are so helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed 1 night at The Moorhen & had a great experience. Neil, out host greeted us with tea & biscuits on arrival & we sat outside our lovely room with great wet room en suite totally relaxed. Next morning we had a great breakfast including white pudding, delicious.
We shall certainly recommend this B & B to our friends

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
4.8 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
9 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hill House Guest House
Hill House Guest House
#8 of 80 in Norwich
110 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wedgewood House
Wedgewood House
#3 of 80 in Norwich
244 reviews
9 mi away
The Assembly House
The Assembly House
#6 of 80 in Norwich
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast

Address: 45 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Moorhen Hotel Horning
The Moorhen Bed And Breakfast
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast Horning, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing