We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The moorhen is everytging you could want and need on a relaxing break the rooms are spotless. Josie and neil are fantastic hosts they make you feel like part of the family nothing is too much trouble to top it off breakfast was fantastic we will be regular visitors

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
54
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Moorhen last weekend,once again it was Top Notch,spotlessy clean clean,and what a huge bed.

The hosts went out of their way to be friendly in fact we all got chatting over breakfast and whiled away a very happy hour.

Another nice touch is ,you can have breakfast any time from early up to 10am,(nice lay in).

Have rebooked for 3 days in Sept (get a discount for 3 days or more).

Room Tip: All rooms high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Great period building in good location by the Broads. We stayed in the 'log cabin' at the rear of the premises. Having gone straight to our room it was very dark and tired. Double noisy metal bunk beds that I would associated with cheap hostel. Mattresses so soft! Bathroom door would not shut due to warping. Damp mould around base of toilet and had to run around in the shower to get wet........ However, we went to breakfast in the main building which was very nice. Staff really attentive and voice of breakfast first class. Our friends who stayed in the main building were very complimentary of their facilities and so we must have been unlucky. In brief feedback from friends and breakfast saved the day. Advice therefore is to avoid the 'cabin' in the garden as your sleeping quarters.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woldingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the moorhen b&b for just 1 night and can highly recommend this place for atmosphere and the welcoming hosts
The room was so lovely and quiet and the breakfast was the best we have ever had
We will be back there again soon
It is placed just by the water and in the center of the town but still the quietness of the accommodation was the best
The hosts are relatively new to the moorhen but they have got the right idea of how to run a successful b&b
Keep this standard and you will make a lot if clients very happy

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Greenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Super location. Lovely rooms. Fantastic breakfast. Charming hosts. Everything is spot on. We have put 4 different couples in The Moorhen when they visit us and they've all really liked it so we treated ourselves. Very very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjg5100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

After reading the tripadvisor comments I decided to book two night at The Moorhen with my husband and our dog. Had the garden room which was wonderful, spacious, spotlessly clean, and warm. Neil and Josie are really professional, helpful and prompt. The breakfast was delicious and plenty to keep us going all day. We can only assume that it is even better at the summer time. We will be back and we can highly recommend it without any hesitation. Thanks Neil and Josie for making our stay a memorable one.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iffetcollantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This B&B is literally a few yards from the river. We had a lovely greeting when we arrived and coffee and biscuits were provided. We would recommend taking one of the river view rooms. Breakfast was great with fresh local produce being used. A lovely stay

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaderoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
255 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
469 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
839 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Moorhen Hotel Horning
The Moorhen Bed And Breakfast
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast Horning, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing