We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing mid week break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night mid week break at The Moorhen - it's a very comfortable homely B & B situated approx 50m from the River Bure and, in our opinion, in one of the Broads prettiest villages, Horning.

Neil and Josie were fabulous hosts and a lovely couple, whereby nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and good local eateries.

The breakfast was lovely, very nicely cooked with very good local produce from the villages butcher.

If we were to come to this area again to stay in a B & B, which hopefully we will, we would definitely look to come back here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tonymkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here on Sunday for a night and it was lovely. The hosts were really helpful replying to my queries before we arrived and were really friendly and welcoming when we arrived.
We stayed in the cabin and it was lovely. The beds were spacious as was the whole cabin. The kids loved it. Everything was spotless. It had a tv and wifi so everyone was happy.
The breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend to people. The area is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The moorhen is everytging you could want and need on a relaxing break the rooms are spotless. Josie and neil are fantastic hosts they make you feel like part of the family nothing is too much trouble to top it off breakfast was fantastic we will be regular visitors

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Moorhen last weekend,once again it was Top Notch,spotlessy clean clean,and what a huge bed.

The hosts went out of their way to be friendly in fact we all got chatting over breakfast and whiled away a very happy hour.

Another nice touch is ,you can have breakfast any time from early up to 10am,(nice lay in).

Have rebooked for 3 days in Sept (get a discount for 3 days or more).

Room Tip: All rooms high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Great period building in good location by the Broads. We stayed in the 'log cabin' at the rear of the premises. Having gone straight to our room it was very dark and tired. Double noisy metal bunk beds that I would associated with cheap hostel. Mattresses so soft! Bathroom door would not shut due to warping. Damp mould around base of toilet and had to run around in the shower to get wet........ However, we went to breakfast in the main building which was very nice. Staff really attentive and voice of breakfast first class. Our friends who stayed in the main building were very complimentary of their facilities and so we must have been unlucky. In brief feedback from friends and breakfast saved the day. Advice therefore is to avoid the 'cabin' in the garden as your sleeping quarters.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the moorhen b&b for just 1 night and can highly recommend this place for atmosphere and the welcoming hosts
The room was so lovely and quiet and the breakfast was the best we have ever had
We will be back there again soon
It is placed just by the water and in the center of the town but still the quietness of the accommodation was the best
The hosts are relatively new to the moorhen but they have got the right idea of how to run a successful b&b
Keep this standard and you will make a lot if clients very happy

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Greenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Super location. Lovely rooms. Fantastic breakfast. Charming hosts. Everything is spot on. We have put 4 different couples in The Moorhen when they visit us and they've all really liked it so we treated ourselves. Very very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjg5100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
349 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
925 reviews
8.5 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,165 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
222 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast

Address: 45 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Moorhen Bed And Breakfast
The Moorhen Hotel Horning
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast Horning, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing