We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOCATION Location Location ....”

Review of The Willows

The Willows
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Willows
View from the cottage Barbecue area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The Willows
View from the cottage
Barbecue area
Lounge area
The locals are very friendly!
More locals come to visit!
A lovely Willow Tree at The Willows
Quay heading at The Willows
Bedroom
Single bedroom
Tackle Shed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SwissChri...
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“LOCATION Location Location ....”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

There is no doubt that this property commands a superb position on the river in Horning. It has plenty of character and when we went in February we had four superb weather days - mostly dry and sunny to take full advantage of the property and the quiet river. Quiet in terms of river traffic because of the time of year but very busy with wildlife. In my opinion, the property is suitable for a couple or a couple with older children (two very small single bedrooms - a little unfair of a previous reviewer to call them coffin-like) (and I wouldnot take young children there) but the privacy for a mixed group would be somewhat challenged otherwise particularly with the one bathroom/toliet. I'd also agree with a previous reviewer that the property is somewhat dated - OK you could say has character and retains the charm but in 21st century most people want ultimate comfort especially for that amount of money. The 1 pound coin electricity meter is somewhat annoying - I thought we'd left these behind in the 60's! Accepting the time of year and the garden would not be at its best but it could have been tidied up for us - some aspects unacceptable. Overall a great choice of what is available in the area - but consider with some caution.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of course - possibly cannot be beaten
Liked least: Internally the property lacked a degree of comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Kind Regards

Riverside Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishe...
leiston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homely relaxing and perfect.”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here 5th Sept for a week, which was our second year in succession. 4 guys on our yearly fishing holiday, and for us - it was perfect. Homely - not too posh! Everything you need kitchen wise, good shower, comfortable beds, and enough space for all of us to sit and watch the wildlife and boats in comfort.
The fishing is pretty good, with a nice tackle shed to lock up your gear.
See you again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: unclean oven
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and being on one level
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
retired63...
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful relaxing week,the cottage is so well equipped.The owner rang us on the day we arrived to check that all was ok so helpful.The area is beautiful.everyone in the shops in horning are so helpful and made our stay superb.would love to stay in the Willows again.The staff at riverside rentals are also very helpful.Would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone that wants a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location.
Liked least: Leaving and coming home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Cleethorpes
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dated and a little dangerous”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is dated and two of the bedrooms are like coffins, the wardrobes inside the coffins have black bags in them leaving very little room for your clothes. The wooden boards are very dangerous when wet and chicken wire would have helped and all 4 of our group had permanent lumps on our heads from banging our heads on low lights. The walk to the bungalow is a fair way to go with a load of fishing gear and shopping, especailly for the older of our group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fishing
Liked least: Banging our heads and slipping on the wet boards
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review and we are really sorry that the property wasn't to your liking.
This is one of our most popular properties with highest repeat business but we understand that not all of the properties suit all of the people.
We hope you perhaps look into some of the other properties we have for next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is in a lovely position on the river, being just a short walk to the Horning amenities but very quiet with unspoilt riverbank opposite. A great pleasure just to sit in the garden. Excellent well-equipped kitchen, with everything easy to use.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing