We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal in idyllic surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Swan Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Horning
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Swan Inn in Horning is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in idyllic surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our first holiday afloat on the Norfolk Broads. Prior to travelling we had done a rough journey plan and selected a few restaurants to try. One was the Swan Inn at Horning. The location could not be better. Parts of the Inn date back to the 17th Century. A huge garden (very popular) overlooking the Broad with all the passing boats and wildlife. After looking at the menu booked a table for the evening. We were met on arrival by Zoe, who could not do more to help. If the food was anything like the service, we were in for a great meal. I opted for the slow roasted Shoulder of Lamb, my wife who has a very small appetite asked if it was possible to request either a smaller portion or even to pick from the children's menu. Again this was no problem. My Lamb was so succulent and fell apart without the need for a knife. My wife ordered the Cumberland Sausage and mash. If this was a kiddy portion, they must breed hungry children in Norfolk. This also was excellent. We ordered and drank a very nice wine. As we are part of the Gourmet Society was pleased to get 25% knocked of the bill. We enjoyed the meal so much we changed our itinerary and booked in for Sunday lunch the following day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at The Swan Inn , Horning. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    231
    167
    123
    112
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very pleasant pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We ate here during our 4 night stay, the outside eating area by the river looked very nice but as it was getting late and a bit 'nippy' we ate inside. The service was good, just a little delay in bringing our drinks, but when the manager noticed he immediately looked on the computer to see what we were waiting for. We had a Gammon meal and a Vegetarian Lasagne, both very tasty and piping hot (the way I like it). The portions were generous and left no room for a pud.
We look forward to returning to The Swan at Horning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florry_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Swan Inn a good place to eat, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Find somewhere with better service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visiting the broads over the bank holiday weekend and thought that the Swan Inn looked a good place, nice views over the boards and was fairly busy, what could be better… well anywhere else to be honest. Firstly, the beer garden is segregated into a smoking/non-smoking area, while the non-smokers where seated at nice, modern rattan tables and chairs the smoking sections, which surround the non-smoking area where wooden picnic benches that had seen better days. After find a cleanish bench to sit at with our two dogs we went inside to order some drinks and get some menus, no table service in this section.
After looking at the very limited menu we went back inside to order, that was fairly simple. After returning to the table we spotted some ice cream tubs dotted around for dog drinking water, very nice touch especially on a hot day, upon spying a waiter in the distance we attract his attention to ask for the tub to be filled up, “I’ll go get someone to do that” he replied, why he couldn’t we will never know, after asking several different people we finally get the tub filled up.
When the food finally arrives after over an hours wait, it was to be honest fairly decent, but nothing special, the fish one of us ordered was only just bigger than a fish finger and the burger was nothing to shout about, just a burger.
All in all after over an hours wait, the food was nothing special, and having to ask numerous people for something as simple as filling an ice cream tub with water is frankly unacceptable.
Nice area, average food but very poor service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Swan Inn, Horning on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited 31st May whilst staying in Horning for the weekend, very busy pub with excellent service. 7 adults all had great meals, desserts, coffee's and cheese board for a very reasonable price. Would recommend to all. Right by the river, nice area for outside seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdrew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Swan Inn, Horning on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“waterside delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

On holiday in norfolk and found this by accident whilst driving around searching for a nice pub lunch. The sun was shining so we sat outside in a small fenced off area, bang next to the water.

This was location location, we picked a table and chose our meals, the food was not fine dining but good english pub grub and priced reasonably.Went inside and ordered , plus bought drinks, for 4 of us inc drinks was sub £40 .

Meals were larger than expected and cooked well& presented well , we spent two hours there and watched the boats going up and down the river, thoroughly relaxed and watered, it was a nice relaxing start to our hols.

Staff were efficient and friendly and would not hesitate to recommend this venue to others

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Swan Inn, Horning, and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 
Horning, Norwich
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing