We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way.”

Review of Owlswick

Owlswick
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Owlswick
Lounge Open plan lounge/dining/kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Owlswick
Lounge
Open plan lounge/dining/kitchen
Open plan dining
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Open plan
Master Ensuite
Master Ensuite
Master Ensuite
Twin Bedroom
Double bedroom
Bathroom with seperate shower
Main River View from Garden
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DWToggy
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here over the 1st May Bank Holiday weekend and on into the first week of May. The trip was a 50th Birthday celebration and our friends joined us for the long weekend break so, the property was at it's full capacity with 8 of us for the first 3 days. The property is well equipped with a prime location overlooking the river. We hired 2 boats and were able to moor them outside the house. The mooring area and river is open so possibly not suitable for small children to roam freely by. This is slightly smaller than the pictures depict but overall it's perfect for small groups. The bedrooms are small but are equally suitable for sleeping arrangements. One double room has a small en-suit. The other rooms are a double and 2 twin rooms. All have wardrobes in and chest of drawers for clothes. The main bathroom is a good size with a brilliant walk in power shower. The kitchen is nicely set out with a large fridge and a smaller fridge freezer. A godsend if you are self catering all week. There is a large grassed area at the front of the property. The lounge area is very cosy with a superb open view over the river. A peaceful & tranquil way to spend an evening watching the wildlife go by. Slightly set back from the main river so as not too disturbed by the main flow of boats that trundle up and down all day long. This is perfectly situated within walking distance of the main shops and eating establishments in the village of Horning. It's also only 20 mins away from the Norfolk coastline so you can get the best of both worlds. We had a great time for the 3 days with our friends & an equally excellent week on our own. A fab place to stay, we loved it. We shall be back. Hopefully sooner rather than later. Thanks to all for making our stay a perfect one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views over the river & the overall location was fab.
Liked least: Going home!! The Wi-Fi connection & mobile phone signal was very poor & on occasions non existent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithandM...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, but smaller than it looks...”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed in Owlswick late October - lovely location, but note:
- All bedrooms are directly off the Living Room...we had several young children with us (6mths; 18mths; 6 years)...the noise in this house travels everywhere...there is NO privacy/escape!
- The bedrooms are smaller than many - we struggled to find room to put cots up in bedrooms for the youngest ones.
- The parking area outside floods during high water - not a big issue, but you may need boots to get into the house.
- There is no mobile phone signal...not normally an issue, but when you have a medical emergency, it makes life VERY difficult (One of our party had to go to A&E on the 1st night and ended up having an operation). We had issues with the Wifi as well.
- The garden hadn't been inspected since the previous tenants had left - lots of dog excrement up the side of the house by the shed - would have been nice if this had been tidied prior to us arriving with kids.
- Pictures on the website are out of date - Living Room layout is different to that indicated. En Suite in master bedroom is TINY.

But having said all that, it's a very nice house in a great location - extremely enjoyable holiday was had by all. I'd recommend this place again, but for someone in our situation (6 x Adults, 1 x Baby, 1 x Toddler, 1 x Child) I think it was a bit cramped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is excellent
Liked least: Cramped rooms, direct proximity of each bedroom to Living Room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim f
Hunmanby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely tranquil cottage”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were a large family group, my husband and I with our dog, my parents, husbands sister and her husband over from France and their dog. Plus we were visited by two nephews one at the beginning of the week and the other at the end. The cottage had everything we needed It was lovely and clean, plenty of space. My mother does not get around much so she could sit and watch the boats pass in the peace and quiet, as the cottage is a few yards off the main river, they had the en suite room which was ideal. The dogs could wander around outside without bothering anyone else. We were a short walk from the shops and eating places all of whom welcomed pets(a must for us). We hired a day boat through the office just at the back of the cottage, the lady was very helpful. It brought back memories of 30+ years ago when we holidayed on the boats. We took dad on the day boat with us 1 day and he was in his element pointing out places that he remembered. all in all a brilliant chilled holiday, a change for all of us from our normal working life which is spent rushing about. WE WILL BE BACK. Thank you Owlswick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor w
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Rented Owlswick for 1 week mid June. Lovely cottage in an ideal location, beautifully maintained. Carol was so helpful and made available boats at very short notice. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Not a big enough fridge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent avery enjoyable week at this well equipped house. Warm and comfortable and Riverside rentals is helpful and efficient. The owner showed us round the other properties on Grebe Island, all of which are thoughtfully designed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View over river
Liked least: Shower a bit small
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_R_34
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Spent a wonderful week staying at Owlswick in March 2013 with friends. The accommodation is of a very high standard with everything you need. The location is lovely and it was nice to sit and look out at the river and wildlife from the property. The village of Horning is delightful and there is lots to see and do in the surrounding area. Will definately return in the future.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobRNar
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic location and Wonderful property set on the broads and a great village location”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed for a week in this property with 2 other couples with young children and we all had a wonderful stay. The Children were enthralled to watch the Swans and Herron from the living room and the layout of the property made for a perfect area for the adults to socialise in the evening.
The local pubs within easy walking distance serve a good selection of beers and nice food and the nearby attractions are great for all the family to visit. I would definitely recommend this property and the village to Horning to anyone wishing to have a wonderful Norfolk Broads Holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the property and Local Pubs
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing