We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swan Cottage

Swan Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swan Cottage exterior
Swan Cottage garden Swan Cottage in the snow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Swan Cottage exterior
Swan Cottage garden
Swan Cottage in the snow
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Horning Village
The River Bure at Horning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AJR82
Cambridge, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family break”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family and I wanted to find somewhere for us all to stay to celebrate my father's 60th birthday. My parents, sister, brother-in-law, 6 month old niece and I stayed at Swan Cottage for one week. The cottage was perfect for all of with plenty of space and we never felt as if we were on top of each other. It was very well equipped. We did pay extra for use of the highchair but it did make life easier. There are lovely pubs within a 5 minute walk. We particularly enjoyed The Swan. However, the kitchen was suitable for cooking (it can be a struggle in some holiday rentals) and so ate in a few nights. We enjoyed fish and chips from Greys in Wroxham but there is a fish and chip shop in Horning although it is closed on a Monday.
The cottage was a great base to explore the broads and we enjoyed days out to Cromer, National Trust properties and many of the local attractions. We also hired a boat from just down the road (next the the New Inn) which was good fun.
I found Leigh very pleasant to deal with and my e-mails were always replied to very quickly.
We didn't want to come home and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdrew123
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Visited for a long weekend for our fathers 70th birthday. 7 of us including our family dog.Great location.Horning is lovely.House is right in the heart of it yet very peaceful. 2 pubs both serving great food within walking distance. Would recommend the Swan inn for a fantastic meal. Wroxham only 3 miles away.great for hiring a boat or one of the boat trips.lively weekend had by all including our dog.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd time at the pet friendly cottage, first went in June 2012, loved it so much couldn't wait to go back. Cottage is very spacious and very relaxing with all the 'home from home' comforts if not more. Having an ensuite in the master bedroom was fantastic especially as our 3 grown kids were also with us. All the rooms were bright, clean and beds very comfortable. Kitchen was a dream to cook breakfast in and then eat in the lovely Dinning Room. Cottage is situated in the middle of the village were there are pubs, restaurants,shops and the broads which in whatever direction you decide to go is only a matter of 5/10 mins walk. Dog loved sitting in the back garden after his long walks which there are many. Cannot keep away from the place as we are due back for a long weekend in June. Restaurants have already been booked!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything and cottage being in the heart of the village
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments, and also for your repeat support of Swan Cottage.
Enjoy your next visit.
Best wishes
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire_je...
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location and dog friendly too!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 3rd trip to Swan Cottage and it was just as lovely as we remembered! It is in a great location on the main street in Horning, peaceful but near to all shops pubs and river! The cottage has the best equipped kitchen for any holiday rental I have ever stayed at and is nicely attached to the dining room for family suppers / takeaways! It has a lovely courtyard garden that is completely enclosed perfect for a small dog and the recreation ground in Horning is really close for a proper run around - dogs and children! There are 3 double bedrooms although one is small and really only good for one person , although the twin is very spacious.
The cottage feels big inside as there is plenty of storage , utility room etc and has a really homely welcoming feels as well as been spotlessly clean. We love it and will be back in July!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and homely feel
Liked least: Living room only really has enough seating for 6
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Swan Cottage.
We are delighted that you all enjoy the house so much, and keep coming back.
Best wishes
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret...
rotherham
1 review
“can't wait to go again”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Our family stayed at swan cottage last year, the cottage had everything we needed,well equipped, very clean, comfortable and cosy, the beds were very comfortable.

The village is a good location for getting to places, there are two lovely beaches within a few miles and Bewilderwood is only a short way away, a really good place to visit for the children.

Our grandchildren can't wait to visit swan cottage again this year.Brilliant place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cannot fault anything, everything was spot on.
Liked least: there is nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thank you for your review, and for booking to come to Swan Cottage again.
We hope you and the family have an even better time on your next visit.
With best wishes
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing