We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential but needs better management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Potential but needs better management”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed on our arrival in this lovely village. The Swan is beautifully placed overlooking the marina and the inside has plenty of character.
Our bedroom was fairly basic but clean with a large shower room and we had no complaints. The continental breakfast was adequate if lacking imagination with a splendid view from the window over the water.
We ate in the pub on our first night having booked a table. I acknowledge that they were fairly busy but the service was a shambles. We stood around waiting to be noticed before being shown to a dirty table.
In all fairness the waitress cleaned the table and apologised and took our orders for starters and mains. I also asked for a glass of water.
40 minutes later the starters and mains arrived.......together. Without my water!
I reminded them about my water and we ate our starters.
Our plates were collected and once again I asked for a glass of water.
Another 30 minutes and mains arrived. Incredibly still no water so I told them to take away the food until they could manage a glass of water!
I finally got my water.
By this stage staff were avoiding our table like we had bubonic plague. We were offered no sauces and were not asked if our meal was ok.
This was a reasonable stay apart from this incident but we witnessed other chaotic service and lack of management and direction. The outside area which could be superb was not cleaned regularly or kept tidy. A bit of a shame really for such a potentially lovely pub.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your stay at Innkeepers Lodge Norfolk Broads, Horning. We have replied to you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    57
    24
    14
    16
See reviews for
32
81
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Swan for 6 nights over the Easter break in order to explore the Broads, an area we hadn't visited before. We were a little anxious after reading some of the reviews on The Swan, but these fears were unfounded. The room was spacious with a good size ensuite. Our room was on the corner of the building, so we overlooked both the road but also had a large bay window overlooking the marina. The bed and pillows weren't that comfortable, but coming from a memory foam mattress at home, nothing is ever the same! We received fresh towels everyday, plus a top up for tea and coffee making facilities including biscuits. The breakfast is described as continental, but actually I think this should be described as homely. There was a good selection of cereals by way of the individually boxed cereals, tea, coffee, fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants, English muffins, brown and white bread for toasting, cupcake muffins which were in sealed packets for taking out for lunch! You could order cooked breakfasts or breakfast rolls, the full English was £6.95 and looked very filling from what I could see other people having. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, one lady needed a gluten free breakfast so she was able to order cooked breakfast items for no additional charge. The dining room used for breakfasts overlooks the river and marina, and this was absolutely lovely to start the day. For lunch and evening meals the pub menu is extensive, although we didn't think much of the chips. For location The Swan is perfectly placed for visiting many RSPB and other nature reserves, and not far from Great Yarmouth, Lowestoft, etc for days out. The Southern Comfort paddle steamer left from right outside the pub, and this was also an excellent way to spend a couple of hours. I would therefore recommend the pub/hotel, and we would stay there again. 4 stars rather than 5 due to the bed and pillows.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very limited choice for breakfast with no effort being put into making it, bowl of tired fruit just sitting there, no sharp knives to prepare the fruit. No cheese or cold meats which are the norm for a continental breakfast and bread left uncovered. I asked for my croissant to be heated and it was nuked!! We were in room 5 (street view) and the bed was extremely uncomfortable, bathroom was very very old and not clean at all, and there were cobwebs in the room and dirty mugs. Two windows did not close properly as catch broken, when I mentioned this was told that nobody had mentioned before!! Do paying guests need to mention, are room inspections not carried out? TV remote did not work and I was told to operate at the side of tv. Room had a strange humming noise up till 11pm and started up again at around 8ish. The dining room was very cramped and there were not very pleasant smells outside the dining room. We booked in for three nights and managed two before leaving. The entrance into the accommodation had a tissue and a chip on the floor there for the whole time we stayed - shows the amount of attention paid to cleaning!! Checking in on Good Friday in a busy pub is not ideal perhaps a dedicated area away from the pub would be better. I would like to add that my husband and I travel extensively and this is the first EVER negative review I have left on any site. For what was on offer this hotel is overpriced

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzef54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter. Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horning hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Visited for 3 nights with husband and son. The family room was large and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was small but very clean with a large shower and plentiful hot water. The pine furniture was dated but the magnificent view over the river more than made up for this. We enjoyed the food in the pub and the free continental breakfast was perfectly adequate. I consider this extremely good value for money compared to some of the modern chain hotels we have stayed in.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HeleninDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Swan Inn, Horning, and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Great location over looking the broads. Premises part of a chain and so a real corporate look and feel. Food and drinks typical for a commercial pub - the drinks on the expensive side; but then it is a tourist trap. The only area for improvement is the decor. Clearly in need of new carpets, tables, chairs and a lick of paint.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed for a work trip, bowled over by the location (and the otter sighting helped) and surroundings. Room very good with excellent shower and views, staff all helpful and the evening meal was very good and worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very welcoming and helpful staff. Good selection of quality food and fair selection of cask ales. Bed was on the hard side though. Quaint, ancient building which meant drafty dining room which for us was fine as long as you ate the full english which was top notch and need time to enjoy it If you didn't sit in the window, I'm sure you could eat it leisurely!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith_Wilson919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Swan Inn, Horning , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
7.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
#42 of 80 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Address: 10 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Bure, in the "prettiest village on the Norfolk Broads," Innkeeper's Lodge Horning is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful part of the country. It also provides convenient budget accommodation near Wroxham or Norwich. The Swan Inn began life as a cottage in 1696, although the main part of the building was constructed in the early 19th century. Its rustic black and white timbered structure is home to eight comfy, modern rooms and one of the cosiest pubs in Horning. So it couldn't be easier to sit back and enjoy heart-warming, seasonally inspired food and a glass of what you fancy. It's well worth taking a tour of the Broads by boat or by steam locomotive on the Bure Valley Railway. Or if you're feeling more active you could try the award-winning BeWILDerwood Treehouse Adventure Park, or charge up to the medieval motte and bailey fortress of Norwich Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn Horning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing