We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot by river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect spot by river”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 day stay. Rooms big and comfortable. Bathroom alittle cramped. Meals in bar very good, as was service and drinks. Breakfast lovely, good choice served in lovely room overlooking river, so beautiful view.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolmac1958_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Swan Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads, Horning and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    58
    27
    16
    18
See reviews for
33
86
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed the night at the hotel which is the perfect location right by the side of the Broads. We stayed in room 7 with a fantastic view and waking up on a sunny summer's morning was a highlight.

However, the pub and restaurant were a let down. Inexperienced staff and bland pub grub make it a place to avoid. There is a good fish restaurant across the road, which we would have chosen had we not been attracted to the idea of eating by the side of the river.

Public areas need money spending, curtains were in ribbons, but the room was very good and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Family room is a great size( the shower room is a bit cosy with a low loo.)
Clean and fresh looking.
It is in an excellent position on the broads, with views on a corner and the paddle steamer is moored next door.
Breakfast is continental, and lacking in anything other than carbs, cereal, bread, croissants, jams, sugar filled yogurts, and a small variety of fruit. you can pay extra for a cooked brekki, but its a bit pricy.

lovely staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meyouyoume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

To begin with the positives we had free parking during our stay, the staff were in the main very obliging although some in house training wouldn't have gone amiss for at least one of the bar staff. Our room was a good size with enough storage space and a flat screen TV. The bed linen was changed during our stay and we had clean white fluffy towels every day and loads of hot water. However the bathroom was tiny and in great need of refurbishment. We spent 5 nights in a very uncomfortable bed, an experience I hope not to repeat anywhere. The corridors and bedrooms were not adequately cleaned there was a chip on the carpet for at least 3 days in the bedrooms corridor!!?. The breakfast is continental and although adequate, poorly presented - same fruit in basket over several days no choice of yoghurt flavours until the end of the week, several return guests said it was certainly not as good as on previous visits. On the whole the impression is that they can get away with anything as they are relying on their position and the popularity of the area - staff we spoke to always referred to the parent companies ruling for an lack of provision..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller60England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had visited the Swan some time ago for a Ruby Wedding Celebration and remembered it was a lovely setting and quite decent pub grub so decided to go there again for a friends and family meet up prior to a boat trip with an International Ladies Society. Booked a table for four on line with no problem except it was a little earlier than was ideal with people travelling. Then another two cousin's who had been ill asked to join us so I telephoned to inquire if the table size could be increased to 6. This seemed to be a big problem as they were "so busy" and they couldn't cope with anyone being late. I was told that come what may we had to vacate our table at 2pm so there was no leeway for being late and there was no room in the bar for us to sit and wait afterwards either it seems as people would be queuing to get in. I do understand that these waterside pubs are extremely busy at the week-ends and have to get as many people processed as quickly as possible but would have liked to be let down a little more gently and politely. My friends and I talked and decided that we would object to paying good money to a place that can't wait to get you out of the door.
I was so happy to be able to book at another pub which welcomed us at a time we wanted. Two of my friends are local and may have returned had we been welcomed. I am sorry to give a negative review but I guess The Swan has so many prospective customers in the Summer they can afford to turn a few away. We are part of a world wide organisation so I expect some of the ladies will be eating at The Swan. I will look out for their reviews with interest and hope they fare better than Beryl B.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nightingale0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horning hotels

manchester
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights this month we didnt dine in the restaurant so cant comment on that .Our room had a river side view you can sit for hours watching all the water activity, boats ,wildlife, the southern comfort tour boat which is berthed at the Swan .Got to mention two staff members Natasha and Robert very friendly and helpful.

As a previous reviewer has written rooms are tired and in need of refurb ,but the view makes up for it .We paid £64 per night for a family room with a lovely view and an all you can eat and drink continental breakfast very good value .

Room Tip: room 8 large room lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a very pleasant four nights at Innkeepers Lodge, The Swan. We were greeted by friendly staff who were helpful throughout our stay. We had room 5 which was quite a large quiet bedroom with a small separate dressing room. The bed was large and very comfortable with fresh white bedding. Towels were changed daily and the room was cleaned to a high standard.
The bathroom although rather tired and in need of a refurb was perfectly clean with a good shower over the bath. The breakfast is standard for all Innkeepers Lodge Hotels and was more than adequate with lots of choice of cereals, juices, yogurt , a lovely bowl of mixed fruits including grapes, brown and white bread and muffins set out in covered baskets all ready for the toaster. Plenty of jams and marmalade too. Certainly enough to set you up for the day.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florry_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Swan Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
323 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
494 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
894 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
The Salhouse Lodge
The Salhouse Lodge
#1 of 1 in Salhouse
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Address: 10 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Bure, in the "prettiest village on the Norfolk Broads," Innkeeper's Lodge Horning is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful part of the country. It also provides convenient budget accommodation near Wroxham or Norwich. The Swan Inn began life as a cottage in 1696, although the main part of the building was constructed in the early 19th century. Its rustic black and white timbered structure is home to eight comfy, modern rooms and one of the cosiest pubs in Horning. So it couldn't be easier to sit back and enjoy heart-warming, seasonally inspired food and a glass of what you fancy. It's well worth taking a tour of the Broads by boat or by steam locomotive on the Bure Valley Railway. Or if you're feeling more active you could try the award-winning BeWILDerwood Treehouse Adventure Park, or charge up to the medieval motte and bailey fortress of Norwich Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn Horning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing