We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we'd been sooner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ram Coaching Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we'd been sooner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The pub was recommended to us previously but this was our first visit. Very good menu, food was well cooked with good sized portions. Good value for money. Staff we're very attentive and it was explained that further improvements are in the offing. Only slight criticism was that breaded mushrooms were a tiny bit over done - minor gripe. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rich0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    87
    36
    32
    45
See reviews for
76
121
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Was a bit disappointed with our experience. We stayed here on the 21st of September and it was a treat for my wife for her birthday. We have 2 young kids who we got babysat and have 3 dogs which we put in kennels for the night( which was not cheap). We both work full time and at not very social hours, so do not get quality time together.
The old ram got recommend to us by a couple who stayed there a couple of years back and highly recommend it, so thought we would give it a try.
On arrival all was good, got shown to our room etc, and we then went to the bar for pre meal drinks and all was good.
Went back to room and noticed it was very warm so we opened the windows to cool the room down. Got ready for our evening meal and decided to leave the windows open to help cool the room down for when we came back later.
We went to the restaurant and got sat down to our table and said to the waitress that we were ready to order as we looked at the menu when we went for pre meal drinks. She took the order and we sat at our table waiting for the food.
About 15/20 mins later a different waitress came over to ask if we had our staters

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdjward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My first drink had a fly in it and the waitress didn't even notice it, the second was meant to be black current and soda all I could taste was soda!

Food..... Main meal was just about adequate I wouldn't rave about it and still felt hungry afterwards so choose a dessert, now the dessert was the best bit about it but still didn't make me feel like returning any time soon for food.

The building is lovely and quaint and it is a nice surrounding for a quiet drink.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had tried to book a table for 2 @ 2pm on a Sunday we were told no booking was needed , when we arrived we were shown to our table and ordered a drink ,10 mins later we were told that one of the drinks was not available despite being recommended , no problem , I thought .....
We were then given the menus and we ordered 2 Sunday roasts dinners , bearing in mind it was Sunday dinner time I wouldn't have thought that would be a problem , Wrong ! 50 mins later and other people being served despite coming in after us , the food arrived .we complained again about the wait and was offered a free drink or desert .
It looked good but unfortunately that is as far as it goes , my partner had parsnips where as I didn't , the roast potatoes were dry and at best slightly warm , Yorkshire puddings were completely dried out and burnt and we were given one very small gravy portion between us both.
The staff did not seem to be very interested and I was told that the place was up for sale hence the reason things were up in the air ! .
This place has so much character but unfortunately seems to have lost its way in recent years .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigsteve62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tivetshall St. Mary hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Had a sunday lunch here last weekend. This was above and beyond, and I am very picky. The beef was cooked perfectly, the veggies were just as I like them (a bit of bite but not under done) and you even get creamed leeks. Yum.
The service was what really sold it.
The girls serving us were fantastic. All smiles and very genuine.
A lovely place to go with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you are thinking of stopping for a meal at this once superb pub you're going to be very very disappointed.I innocently put in my order and waited about 45 mins only to find out when the other food arrived for the other guests mine was never ordered,the waiter made sure he was nowhere to be found (was fairly useless anyway) and the excuse I was given was that the computer made the error( not who entered the order ) You have been warned ,the staff must be on min wage or very undereducated as the people skills are barely adequate.I really miss the way the pub was but sadly it is not,inflated prices and poor service and no management ,I heard "I'm sorry" 4 times while I was waiting for no food,I believe my review to be 100 percent accurate,I hope more people add their reviews and you will understand what I mean.

Room Tip: Waste of time !!!!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk uk
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hello uks food critic here sharing my experiences of food and service with YOU

My trip to the old ram was allright but I wouldn't say it's perfect . First of all I walked in and got are drinks . The staff was friendly and smile a lot which is nice to see that they are putting effort into it.
The chair I was sitting on was broken and the table had rice on it from before . You would of thought that they would clean the table before you went to sit on it. Now comes the food. There stock was low on food ( so I overheard by the waitress) . The food was nice and worth the money

Room Tip: You're right on a road so I'd pick one going away from the road because its a bit noisy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Food C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tivetshall St. Mary
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
4.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
10.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
4.3 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ram Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ram Coaching Inn

Property: The Old Ram Coaching Inn
Address: Ipswich Road, Tivetshall St. Mary NR15 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Tivetshall St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tivetshall St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Ram Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Ram Coaching Inn is a listed inn dating back to the 17th Century - documents reveal that it has been a coaching inn for most of its life. Our hotel accommodation consists of 11 guest rooms, all of which have private bathrooms, and there are some suites and a four poster bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Ram Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ram Coaching Hotel Tivetshall St. Mary
The Old Ram Coaching Inn Tivetshall St. Mary, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing