We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Olde Windmill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good relaxing break”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We picked this pub to stay at for a long weekend as we are fed up with staying at hotels that end up having a succession of noisy weddings booked which take over the place, keep you awake etc. We were right in that there was no wedding, horrah! There was some kind of function but that wasn't a problem other than the food at one dinner was a bit slow.

The reviews do overrate the place a bit. It is a lovely old pub but a bit 'spit and sawdust', its not fancy at all but it is comfortable and friendly. There were children around and near the bar during the day which I have to say I don't like, but does unfortunately seem the norm in a lot of pubs now. Mostly, this wasn't an issue though especially in the evenings.

There is plenty of parking and the room we had was very comfortable, and enormous!! It was a bit dated but warm with plenty of hot water, lovely fluffy towels and a large comfy bed so for the price its very good. The breakfast was very good too. You can have breakfast in your room which is a nice touch. Food generally was nothing to write home about. It is very basic pub food - if you go away for good food you would be disappointed. Likewise, keep the diet on hold, its chips with most things! The portions are huge - its quantity not quality. We did wander up to the Swan Inn which is pleasant and the menu there seemed a bit more imaginative but we only had a sandwich.

All in all it was a relaxing break. We did sleep well. Our room was facing the driveway with a very small window. The noise from people walking by, traffic, staff going to a storeroom etc could disturb some but it was very quiet later in the evening and I slept well. There is little to do in the area, the countryside is not particularly stunning but it meant we switched off which was a good thing. There is a minor problem with flies but this wasn't just at the pub. The staff work very hard and are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: paid slightly more for a larger room but it was downstairs which meant we had people above - was fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    82
    13
    13
    12
See reviews for
57
124
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Surprising to find such a gem in this area. Comprehensive menu with great selection of beers served 7 days a week with friendly welcomes. Very good value confirmed by the number of people turning up at all times during the day. Best to book in advance at busy times.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The service was great as soon as we walked in. The room was big and the bed was lovely. It was spotless.
It was extremely good for the amount of money it cost.
Will defiantly be returning.
All staff were friendly and it was a great place for a drink and some food by a relaxing fire.
The breakfast in the morning was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klawrece88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We've been coming to the Windmill as a family for around 20 years now and have always been really satisfied with the meals. We have never been on Boxing Day, instead preferring a local carvery. We got tired of the washed out veg, people scrambling to pile their plates like it was their last meal on earth and the poor service. This year we chose the Windmill and it was brilliant value, everything cooked to perfection and smashing service. Thanks to all the staff and carry on gritting your teeth at those who moan. A sterling day out!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 198Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I'm often wary of booking pub B and B's as the quality varies so much but have no fear. This one is really good!
We arrived on a cold November evening and were shown immediately to our rooms along a very cold corridor that had me worried about the room but it was well heated prior to our arrival and well appointed in traditional style with modern furniture. Room and en suite are well lit with a large freeview TV.
We soon adjourned to the comfy bar/restaurant. There is a wide selection of real ale as well as the usual range of drinks served by friendly approachable staff who were busy with regulars but we weren't neglected. Dinner in the restaurant was standard pub grub served by friendly staff keen to meet our requirements for minor changes to the dishes.
Other guests had also visited the 'Thursford Spectacular' and although the Olde Windmill is about 40 minutes drive it is worth the effort.When we return to the area next year this will be my first choice for accommodation.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room 7 may be reached without any stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallTedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was part of an 8 man shooting party who stayed at the Inn last week. The rooms are very comfortable and very secure. The bar was busy for a Thursday night but there were plenty of staff on hand. We had dinner in the restaurant which was great, a huge choice and everyone's food was first class. We all had a very good nights sleep and the breakfast was to die for. We shall certainly be returning, will have to bring my wife for a night to show her how good it was as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatWillow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a one night stay here and would use again as and when in the area. Excellent room, plenty of space, spotlessly clean and as new 'fluffy' towels. Lovely old pub atmosphere to enjoy also with a superb selection to cater for all tastes. Didn't try the bar menu but breakfast was more than ample to start your day. Staff all very helpful and we were made most welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Cressingham
4.8 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Windmill Inn

Property: The Olde Windmill Inn
Address: The Windmill Water End, Great Cressingham IP25 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Cressingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Cressingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Windmill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Olde Windmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Windmill Hotel Great Cressingham
The Olde Windmill Inn Great Cressingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing