We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olde Windmill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We'd booked the double executive room and it far exceeded our expectations. As well as a good sized bedroom, it had a sitting room with TV, a bathroom and a small kitchen (although there were no cooking facilities when we stayed, the owner said the fitting of the oven was imminent). It was well decorated and spotlessly clean and has its own entrance so you can come and go as you please.

We spent the evening and the pub downstairs for a few drinks and dinner. The food was good and the portions generous. Staff were friendly as were the local regulars and the bar had a nice atmosphere. Five hand pulled ales on offer including Adnams Broadside and a locally brewed Windy Miller.

We can thoroughly recommend The Old Windmill and look forward to visiting again. It's also worth getting up early to listen to the birds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinAndJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for The Olde Windmill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I celebrated my retirement and birthday with my grown up children with their partners, with a dinner party and overnight stay, ten adults in total. We arrived about 14:30hrs in the afternoon when food stopped being served. The staff were very cooperative in providing us with some baguettes and sandwiches, although the kitchen was closed. We booked the deluxe rooms that were very roomy with queen style beds. Everyone enjoyed their evening meal, which was classical pub grub style. We all had the full English breakfast which was two of everything but unfortunately they ran out of sausages we had one each and was provided with ample other items that more than made up for it.
All in all, a good time was had by all and hopefully we shall be returning later in the year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank 00bigd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed overnight in late April. We had a family room which was exceptionally spacious and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating, making sure we had everything we needed. The manager had reserved us a table for dinner as there were 5 of us, including 3 small children, so this suited us well. The food was great, and enormous portions. Would highly recommend to others, and will definitely return ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We picked this pub to stay at for a long weekend as we are fed up with staying at hotels that end up having a succession of noisy weddings booked which take over the place, keep you awake etc. We were right in that there was no wedding, horrah! There was some kind of function but that wasn't a problem other than the food at one dinner was a bit slow.

The reviews do overrate the place a bit. It is a lovely old pub but a bit 'spit and sawdust', its not fancy at all but it is comfortable and friendly. There were children around and near the bar during the day which I have to say I don't like, but does unfortunately seem the norm in a lot of pubs now. Mostly, this wasn't an issue though especially in the evenings.

There is plenty of parking and the room we had was very comfortable, and enormous!! It was a bit dated but warm with plenty of hot water, lovely fluffy towels and a large comfy bed so for the price its very good. The breakfast was very good too. You can have breakfast in your room which is a nice touch. Food generally was nothing to write home about. It is very basic pub food - if you go away for good food you would be disappointed. Likewise, keep the diet on hold, its chips with most things! The portions are huge - its quantity not quality. We did wander up to the Swan Inn which is pleasant and the menu there seemed a bit more imaginative but we only had a sandwich.

All in all it was a relaxing break. We did sleep well. Our room was facing the driveway with a very small window. The noise from people walking by, traffic, staff going to a storeroom etc could disturb some but it was very quiet later in the evening and I slept well. There is little to do in the area, the countryside is not particularly stunning but it meant we switched off which was a good thing. There is a minor problem with flies but this wasn't just at the pub. The staff work very hard and are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: paid slightly more for a larger room but it was downstairs which meant we had people above - was fai...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Surprising to find such a gem in this area. Comprehensive menu with great selection of beers served 7 days a week with friendly welcomes. Very good value confirmed by the number of people turning up at all times during the day. Best to book in advance at busy times.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The service was great as soon as we walked in. The room was big and the bed was lovely. It was spotless.
It was extremely good for the amount of money it cost.
Will defiantly be returning.
All staff were friendly and it was a great place for a drink and some food by a relaxing fire.
The breakfast in the morning was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klawrece88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We've been coming to the Windmill as a family for around 20 years now and have always been really satisfied with the meals. We have never been on Boxing Day, instead preferring a local carvery. We got tired of the washed out veg, people scrambling to pile their plates like it was their last meal on earth and the poor service. This year we chose the Windmill and it was brilliant value, everything cooked to perfection and smashing service. Thanks to all the staff and carry on gritting your teeth at those who moan. A sterling day out!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 198Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Cressingham
4.8 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
166 reviews
4.8 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
126 reviews
18.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,149 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Windmill Inn

Address: The Windmill Water End, Great Cressingham IP25 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Cressingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Cressingham
Price Range: £56 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Windmill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Olde Windmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Windmill Hotel Great Cressingham
The Olde Windmill Inn Great Cressingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing