We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub/Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olde Windmill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in the last week of June. Had really great service from kind and friendly staff. The dinner was really good, I had the butterfly chicken while my other half had the big smokie burger. We both enjoyed our meal, very filling. The room was spacious and clean, very nice atomsphere overall. Saturday got a bit busy but we were still served quickly and professionally. Great pub/hotel, will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Unexpectedly big and bustling pub almost in middle of nowhere. V friendly and willing but not well organised. Make sure you speak to a manager. The food in the evening was very good value - my sirloin steak was exceptionally good. Rooms very generously sized and well equipped/comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank u725767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed over the Easter Period. Upstairs room. Had dificulty turning one of the radiators off, staff coudn't fix this over weekend.
Meals substantial, think we ate in a fifferent room each night. Easter Saturday evening was very busy, glad we had booked. didn't understand why waitress couldn't replenish drinks and i had to go to bar, but a minor point.

Room Tip: We had upstairs room, facing main building. Quiet, large for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked after reading reviews on tripadviser.Could not have been more satisfied with our experience. The room was clean, large and to a good standard. Table was resevered for us to eat on the night time and was not disappointed with the food. All in all good food, good location, good service and great rooms.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room I think about £5 more per night. Very spacious by any standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We'd booked the double executive room and it far exceeded our expectations. As well as a good sized bedroom, it had a sitting room with TV, a bathroom and a small kitchen (although there were no cooking facilities when we stayed, the owner said the fitting of the oven was imminent). It was well decorated and spotlessly clean and has its own entrance so you can come and go as you please.

We spent the evening and the pub downstairs for a few drinks and dinner. The food was good and the portions generous. Staff were friendly as were the local regulars and the bar had a nice atmosphere. Five hand pulled ales on offer including Adnams Broadside and a locally brewed Windy Miller.

We can thoroughly recommend The Old Windmill and look forward to visiting again. It's also worth getting up early to listen to the birds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinAndJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I celebrated my retirement and birthday with my grown up children with their partners, with a dinner party and overnight stay, ten adults in total. We arrived about 14:30hrs in the afternoon when food stopped being served. The staff were very cooperative in providing us with some baguettes and sandwiches, although the kitchen was closed. We booked the deluxe rooms that were very roomy with queen style beds. Everyone enjoyed their evening meal, which was classical pub grub style. We all had the full English breakfast which was two of everything but unfortunately they ran out of sausages we had one each and was provided with ample other items that more than made up for it.
All in all, a good time was had by all and hopefully we shall be returning later in the year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank 00bigd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed overnight in late April. We had a family room which was exceptionally spacious and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating, making sure we had everything we needed. The manager had reserved us a table for dinner as there were 5 of us, including 3 small children, so this suited us well. The food was great, and enormous portions. Would highly recommend to others, and will definitely return ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Cressingham
4.8 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
3.5 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
133 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
246 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Willow House
The Willow House
#1 of 3 in Watton
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vines
The Vines
#2 of 2 in Great Cressingham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Windmill Inn

Address: The Windmill Water End, Great Cressingham IP25 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Cressingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Cressingham
Price Range: £58 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Windmill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Olde Windmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Windmill Hotel Great Cressingham
The Olde Windmill Inn Great Cressingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing