We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timbers Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Fincham B&B and Inns
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Very good value and great customer service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here last week for a party in a nearby village. On asking reception for a taxi, the person we presumed to be the manager/owner rang round a few firms before telling us that it was unlikely that we would get a taxi on a busy Saturday afternoon. So, he offered to take us to where we wanted to go in his own vehicle. That was simply amazingly good customer service. As it transpired, we realised we didn't need his services as soon as he pulled up outside reception in his Range Rover as our promised "lift" appeared at the same time. However, full marks for the offer. It was very much appreciated and certainly not something you would get at other hotels.

So, what was Timbers Country Lodge like? It was good value, there's no denying that. At £60 for a double room or £76 including breakfast, that was an excellent price.

The rooms are in small, external buildings of about 12 rooms per block. They are sparsely but cleanly furnished with en suite bathrooms with what appear to be newly installed showers.

There were a number of us staying at the place on this night and at breakfast the next day, the main topic was about how bad the beds were. They felt like they were going to collapse.

Breakfast was reasonably decent for £8 each but the service was not too good. There were insufficient glasses for orange juice, insufficient plates and extra cutlery (e.g. tea spoons etc.). We had to ask the girl again and again for the missing items. And, there seems to be a policy of not clearing any dishes away from the table until the guests have gone. As a result, our table for seven got incredibly full of dirty plates that staff simply didn't want to remove until we started to get up to leave.

However, to put all this in perspective, it was a nice room (apart from the bed), and the breakfast was more than good enough for £8 each.

Would definitely stay again at this price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimbersCL, Public Relations Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to give good constructive feedback.

The beds in our chalets will be replaced and we have spoken to the breakfast staff who were on shift that morning for emphasising the importance of customer service at all times. We apologise for the inconvenience with the breakfast service.

We are glad you enjoyed Timbers overall and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    66
    43
    21
    30
See reviews for
78
67
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Fairly isolated down a country lane Timbers provides motel style accommodation in a rural setting. Our room was compact and would have benefited from a comfier chair to relax in. Room was very clean and fresh. Wooden bed was a bit creaky but surprisingly comfortable. Tea and coffee provided. The electric shower was hot and powerful. The main building is large and comfortable and a good place to eat or just have a drink. The full English buffet breakfast was pretty good and very good value. Pity about the instant coffee in a dish and do it yourself tea bags in a cup. Just sliced bread for toast and no pastries, rolls or croissants. We stayed for a wedding and the food at the reception was very good and served and cleared away very efficiently. All the staff we came across were friendly, courteous and efficient. All in all a very good experience and reasonable value. Free wifi but the mobile telephone signal was a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimbersCL, Public Relations Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback.

We have taken note of your comments and the breakfast service will be improved accordingly.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Timbers continues to improve. The new signage, menus etc a marked improvement from last year.
We ate in the restaurant as opposed to the bar this time. Very relaxing and pleased no loud background music present.
Our only small gripe.....
We thanked our waitress/barmaid whilst paying our bill, for a lovely evening. She did appear to be a bit too falsely friendly on this occasion throughout.
She then was quite pushy regarding us giving good feedback on Trip Advisor and Social Media sites.
This put a slight downer on our evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VEUVE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimbersManager, Public Relations Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and glad you enjoyed your second visit and meal.

We apologise for our staff's over zealous behaviour, this has been addressed. We keep Trip Advisor cards on our front desk where it is left to our guests discretion.

Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

beautiful location , remote , quite , buildings look new,& well spread out . Better use of the views could be made as they are surrounded by fields but view from the restaurant is limited.
I stayed in the cottage for the first night , single room , VERY small room , no cupboard or desk but otherwise fine
the second night I paid extra for a double , room 27 , looked great tucked away at the back , new built (1years old) .unfortunately it had an ASHP outside which cut in and out making a high pitched noise, this disturbed my sleep and spolit my stay.
restaurant food was v good and the waiter was excellent .
I would stay again as it was good value but never in 27 .
wi fi didn't work for first night , the receptionist could be a bit more customer friendly, she could learn by observing the other staff.

Room Tip: avoid 27 due to humming noise, don't count on there being wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busybeeisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimbersManager, Public Relations Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks very much for your comments. The ASHP noise issue is being taken care of by our engineer.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a fabulous Sunday Carvery yesterday at Timbers with 7 of our family. Excellent value for money, I'm not usually a fan of carvery's as most places the food is sat around but not at Timbers, all fresh vegetable brought in regularly, 4 choices of meat and large portions and the Yorkshires are huge and homemade. If you haven't eaten here then its a must, we usually eat most Friday evenings also, excellent food and v friendly staff -especially Monika who is a diamond :)
Dawn

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimbersManager, Public Relations Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks you Dawn for sharing your Sunday carvery experience. Much appreciated and we hope you visit us again soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If all you want is a cheap bed for the night, a reasonably priced 3 course dinner and a good breakfast then this is the place to stay. You get what you pay for and with the Timbers that is very much the case. The rooms are clean and tidy, there is ample parking, the restaurant is OK and the prices are reasonable, just don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpe554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Called in here for coffee and - hopefully - cake, on my way back to Downham Market. No cake but was offered chocolate and hazelnut cheesecake from the dessert menu @£5.20. Coffee was fine, but cheesecake was pretty grim.It looked and tasted as if it had been hanging around for quite a while. Small portion surmounted by a very tired looking raspberry, which I didn't eat. Bill was for over £7.00 which I paid when ordering.

As I had to leave quickly afterwards to keep an appointment at home, hadn't time to speak to the person who served me. Phoned when I got home, to talk to the manager. Not available. Eventually was discovered that there was a duty manager who wouldn't be there until Friday - four days away ! Tried to see if the site had an overall manager / general manager - was told there wasn't one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPOC186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimbersManager, Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We apologise that you were not satisfied with the cheesecake and positive if a member of staff was informed, that an alternative dessert or a refund would have been offered.

Unfortunately the member of staff you spoke with on the phone misinformed you about manager availability. Contact details for customer feedback are on our website.

We do hope you come and give us a second chance in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fincham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fincham
7.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
278 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
101 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,043 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
63 reviews
19.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbers Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbers Country Lodge

Property: Timbers Country Lodge
Address: Lynn Road, Fincham PE33 9HE, England (Formerly Timbers Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Timbers Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Norfolk countryside, Timbers Country Lodge is a converted barn complex in the West Norfolk village of Fincham; close to Kings Lynn, Downham Market and Swaffham and central to many of Norfolks attractions (see our website for the list of popular tourist attractions) Timbers Country Lodge offers a bar and restaurant which serves quality food made from locally source ingredients. Timbers Country Lodge also offers home from home accommodation and is an all inclusive weddings and events venue, providing everything you need in one place for a stress free day, whether it be a one night stay on a business trip or large party for a wedding or special occasion; good food and a homely atmosphere awaits you. There is plenty of free parking, disabled facilities and function rooms packed with character. Enjoy the big sky's of Norfolk and have a taste of our hospitality; join us on our very popular Sunday Carvery (make sure you book early!) Timber's offers fantastic value for money. Timber's Country Lodge really is Norfolk's best kept secret. Arrive as a customer and return as a friend... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Timbers Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Hotel And Restaurant
Timbers Country Lodge Fincham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing