We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a good meal?”
Review of Harts Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harts Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Giggleswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We were staying at "Mainsfield" just around the corner and came here again for an evening meal, in the bar, excellent choice of beer and a very good menu; the service was good and efficient and the food nearly excellent, I had "surf and turf", my wife the salmon with a deliciously rich sauce, we had no room this time to sample the previously tasted sweet courses on offer (I wish!) but we left feeling well satisfied with the quality and price and thoroughly recommend the Harts Head restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. Arrived to a bustling bar but were still dealt with quickly and efficiently with our bags taken to our room by the helpful young man.
Whilst we had planned on using the hotel purely as a place to lay down our head the hospitality was second to non and we did find ourselves enjoying the great food and drink on offer - just can't resist an open fire!
The room had a great ensuite with a shower that I spent far too long under.
We will certainly stay again, great place, great value, great hospitality - who could ask for more!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Have just returned from a very pleasant visit.Room was very comfortable and the food was excellent.Staff were very friendly and efficient.Good selection of traditional ales at a reasonsble price.The only downside is the opening hours, if it is closed you have to climb a fire escape to reach yor room,but apart from this we had a good three days and would not hesitate visiting again sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonywidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and in part thanks to your review, we have changed our policy and now all guests staying will be given a front door key to use when the bar is closed. Many thanks for the review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were six thirsty & hungry cyclists who received a lovely warm welcome from this place. Secure undercover storage for our bikes, good en suite rooms, good bar and good food all at very sensible prices. If you’re on The Way Of The Roses the Harts head Hotel is all you could want and only about 60 metres off the route.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on B&B basis. It is a very old fashioned pub with old fashioned values. The great thing about it is the staff, no matter how busy , and it was indeed very busy with the Euro footy in full swing, all the staff managed to stay very cheerful and efficient. We had booked a table as the dining room is quite small. Couldn't believe the extensive menu for such a small place, but when the food was served it was excellent. Our room was clean with wooden shutters on the window which looked out over the clock tower and countryside , bathroom looked new so did the fluffy white towels ,good shower over bath, shower caps provided. Breakfast was fruit juice , fresh fruit, cereal or porridge freshly cooked full english toast and preserves, coffee is filtered. Sam the waitress was very good and checked on the Settle to Carlisle train timetable for us. Seems to be a favourite with groups of cyclists and walkers. We were well looked after and could recommend this as a good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are accessed by stairs on 1st and 2nd floors , there is also a cottage at the bottom of the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Arrived in the rain had to wait outside for 30 mins waiting for someone to turn up, after ringing both numbers on the door as directed, When landlady turned up no apology for having to stand out in the rain. When we finally got our room it was tired and needs a lick of paint the wallpaper needs sticking back on the wall, when a towel rail is changed, fill in and paint the old holes. The bed was hard and noisy, room smelt damp. On a positive the food was excellent for our evening meal, restraunt full with only 2 staff on, who worked hard and were friendly. We would not recommend or stay at this hotel again. It is not 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plantcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We ate at this pub whilst stopping at the nearby Knight Stainforth Hall campsite. There was a good selection of beers, and a great 'pub' menu. Food was freshly prepared and plentiful. Only niggle was burnt Yorkshire puddings. Staff we friendly if slightly in attentive at times (it would have been nice to have been asked if we wanted more drinks when the main courses arrived). Also we had booked for 5.30 (the start of dinner service) and were glad as they were turning people away shortly after, but as the staff didn't start until 5.30 as well we did have to stand around for 10 minutes whilstbtheybarrived and got started. All that said would still eat here again next time we go camping.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Dave10293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
568 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Lupton
422 reviews
3.9 mi away
Game Cock Inn
Game Cock Inn
#1 of 6 in Austwick
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harts Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harts Head Inn

Address: Belle Hill, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Giggleswick
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harts Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the stunning Yorkshire Dales, yet close to Settle and the A65, this historic owner-run Inn offers delicious homemade food, cosy log fires and free Wi-Fi and parking. Boasting a privileged position within the delightful village of Giggleswick, and with the scenic beauty of the Yorkshire Dales right on its doorstep, the inn is perfectly positioned for those wishing to explore the area. Independently owned and managed, guests can always expect a warm, personable welcome and a wonderful home-from-home atmosphere. Each of the 9 en-suite guestrooms are comfortable, inviting and come complete with everything one could need for a stress-free night's sleep. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms all of which feature free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harts Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Head Hotel Settle
Harts Head Inn Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing