We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harts Head Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Traddock(Austwick)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldon Country Hotel(Long Preston)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Golden Lion Hotel(Horton-in-Ribblesdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
110
59
27
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
59
27
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharts headthe pubgreat foodbar areaselection of beersa great eveningpuddingservice was excellentfull englishwalking tripstayed here for nightslake districtan excellent choicefeel very welcomelambmain coursesteak and ale pie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We were staying at "Mainsfield" just around the corner and came here again for an evening meal, in the bar, excellent choice of beer and a very good menu; the service was good and efficient and the food nearly excellent, I had "surf and turf", my wife the salmon with a deliciously rich sauce, we had no room this time to sample the previously tasted sweet courses on offer (I wish!) but we left feeling well satisfied with the quality and price and thoroughly recommend the Harts Head restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. Arrived to a bustling bar but were still dealt with quickly and efficiently with our bags taken to our room by the helpful young man.
Whilst we had planned on using the hotel purely as a place to lay down our head the hospitality was second to non and we did find ourselves enjoying the great food and drink on offer - just can't resist an open fire!
The room had a great ensuite with a shower that I spent far too long under.
We will certainly stay again, great place, great value, great hospitality - who could ask for more!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Have just returned from a very pleasant visit.Room was very comfortable and the food was excellent.Staff were very friendly and efficient.Good selection of traditional ales at a reasonsble price.The only downside is the opening hours, if it is closed you have to climb a fire escape to reach yor room,but apart from this we had a good three days and would not hesitate visiting again sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonywidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and in part thanks to your review, we have changed our policy and now all guests staying will be given a front door key to use when the bar is closed. Many thanks for the review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were six thirsty & hungry cyclists who received a lovely warm welcome from this place. Secure undercover storage for our bikes, good en suite rooms, good bar and good food all at very sensible prices. If you’re on The Way Of The Roses the Harts head Hotel is all you could want and only about 60 metres off the route.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on B&B basis. It is a very old fashioned pub with old fashioned values. The great thing about it is the staff, no matter how busy , and it was indeed very busy with the Euro footy in full swing, all the staff managed to stay very cheerful and efficient. We had booked a table as the dining room is quite small. Couldn't believe the extensive menu for such a small place, but when the food was served it was excellent. Our room was clean with wooden shutters on the window which looked out over the clock tower and countryside , bathroom looked new so did the fluffy white towels ,good shower over bath, shower caps provided. Breakfast was fruit juice , fresh fruit, cereal or porridge freshly cooked full english toast and preserves, coffee is filtered. Sam the waitress was very good and checked on the Settle to Carlisle train timetable for us. Seems to be a favourite with groups of cyclists and walkers. We were well looked after and could recommend this as a good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are accessed by stairs on 1st and 2nd floors , there is also a cottage at the bottom of the garden .
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews