We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giggleswick.”
Review of Harts Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giggleswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harts Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Giggleswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Recently stayed in Giggleswick at the Harts Head Inn for the weekend with friends. We had a great stay. Friendly staff, really good breakfast and amazing beers in the pub! Would certainly stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 994Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your trip, many thanks for your kind comments hopefully we can see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

This place is very poor. feels like it is about to go bankrupt with paint flaking off, television in my room not working, no wireless connectivity unless you stand at the top of the stairs, shower that points at the wall not the person and after a 5 hour drive to get there they are too busy to cook me a meal. at £40 for the night it isn't worth losing sleep over - probably worth £25 to £30. Think faulty towers and this is a close fit. Welcome to Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Probably good if you are walking, need a warm room and hot breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank idmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

I am sorry you didnt enjoy your stay and can assure you we take all customer comments very seriously. I was unaware that you had a problem with your television or your wireless connection but have taken steps to rectify the problem. The night you stayed we had a very busy evening in the dining room with 2 xmas parties booked who had pre ordered their meals and so the kitchen were busy with their orders when you enquired about food. We did offer a later time for dining which unfortunately was not acceptable for you I am very sorry that you had this problem but in the circumstances it was the best we could do.
Kind Regards
Barbara Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having booked for a party of 12 people to stay at The Harts Head Hotel on a bed and breakfast basis not one of us could find a single fault with the any aspect of our stay - the rooms, the food, the atmosphere, the welcome - in fact from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt straight at home. The staff were all cheery, helpful and polite. The rooms were spotless, warm and welcoming. The food (both evening meal and breakfast) was excellent. Indeed it is a Hotel we have all earmarked or an early return!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have the large room in the annex which had a massive newly done bathroom and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

A lovely review to read, thank you very much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that the other members of your party had a similar experience. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I booked a room at The Harts Head Hotel at very short notice and was delighted to receive such a pleasant and courteous confirmation of my booking. Even my offer of a deposit via credit card was not wanted.
Upon arrival, the young barman welcomed us and without delay showed us to our room which we found to be comfortable and clean. Once unpacked we went down to the lounge and took advantage of trying an excellently kept range of local ales before ordering our evening meals.
The two blackboards, on which the menus were displayed offered a very good range of food including some very tempting 'specials'. From out starters right through to the last course, we thoroughly enjoyed a superbly cooked meal. Retiring to the warmth of our bedroom we both had a fine nights sleep in a most comfortable bed.
Breakfast was served in the dining room and offer us a wide choice of fresh fruits, yoghurt and cereals. The full English that we chose to follow was well cooked, delicious and hearty.
Upon paying our bill, the landlady worked out that we would find it quite a bit cheaper to pay for our stay by adding the meal and drinks to our bill separately rather than us paying more as our original request was for BB&EM. Such honesty is so nice to find. Thank you.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wished to stay in this part of the country.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

We're delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we are particularly pleased you enjoyed your selection from our new menu! Regarding the money, we will always be honest with our customers when we spot something such as the detail you mentioned as we think it's only fair. Hope to see you again when you're next in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The Harts Head Inn is a very well presented public house, clean and well managed by Barbara and her staff, a homely friendly atmosphere, a pleasant terraced beer garden at the rear, complete with a play area with lawns, castle and slide for the littleys.
Barbara is well known for her generousity by holding events (including Folk singarounds, every 1st Friday of the Month) and giving donations to charity.
I have never had the pleasure of staying for B&B but maybe the time will come and I know I won't be disapointed, having had many nice meals there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you for your kind words in regards to our atmosphere and food. We hope to see you again soon when maybe you can try our accommodation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Mix up with a double booking when we arrived for one nights stay whilst walking the ribble way but the landlady sorted it out quickly and kindly gave us complimentary drinks for the minor inconvenience. Food and service was excellent, particularly as it was a busy saturday night.Breakfast was hearty and delicious.
On payment of our bill the following morning, the landlady advised us that no charge was being made for our evening meals as a further gesture for the minor mix up when we checked in and she also even reduced the room prices by a few pounds.Misunderstandings can occur in any business but the polite and friendly way in which she dealt with us is a shining example of how to deal with a problem and I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you thought our food and service made up for the mix up on arrival! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Group of 6 guys doing the Three Peaks Challenge stayed here for 2 nights. From the initial telephone booking through to checkout we had an excellent service from the landlady, Barbara. Nothing was too much trouble, from requesting an early breakfast through to providing an after hours evening meal. Rooms and bathrooms were comfortable, clean and spacious and we would warmly recommend staying here at this lovely non commercialised and homely feeling establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lind012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Many thanks for your kind remarks it is much appreciated, hopefully we can welcome you again in the future. Regards Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
5.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#17 of 22 in Settle
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harts Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harts Head Inn

Address: Belle Hill, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Giggleswick
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harts Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the stunning Yorkshire Dales, yet close to Settle and the A65, this historic owner-run Inn offers delicious homemade food, cosy log fires and free Wi-Fi and parking. Boasting a privileged position within the delightful village of Giggleswick, and with the scenic beauty of the Yorkshire Dales right on its doorstep, the inn is perfectly positioned for those wishing to explore the area. Independently owned and managed, guests can always expect a warm, personable welcome and a wonderful home-from-home atmosphere. Each of the 9 en-suite guestrooms are comfortable, inviting and come complete with everything one could need for a stress-free night's sleep. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms all of which feature free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harts Head Hotel Settle
Harts Head Inn Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing