We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”
Review of Harts Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harts Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Giggleswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you are bringing a party of walkers into the Yorkshire Dales the Harts Head Inn is certainly a place to consider. The Inn had to accommodate our party of nine men for two nights and it did so brilliantly.

Right from booking until our leaving, the quality of service was excellent. Staff were always polite, friendly and willing to please. We all found our rooms clean and inviting and suitable to our needs.

We stayed on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package and the quality of the food, as well as the portions served met the needs of even the neediest amongst us. The service was speedy and all meals served met unanimously with our approval: the full English breakfast being especially popular.

What also delighted us was the way in which the inn seemed to have retained a traditional sense of a public house. A range of excellent real ales complimented the usual range of lagers and beers. Darts, pool and satellite TV were on offer and it was obviously a very popular place with the locals.

A great place to stay in the Dales.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    53
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
65
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
anji105
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

On arrival bar was very busy so waited a few minutes for room keys , we were shown two rooms booked in our names and found them immaculately clean and warm . We were there for a family wedding and another couple were too who did not arrive till several hours after us . It turns out that my mother in law was in the wrong room she should have been in a single and not a twin . Which we only found out when we were at the wedding we were attending . We had no problem with swapping rooms but was shocked to find out that the other couple had been allowed to place their luggage in the room she was using which I class as a serious breach of privacy .In my opinion this is not acceptable . Especially as we barely knew the other couple .
Breakfast was very good . And apart from the privacy issue we overall had an enjoyable stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anji105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks for the review. We understand that privacy is an important part of the service we offer and are sorry that on this occasion you feel it was breached. On reflection, we would handle the situation differently in the future and hope this didn't spoil your visit too much. We're pleased that you otherwise enjoyed our hospitality and hope you enjoyed the wedding.

Best wishes,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Even though we arrived quite late, having cycled from Morecambe that afternoon, the welcome was warm and we were helped with putting our bicycles in a secure place and shown the way through a what seemed a maze of passageways under the pub into the bar area. Our meal was hot and there was plenty of it. The Room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast the next morning was also good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetJ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks for the review! So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Harts Head Inn was our first night's stay on the Way of the Roses cycle route. Myself and 2 friends had set off from Morecambe that morning and arrived in Giggleswick about teatime. We had been caught in a bit of a freak downpour that afternoon and were a little on the damp side upon arrival. As soon as we walked into the bar, the landlady was extremely welcoming, recognising that we were cyclists and were stopping the night, and promptly told us where we could take our bikes for safe storage overnight.

Once bikes were safely locked away, we were shown to our room which was a family room, lovely and clean, warm, spacious and well equipped. The landlady immediately asked if we needed anything drying and did so when I discovered that my change of clothes hadn't escaped the downpour.

After warming up we headed downstairs for a drink and some food. The bar had a really good atmosphere and the food was lovely - home cooked and hearty.

After a good night's sleep we headed downstairs for a cracking full English breakfast. Once fuelled up for the day, we settled our room bill and headed off on the next leg of our journey.

Thank you Barbara you are a super landlady and have great staff - you made us feel really welcome. How do you manage to be happy and polite all the time, even first thing in the morning?!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaroobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind comments. We always strive to give our very best customer service and my staff and myself are glad that this has been appreciated.Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Kindest Regards
Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Had a nice stay, the staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant good, generous portions.The bar is quite small and gets very busy.
The room was a little shabby but okay for a short stay.
Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JFK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for the review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay! Shame about the room though, if possible please could you let us know which room number you were staying in at info@hartsheadinn.co.uk? It would help us to ensure the room is better prepared for future guests

Hope to see you again,

Best wishes,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We didn't stay here so can't comment on the accommodation but we did enjoy a lovely meal.

We had booked a table and I must admit when we arrived my heart sank....a very full and noisy bar with nowhere to sit so we asked if our table was ready so we could sit there. "Oh! you choose your meal first off the blackboard in the bar" "Eh??" Anyway, we persisted, and were seated at our table in the dining room which was empty at the time! We manged to choose our meals by wandering back & forth. May I suggest that menus are provided in the dining room?

The dining room has the look of an old fashioned 'parlour' with a delph rail filled with interesting teapots and quite 'dated' non matching but bright decor and unpretty 'function room" chairs.
There were items missing from the table setting and the linen napkins were whisked off another table for us. They had tried to do a 'fancy fold' with the napkins bit they were not ironed or starched so looked messy. Just ironed and/or folded neatly in a square would have been better. There are fabulous views from the windows at the rear and there is a beer garden so good if you have children.

Service was attentive with several attempts to take our order (took a while to read the menu & think in the noisy bar area) The food was absolutely lovely, my generous dish of lasagne was tasty and made with steak rather than mince and had a good cheesy topping. My companions also enjoyed their selections and all were served nice & hot. Even though we were full we were all tempted by the desserts which we also enjoyed. The staff checked several times if everything was OK for us and really meant it which was good (not sure I like the modern trend of calling a mixed older party 'guys'!)

On reflection, I can see that the owners are doing a good job with old premises supported by young, obliging enthusiastic staff. The food is good wholesome fare well cooked but a little attention to the surroundings for a booked table would enhance our experience and their reputation. I would certainly eat here again and hope my comments are received by the management as being helpful.

PS The route to the toilets was constantly blocked by bar customers reluctant to move which made it difficult to access. Is there some way they could keep it clear?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for the review! We're really happy you enjoyed your food and thought the service was good. You have made some good points that we can improve on and you'll be pleased to know that we have printed menus available now in case a similar situation arises in the future. We have also made the dining room next on our refurbishments list and hope to complete this within the next few months.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Best wishes,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

you can stay in Horton with the masses, enduing parking difficulties and a wait at the bar or.. just a few minutes drive away - a lovely base, in the good beer guide year after year , excellent value for money, on site parking, friendly efficient staff - breakfast tray for early departure to tackle the peaks. extensive evening menu - all in all a fantastic weekend - thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for the review Andy! Your party were a pleasure to host and we're pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Congratulations with the achievement of completing the 3 peaks and we hope to see you again if you return to the area.
Kind regards,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.6 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harts Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harts Head Inn

Property: Harts Head Inn
Address: Belle Hill, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Giggleswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harts Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the stunning Yorkshire Dales, yet close to Settle and the A65, this historic owner-run Inn offers delicious homemade food, cosy log fires and free Wi-Fi and parking. Boasting a privileged position within the delightful village of Giggleswick, and with the scenic beauty of the Yorkshire Dales right on its doorstep, the inn is perfectly positioned for those wishing to explore the area. Independently owned and managed, guests can always expect a warm, personable welcome and a wonderful home-from-home atmosphere. Each of the 9 en-suite guestrooms are comfortable, inviting and come complete with everything one could need for a stress-free night's sleep. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms all of which feature free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Harts Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Head Hotel Settle
Harts Head Inn Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing