We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very (dog) friendly place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harts Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harts Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Giggleswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very (dog) friendly place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in Jan and loved it! Very convenient for access to peaks and Malham. Barbara, the owner, was extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Our dogs were allowed in the room and bar area - Barbara gave us a table in the bar area for our evening meals and breakfasts so the dogs could stay with us. All staff helpful, rooms lovely and clean with everything we could need.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments , being a dog owner myself I understand the importance of finding somewhere you can have a holiday with them and feel welcomed so I am delighted that you felt so.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kindest Regards
Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    53
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
65
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed on a two day walking trip. Dinner, bed and breakfast. Food was outstanding and plentiful, just what you need to be set up for and then relax after a good day's walking. Convivial dining room, plenty of good real ales and a thriving local clientele. Stayed in the annexe room which had an excellent bathroom and was very comfortable. A good discovery in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Didn't see the others but the annexe was fine. Careful with the outside stairs though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went to the Harts Head Inn on Saturday 10th November in a party of 16. The service was excellent and the food, which was piping hot, was delicious. Every one of our party left feeling the same. Would definitely recommend going.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaOakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you are bringing a party of walkers into the Yorkshire Dales the Harts Head Inn is certainly a place to consider. The Inn had to accommodate our party of nine men for two nights and it did so brilliantly.

Right from booking until our leaving, the quality of service was excellent. Staff were always polite, friendly and willing to please. We all found our rooms clean and inviting and suitable to our needs.

We stayed on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package and the quality of the food, as well as the portions served met the needs of even the neediest amongst us. The service was speedy and all meals served met unanimously with our approval: the full English breakfast being especially popular.

What also delighted us was the way in which the inn seemed to have retained a traditional sense of a public house. A range of excellent real ales complimented the usual range of lagers and beers. Darts, pool and satellite TV were on offer and it was obviously a very popular place with the locals.

A great place to stay in the Dales.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anji105
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

On arrival bar was very busy so waited a few minutes for room keys , we were shown two rooms booked in our names and found them immaculately clean and warm . We were there for a family wedding and another couple were too who did not arrive till several hours after us . It turns out that my mother in law was in the wrong room she should have been in a single and not a twin . Which we only found out when we were at the wedding we were attending . We had no problem with swapping rooms but was shocked to find out that the other couple had been allowed to place their luggage in the room she was using which I class as a serious breach of privacy .In my opinion this is not acceptable . Especially as we barely knew the other couple .
Breakfast was very good . And apart from the privacy issue we overall had an enjoyable stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anji105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks for the review. We understand that privacy is an important part of the service we offer and are sorry that on this occasion you feel it was breached. On reflection, we would handle the situation differently in the future and hope this didn't spoil your visit too much. We're pleased that you otherwise enjoyed our hospitality and hope you enjoyed the wedding.

Best wishes,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Even though we arrived quite late, having cycled from Morecambe that afternoon, the welcome was warm and we were helped with putting our bicycles in a secure place and shown the way through a what seemed a maze of passageways under the pub into the bar area. Our meal was hot and there was plenty of it. The Room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast the next morning was also good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetJ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks for the review! So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Harts Head Inn was our first night's stay on the Way of the Roses cycle route. Myself and 2 friends had set off from Morecambe that morning and arrived in Giggleswick about teatime. We had been caught in a bit of a freak downpour that afternoon and were a little on the damp side upon arrival. As soon as we walked into the bar, the landlady was extremely welcoming, recognising that we were cyclists and were stopping the night, and promptly told us where we could take our bikes for safe storage overnight.

Once bikes were safely locked away, we were shown to our room which was a family room, lovely and clean, warm, spacious and well equipped. The landlady immediately asked if we needed anything drying and did so when I discovered that my change of clothes hadn't escaped the downpour.

After warming up we headed downstairs for a drink and some food. The bar had a really good atmosphere and the food was lovely - home cooked and hearty.

After a good night's sleep we headed downstairs for a cracking full English breakfast. Once fuelled up for the day, we settled our room bill and headed off on the next leg of our journey.

Thank you Barbara you are a super landlady and have great staff - you made us feel really welcome. How do you manage to be happy and polite all the time, even first thing in the morning?!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaroobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind comments. We always strive to give our very best customer service and my staff and myself are glad that this has been appreciated.Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Kindest Regards
Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.5 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
13.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harts Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harts Head Inn

Property: Harts Head Inn
Address: Belle Hill, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Giggleswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harts Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the stunning Yorkshire Dales, yet close to Settle and the A65, this historic owner-run Inn offers delicious homemade food, cosy log fires and free Wi-Fi and parking. Boasting a privileged position within the delightful village of Giggleswick, and with the scenic beauty of the Yorkshire Dales right on its doorstep, the inn is perfectly positioned for those wishing to explore the area. Independently owned and managed, guests can always expect a warm, personable welcome and a wonderful home-from-home atmosphere. Each of the 9 en-suite guestrooms are comfortable, inviting and come complete with everything one could need for a stress-free night's sleep. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms all of which feature free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Harts Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Head Hotel Settle
Harts Head Inn Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing