We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy pet friendly cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trish S
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautiful location with lovely views of The Dales. It was quiet even though quite near to a main road you really have to listen to hear any traffic. Cottage was clean and spacious for my husband and I plus our dog. Plenty of cutlery crockery saucepans etc. Central heating was preset to come on morning and evening making the cottage extremely warm and cosy. Good walks from the door on a public footpath through the hills to either Giggleswick/Settle or turning left instead of right to the small village of Fiezor (nice tea room & cake!) We especially enjoyed Ingleton Falls which is well worth the £6 entry fee & Malhamdale both beautiful areas for walks with the dog.

We would definitely return to this accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabaidh
Highland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for a week with the dogs”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a birthday present for my husband, and we stayed for a week in April with 2 dogs. The cottage was clean, quite and provided everything we needed for our stay. We did a lot of walking and visited friends and family whilst there and it all worked well. Nice outside seating in private area (weather permitting). Only 2 things I think would improve a stay there would be a larger kingsize bed (currently a double) and Wifi access. But then again this is just our personal preference. Nice walks from across the road, so no need to take the car every day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Holly Lodge and that your husband enjoyed his birthday present! We certainly hope you return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
01Paula2
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet with Brilliant Views”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just come back from a week at Holly lodge and we all loved our stay there. Our boys aged 15 and 11 enjoyed the large garden and exploring around the cottage .The garden is shared with two other holiday cottages on site but this really isn't an issue. The cottage is lovely inside very clean and cosy with great views from the large picture windows in the living room. The balcony from the main bedroom has great views and is so peaceful all you can hear is the munching of the sheep! The owner who lives on site was friendly and helpful and just left us to it and kindly let us take two dogs. There are great walks starting right across the road, we would have the dogs on their leads for about 2 minutes before letting them off to explore for miles, it was a lovely walk along the top of the hill to Settle and Giggleswick which took us about 50 minutes, we did this twice and never saw another sole! We went on great walks every day and were amazed as to how quiet the Yorkshire Dales are and the scenery is stunning. We will certainly book Holly Lodge again and again!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kazza003
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage for relaxing stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fantastic week at Holly Lodge, the cottage provided everything we needed. We had a small King Charles Cavalier dog with us and the freedom of being able to let her out in the grounds of Holly Lodge was one of the benefits. The walks were superb and the scenery was breathtaking.
Unfortunately our last two days were slightly disappointing as the residents from Willow Cottage had two very large dogs (One black and one white, German Shepard type dogs) on a few occasions they came up to the full length window menacingly looking in and growling, this made us weary of letting our dog outside and as this was one of the reasons we booked Holly Lodge, we were left disappointed we weren't able to have the freedom of our own cottage.
Holly Lodge is also deceiving regarding the land round about it, it is extremely close to Willow Cottage, but all in all the cottage is beautiful and well equipped for you stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was in a great location for walks and was excellent for taking the dog long walks over The Dales
Liked least: The closeness of the other cottages
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Reviewed 16 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing