We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book the twin room on ground floor. Noisy”

Tipperthwaite Barn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giggleswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tipperthwaite Barn B&B
Ranked #4 of 4 Giggleswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were more than impressed. It's immaculate and lovely. Great kitchen facilities, lounge and the bedroom (downstairs twin) was a higher standard than many hotels around the world.
We opted for the twin downstairs because we have 2 labs and the rule is dogs downstairs only as upstairs is carpeted. Totally agree with this. Our dogs do not sleep on furniture so we felt comfortable having them in the lounge with us and our bedroom at night.
The standard of bedding, amenities in room/bathroom, very high.
It's a lovely cottage style but separate from main house. Dawn and her husband brought us a lovely cooked breakfast to our kitchen where the table was set with juice,milk, fruit, cereals, jams and they offer full cooked which was bacon sausage egg tomato mushrooms. Very filling and delicious.
We were really impressed and my only negative comment is noise insulation.
We were downstairs in the twin and there was a couple in the double upstairs.
We had driven 6 hours so expected to sleep like logs. But sadly our night was restless :(
We could hear the couple each time they got up as the floor was very creaky and sadly he snored so we got to share that too.
I know his snoring is not Dawns fault but because of their movements across the floor it really is the only negative. It's a shame because it's a lovely place and furnished etc really well. My only suggestion would be to fix the creaky floor.
It would've been perfect if it had just been us.
As far as customer service, levels of expectation were exceeded. A lovely lovely place :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TNADZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Tipperthwaite Barn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here and were very impressed from the outset. Dawn met us a lovely warm welcome, gave us excellent local information and was great to chat with. Our room was beautiful with 2 stunning views across open countryside, one to Ingleborough Peak. The room was large, and very clean. The modern bathroom had a large, hot, easy to use shower to relieve our aching muscles after all our walking. We liked having use of the downstairs living area and kitchen. Breakfast was cooked to order and exactly what we wanted (not too much!).

An ideal B&B to explore the Yorshire Dales, especially for clilmbing the 3 Peaks. We want to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here with our teenage son in the twin room and we had the upstairs double room which was lovely with great views. Our dogs stayed downstairs in the lounge area which has a slate floor (useful!). We had to keep the sofas covered with bags so they didn't sneak up for a quick comfy snooze as that wasn,t allowed. It would not have been very relaxing for us if other guests had been staying here as we would have had to keep the dogs out of the way which would have been difficult. We found a lovely walk just across the road for their morning stretch and it had all the farm animals gated off so we could let them off the lead. Fortunately our dogs are ok around cats but the owner has had a previous bad experience so we did feel a bit on edge in case they tried to become too friendly with puss. Breakfast was freshly cooked to a high standard and the place was squeaky clean. It is a very nice place but you should only go if your dog is saintly and you are prepared to pay £15 a night each dog. Works very well if you are taking both rooms as it feels like a hme from home-although it appears that in high season you can be charged full room rate if just one person is in the twin room, I wasn,t expecting that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C, Owner at Tipperthwaite Barn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

When you made the reservation you requested both the double and the twin bedrooms,there was no request for single occupancy in either room.I also made it very clear at the time of booking what the rate is for dogs,also both beds in the twin bedroom had to be changed.After reading the comment that you wrote in my visitors book "we all enjoyed our comfy stay - thank you " I am surprised by this review from you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Okay, we were lucky. My wife and I stayed last week for 3 days and there were no other guests, so we had the maximum space to our selfs. But what a place it was!!! An en-suite with a terrace, goods bedrooms, a great shower and a lovely view over the hills an meadows. And most of all the very kind and warm hospitality of Dawn. We experienced that she does her utmost to comfort her guests. Thanks and we will return for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeesandAty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had an excellent stay here. We had stayed all over North Yorks on a cycling holiday and this was our last and best! It is a little way out but having a kitchen was a great plus and the views are beautiful. It is all very tastefully furnished and the breakfast was delicious. Not a thing to complain about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here with our 4 year old daughter for 2 nights. Its only a few minutes drive to giggleswick which is a beautiful village. The building is beautiful and there is a stunning view of the dales from every window. The living room and kitchen area is very handy to have access to as well as a washing machine. It was very clean and just felt so lovely and cosy. We should have stayed longer! I would say this is the best b and b we have stayed in in the uk. Would recommend the harts head in giggleswick for dinner as well if you stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend in Tipperthwaite Barn, the accommodation looks newly refurbed with a fully functional kitchen to use whenever you want. I especially liked the easy feel of the accommodation, you didn't feel the need to hide away in your bedroom, although the views from the view were unbelievable!
I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a break away.

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room, which was wonderful and unbelievable views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.6 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
0.7 mi away
Littlebank Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipperthwaite Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipperthwaite Barn B&B

Address: Tipperthwaite Barn Paley GREEN, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Giggleswick
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tipperthwaite Barn B&B Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing