We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great holiday in Yorkshire”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of SUNNYBECK COTTAGE

TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
VILLAGE SETTING VIEW FROM KITCHEN WINDOW
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
VILLAGE SETTING
VIEW FROM KITCHEN WINDOW
STUNNING LOUNGE
TRADITIONAL EXTERIOR
RELAX BY THE FIRE
WINDOW SEAT OVERLOOKING THE GARDEN
QUIRKY TOUCHES
LUXURY FURNISHINGS
DOGS WELCOME
BEAUTIFUL FURNISHINGS
LARGE MODERN KITCHEN DINER
LARGE DINING KITCHEN
MODERN APPLIANCES
MASTER KINGSIZE WITH EN-SUITE
2ND BATHROOM
TOWELS PROVIDED
FIRST SINGLE ROOM
2ND SINGLE
SUNNYBECK COURTYARD GARDEN
ONE OF OUR GUESTS
OUR LOCAL TUCK SHOP
LITTLE LAMBS
FAMOUS RAILWAY
LOCAL WALKS
SLEEPY GIGGLESWICK
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela A
Burnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great holiday in Yorkshire”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked a lovely cottage so close to Settle we could stroll into town by the beck running alongside the cottage. The owners couldn't have done more for us even when we had to change our arrival time at short notice.

The cottage is beautiful from the outside and thoroughly light, bright and modern in the inside. Great pub in the village with good food and service and we also used the lovely swimming pool 10 min walk from the cottage - a lovely bonus.

Thank you Carol and Steve. Loved the welcome hamper - how did you know to pick my favourite dessert as a wonderful sweet treat?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bright cottage
Liked least: Wished there was a sofa in the light filled extension so I could curl up and read as I loved the light and airy feel to the room
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sunnybeck and we hope to see you all again soon? A little bird told me you liked that pudding!!!

Take care

Carol and Steve (owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshi...
oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable well equipped cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage has been refurbished to a very high standard and is comfortable and well equipped. Everything has been provided for a relaxing holiday in a lovely environment. The village of Giggleswick is very pretty and it is a big advantage being close to the village pubs and shop and also within easy walking distance of the amenities of Settle. The area is very attractive with lots of lovely walks and places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very convenient location
Liked least: Limited drawer space in the bedrooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again in the future?

Regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlen
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a wonderful week in carol's fab cottage. The cottage was spotlessly clean, beautiful, and every home comfort. Carol was wonderfully helpful and nothing was too much trouble to make our stay with our little dog bonnie special. It felt so homely we felt quite upset leaving at the end of the week and have promised ourselves that we shall return. Everything was just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Carol was so helpful.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
Ahh thank you for your lovely review and I really hope you come and see us again with gorgeous Bonnie?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipiman
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for just 3 nights but that was long enough for us to appreciate the comfort and standard of this cottage.
It has been equipped and updated to a very high level and is a credit to the owner Carol.
We hope to return later in the year and would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the kitchen and bathrooms
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
Thank you for your review and I really appreciate people taking the time to write on TripAdvisor.

Take care and I hope to see you again soon?

Regards,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_dale...
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT GET AWAY”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Sunny Beck Cottage lived up to our expectatons, it was very clean and well presented. The beds were comfortable, good power showers and the central heating with gas fire kept us warm when the night turned chilly. Parking at the rear was easy and there was lovely walks from the side gate into the village and Settle. Our dog loved to romp on the large field just over the beck. There were plenty of places to eat and a ride on the Settle to Carlisle Railway was a pleasant outing. Everyone we met was friendy and helpful. The cottage owner Carol was very friendly and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. We will be returning again without a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fine I would score 10/10
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sunnybeck.
I hope to see you all again including Meg.

Regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8KateK
East Boldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Doggy Delight in the Dales!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Sunnybeck Cottage for a long weekend and none of us wanted to go home at the end of our stay. The cottage was gorgeous, set right beside a lovely little stream with ducks. Carol was lovely and made us feel really welcome - especially our 7 month old cockapoo puppy, George. This was George's first real holiday so we were a bit apprehensive about the whole thing - especially when we saw how immaculate the cottage was. However, Carol assured us the cottage was dog proof and even supplied a stair gate and dog crate so we didn't need to bring our own. Carol also showed us a fully enclosed field literally a one minute walk from the cottage - ideal for recall training for a puppy.
Settle was a dog-walker's paradise...we couldn't believe we were welcomed wherever we went. Most of the pubs allowed well-behaved dogs in the bar - we would highly recommend the Talbot Arms in particular. Carol's expert knowledge was very useful too - she also told us about the Lion in Settle where we had a good meal. Nothing was too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2013
Ahh thank you for your lovely comments and George is gorgeous!
He can return anytime with his well behaved owners!
I hope to see you again?

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
456Mark
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is a beautiful cottage with every little detail taken care of! Very high standards of decor and cleanliness! Lovely bed`s, great shower`s and the underfloor heating is amazing! Wonderful location and plenty to do and see locally. Our dog was made to feel really welcome and we will definately be returning! (If it isn`t booked up)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2013
Ahh thank you and so pleased that you and Stig enjoyed your stay?
I really hope to see you again?
Thank you for your review.

Carol (the owner).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing