We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
76
26
4
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
26
4
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsproper pubfriendly landlordsense of humourgreat foodquirky pubquick servicepiehidden gemhaddock and chipsweekend stayevening mealbeautiful villagepuddingwarm welcomevinnybeeryorkshire
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have stayed at the Black Horse on many occasions. We realy love it. Vinney and Sal are amazing and Vinneys dad Rod is a wee star. He always greets us with a lovely warm welcome and his wife Sue is lovely too. From the first time we stayed Rod gave me and my husband nick names and they have stuck all the years we have been going. This is a lovely little pub with nice rooms and realy good food. We love it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindilouedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from a weeks walking holiday, based in a rental cottage in Settle.

Having sampled the "delights" of the remaining pubs in Settle, I thankfully remembered the Black Horse from a visit several years ago. It became our watering hole for the week being well worth the walk from Settle and back.

It is a traditional pub which unfortunately is now a dying breed. The bars are immaculately clean and the service is excellent. The beer is kept superbly and the food is excellent value for money for large portions. The landlord Vince is good company and tells a mean joke. I honestly wished it was my local.

We did not get a chance to say goodbye, so if you do read this Vince, maybe see you again early next year from the fat bloke who works in Colchester and his Ginger and lime lady!! (thanks for that- is she getting some funny looks in Suffolk or what)

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gegsbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Great location in a lovely village and very traditional pub. Food was fantastic (especially the Steak and Ale pie) as is the beer (Timothy Taylors - Landlord outstanding!!). The wines is on tap so would suggest a bottle if you are fussy - or if your wife/partner is!!

Worth a very small detour of a mile from the A65 - you will not be disappointed and great value too.

Very homely and friendly - will be back and soon

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Starbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Black Horse is traditional British pub in which we for an evening in August whilst walking in the area.

The landlord, resident for 14 years at time of writing, was extremely friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Three good, well kept cask ales were served in the bar and the meals, both evening meal and breakfasts in the morning were very tasty, generous portions and piping hot - great pub grub.

The rooms were clean and perfectly adequate for what we wanted, and offered great value for money.

The church bells (St Alkelda's church is literally next door) may trouble light sleepers as they toll along with the clock, but we had no trouble.

All in all, a perfect base to explore the area. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to likeminded friends.

Room Tip: Just 3 rooms offering 2 x doubles and 1 x twin.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebor337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Old fashioned pub, bit off putting at first glance, however go in make yourself comfortable and enjoy well cooked, piping hot, tasty pub grub at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kentpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews