We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ales in the Yorkshire Dales”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giggleswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Giggleswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Ales in the Yorkshire Dales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had an excellent visit from start to finish. The rooms very clean and comfortable, food superb and a very well kept cellar.Hosts Vinny,Sal and Rod are very welcoming and showed great respect when dealing with our sensitive family gathering and looked after us well.
A great holiday stop close to the market town of Settle. Book early!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardscheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    18
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
240 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

The Black Horse is a traditional village pub tucked away in Giggleswick. We weren’t too impressed after our visit last year, but decided to give it another try this holiday. The food quality has definitely improved, and we all enjoyed our meal. The landlord is very friendly and efficient and always looks after the Timothy Taylor beer, and it was in great condition on our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Recently stayed in the area and happened across this fantastic pub for our evening meal. The menu was varied and our host, the landlord, very attentive. Food great value and the pub was of the traditional style. Only sorry it's not round the corner from where we live!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have stayed at the Black Horse on many occasions. We realy love it. Vinney and Sal are amazing and Vinneys dad Rod is a wee star. He always greets us with a lovely warm welcome and his wife Sue is lovely too. From the first time we stayed Rod gave me and my husband nick names and they have stuck all the years we have been going. This is a lovely little pub with nice rooms and realy good food. We love it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindilouedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from a weeks walking holiday, based in a rental cottage in Settle.

Having sampled the "delights" of the remaining pubs in Settle, I thankfully remembered the Black Horse from a visit several years ago. It became our watering hole for the week being well worth the walk from Settle and back.

It is a traditional pub which unfortunately is now a dying breed. The bars are immaculately clean and the service is excellent. The beer is kept superbly and the food is excellent value for money for large portions. The landlord Vince is good company and tells a mean joke. I honestly wished it was my local.

We did not get a chance to say goodbye, so if you do read this Vince, maybe see you again early next year from the fat bloke who works in Colchester and his Ginger and lime lady!! (thanks for that- is she getting some funny looks in Suffolk or what)

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gegsbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Great location in a lovely village and very traditional pub. Food was fantastic (especially the Steak and Ale pie) as is the beer (Timothy Taylors - Landlord outstanding!!). The wines is on tap so would suggest a bottle if you are fussy - or if your wife/partner is!!

Worth a very small detour of a mile from the A65 - you will not be disappointed and great value too.

Very homely and friendly - will be back and soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Black Horse is traditional British pub in which we for an evening in August whilst walking in the area.

The landlord, resident for 14 years at time of writing, was extremely friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Three good, well kept cask ales were served in the bar and the meals, both evening meal and breakfasts in the morning were very tasty, generous portions and piping hot - great pub grub.

The rooms were clean and perfectly adequate for what we wanted, and offered great value for money.

The church bells (St Alkelda's church is literally next door) may trouble light sleepers as they toll along with the clock, but we had no trouble.

All in all, a perfect base to explore the area. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to likeminded friends.

Room Tip: Just 3 rooms offering 2 x doubles and 1 x twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebor337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.6 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harts Head Inn
Harts Head Inn
#1 of 4 in Giggleswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Hotel

Property: The Black Horse Hotel
Address: 32 Church Street, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Giggleswick
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing