We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Horse Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Giggleswick
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Traddock(Austwick)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldon Country Hotel(Long Preston)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Golden Lion Hotel(Horton-in-Ribblesdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
72
24
4
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
24
4
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsproper pubfriendly landlordsense of humourhis wifequirky pubtucked awayhidden gemgreat foodwonderful visitcask alesrange roverpiehaddock and chipsweekend staykeep up the good worklovely villageprevious reviews
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Dropped in here on a Saturday evening for tea. Pub is set in the heart of the village next to a church. Beautiful location and surrounding scenery. Pub is very homely and traditional in style with copper trinkets all around. Landlord is very attentive and came over to us for a chat and asked us where we were from and so we felt very welcome. Food was excellent and menu lists all the favourites you'd expect in a traditional pub. We were ready to leave when suddenly a bloke started playing the piano and singing popular songs. Being a huge fan of the piano, we just had to stay and apparently he plays there quite often. This place was like stepping back in time and the piano added to that feeling of nostalgia. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiz324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

lovely and picturesque tucked in the corner by the old church in a beautiful little village. The owners and staff are very welcoming and friendly didn't eat there or stay but enjoyed a lovely evening with a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curtqed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had the perfect break here. The landlord and family staff were wonderfully friendly and attentive to our needs.
The food was good no nonsense fare well cooked and presented.
We can only envy the villagers who have this great pub on their doorstep,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After having a fantastic meal in Hearts Head Giggleswick we ventured down to the Black Horse for a few drinks. My Husband and I are from Liverpool and the Landlords Son thought he would try and be funny and start to extract the urine from "scousers". I have heard many jokes about scousers in the past (yours were not jokes) and take it on the Chin as all scousers do but I think he thought we had not heard any of these before "not" . His comments were very derogatory and very rude even our friends from Yorkshire were very embarrassed. I would LIKE YOU TO KNOW THAT I OWN MY OWN BUSINESS AND PAY 40% TAX most probably supporting someone you know on family tax credits. I have never claimed a penny off the government since the day I left school. You need to ferme la bouche. I am writing this now because I would not have lowered myself in front of your customers you need to attend a training course on customer relations!!!!!

Joanne & Colin
Lydiate, Merseyside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank QUIRKY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from yet another fabulous stay.lovely warm welcome from vinnie and sally.We stayed for one night after calling in on our way home from the lakes.It is such a traditional,friendly place that what more of a reason did we need to visit again.The food is amazing and plenty of it.What is lovely is that Vinnie and Sally remembered us from our last visit, even some of the locals sat at the bar.It really is like popping into your local.We will be calling in again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traypa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews