We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Country House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JWMW101
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
992 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Lovely Country House”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Spent two nights here with friends who were staying for the week. The property is set at the end of a road so no direct passing traffic. Brilliant views over the countryside. Well equipped kitchen and large communal rooms, plenty of outside space if you're lucky enough to have the weather to go with it. Hot water was plentiful, beds were comfortable a great place to get together with friends or relatives.

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic d
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

stayed here from Monday to Friday for friends 70th birthday and had a murder mystery night while we were there.the place was great ideal for large parties in our case 10.the house itself is full of charm.definatley worth a visit.lots of walks and close to settle (10mins) well recommended.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: situated in its own grounds
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inspclous...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay with friends”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this wonderful house for a friends 50th birthday.
There were 17 of us in total and the accommodation was very adequate in all aspects. Yes all the rooms weren't large doubles with en suite facilities , but we knew that before booking and drew straws as to who had which bathroom( we got a fantastic double with antique bath!). Everyone was happy with their rooms and as it was a long weekend the sleeping bit wasn't the most important.
The location is perfect for a group at the end of a quiet lane adjacent to woods. It was about a 10 minute walk to the nearest pub and paper shop or a short drive to Settle where there is a Booths supermarket ideal for stocking up on supplies.
It's also a perfect location for walking or cycling. We walked across well marked paths to Feizor a lovely little hamlet which had a very nice tearoom serving homemade cakes!
We stayed from Thursday to Sunday and hired local caterers in for 2 nights and had a bar meal on the other night.( the caterers we hired were sadly very lacking in style,taste and substance so I would recommend researching thoroughly before booking).
The decor is very quaint 1930/40s style with loads of space for down time in substantial living rooms/kitchen and dining room .
To summarise would certainly recommend this house for a group getaway. Although it is pricey shared between 17 of us it comes to about £230 per couple for 3 nights . There are neighbours so perhaps not for younger groups but we thoroughly enjoyed it .
Ps we took 3 dogs between us and there were adequate areas for the dogs to bed down etc.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of property
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret...
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What great house for a party”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent four days here for a birthday and murder mystery. Bedrooms all great, views exceptional . Had a great time, it is very easy to relax but if wanted the walks are wonderful. Many thanks to David.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanetteW...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A brilliant house and place to stay that suited our family gathering perfectly”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend break with 15 family members - ages from teenagers to grandparents. All have had a really lovely time from the perfect bedrooms, to the brilliant entertaining rooms. All facilities were exactly as we hoped - and more! Even cooking for 15 wasn't too hard with the brilliant kitchen (and a spare!) Nobody wanted to leave. We'd had a lovely relaxing few days that included a couple of local walks, lots of relaxing by the real fires & we even hosted our own Murder Mystery Party - the house was perfect for this! Many thanks to David for our brilliant holiday - we will definitely be returning (hopefully soon!)

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms were perfect for our family mix & choices of dining room, TV room & room for relaxing was brilliant.
Liked least: All great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_A_10...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with three other families for New Year - one of the best we have had. A period house with lots of charm, very comfortable, geared up for big groups - would go back without hesitation. Reminded me of staying at grandmas as a kid. Lovely location and views, the elder kids had a short walk to a pub where there was darts Etc.

Date of stay: January 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5768HAjo...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An amazing place to stay - all of us, from young to old, thoroughly enjoyed exploring the house and our weekend visit. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others looking to get away from it all. Many thanks to David and staff!

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.