We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Follow up visit”
Review of The Craven Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Craven Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

As stated on an earlier review, i will try and return and we did. Took my family this time and they were not disappointed.
I booked a room stating that we were coming up to look for some snow to go sledging. We arrived at about 1pm on Sat 4th Feb and it started snowing. The only thing was, it didnt stop!
Our 11 year old son spent the next 8 hours clearing the car park and the staff really looked after him with praise and soft drinks.
We ate in the restaurant that evening and thoroughly enjoyed it. The trio of pork was something else.
The room was ok(room 3). Cold on checking in but we were given an electric heater to help whilst the central heating got warmer. Love the refreshment tray in the room. Everything you needed including bottles of water. Under floor heating in the en-suites is a bonus especially in winter.
Full english breakfast cooked to perfection.
They even got a local to come in with a JCB and clear the car park of snow so we could get our cars out.
Overall, a lovely place to stay and eat.
Cant mark childrens activities because we didnt ask to use any and the outside play area was covered in snow so too dangerous to use.

Room Tip: Room 3 is ok. On the gound floor in the annex but in the back corner of the building so away from ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berkeleymorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

5 of us stayed at the Craven Arms for one night before our Yorkshire Dales Challenge. We were met with welcoming hospitality and a newly refurbished hotel and restaurant.
The restaurant atmosphere in the evening was vibrant yet also intimate and the menu and the food was faultless, the meat being sourced locally from the owners organic farm complemented by the chefs obvious talent.
The staff simply couldn't do enough for us, even coming in especially early in the morning to ensure we had hot sausage and bacon sandwiches before we set off on our challenge.
In summary, a comfortable room at a reasonable price, exceptional food and a friendly Yorkshire welcome from people that were proud of their hotel going above and beyond to ensure their guests enjoyed their stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My partner and I wanted a peaceful night away close to the 3 peaks so that we could enjoy some fresh air and hiking. We chose Craven Arms after looking on Trip advisor and were not disappointed. Lovely friendly atmosphere , pleasant and helpful staff , clean and comfortable accomodation and delicious food. We ate in the restaurant on the evening and the menu was fantastic. Presentation , taste and value could not be questioned and the waitresses really looked after us. The cooked breakfast didnt disappoint with everything sourced from a local farm. It was a truely relaxing stay and I would highly recommend it for anyone that wants a comfortable , quality and enjoyable break in the dales

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

3 of us stayed here on the last of 6 nights whilst walking 170 miles for charity. From the outside, i expected a small country pub style place with nooks and real fires and farmers sitting round tables smoking pipes!. What a massive surprise when we walked into a very modern chic looking place. Obviously recently refurbished to a very high standard that you would expect in some big city restaurant. The staff were very pleasant as were the locals that came in later that evening for a darts match. They even put their hands in their pockets when we rattled our charity buckets under their noses.
Rooms also very modern with decent showers. Beds very comfy.
Breakfast was great even though the plate was a bit oversized. The full english looked lost even though there was everything on there.
I am checking my calendar to see when i can take my wife and go and stay and have a meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Berkeleymorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This review is based just on the restaurant (we stayed in the fantastic Broad Croft House b&b in Horton-in-Ribblesdale which I've given the 5-stars here for). The food here is excellent with a good choice for meat-eaters and veggies. We don't eat meat and found the meat-free options to be top-quality and creative with a good choice. One of the best things about this eatery is that they do a good selection of half-portions for mains meaning that if you don't want to either be over-full or have to leave something, you can still enjoy a starter and a smaller main to sample the good quality they offer. Very good value and highly recommend this place for food. What it might lack in atmosphere is more than made up for with the food and the excellent service from the subtly attentive staff. Would probably do better if they advertised more a restaurant with accommodation rather than the other way around. Much better than any of the other places we tried for food over four days in the Settle area; there are a lot of pricey but very indifferent places around but this wasn't one of them.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarpetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed for three nights with friends on a touring holiday. Ideal location for the Settle area where there is not a huge amount of accomodation. Excellent restaurant in a very contemporary setting. Good food, including superb breakfast. Real Ale was a bonus. I won't pretend the rooms are luxurious but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. The only downside was traffic noise from the A59 so keep the windows closed. Overall, excellent. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonandBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed at The Craven Arms for 3 nights. After a friendly welcome found our room no3 to be quite smelly. Thought it needed airing as seemed musty but smell didnt go all the time we were there. Dissappointed that the room was not made up / poor house keeping.
no beds made and no change of towels throughout our stay.
Staff friendly and breakfast OK. Bed very confortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kev_porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
521 reviews
6 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
628 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
5.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Arms

Address: Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly free house with real ales, great food & eight letting rooms. The Craven Arms is situated in the Yorkshire Dales on the edge of the beautiful village of Giggleswick & near the popular market town of Settle. The Craven Arms is the perfect base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland & ideally placed for guests wishing to take up 'The Three Peaks Challenge'. Other popular activities include road & mountain biking, caving, climbing & paragliding. Giggleswick station is a two minute walk away & Settle station being the start of the famous & picturesque Settle to Carlisle line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craven Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Arms Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing