We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganised”
Review of The Craven Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Craven Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon at The Craven Arms, which is situated some way out of Giggleswick proper - right on the A65. We enjoyed a less-than fulsome welcome from a young lady who it transpired had been working there less than a week and had seemingly been left in charge of the place. We were led through a strange-smelling annexe to a room right out of the back of the property that seemed more like a cell than a B&B room. Road noise was considerable and the room was frankly depressing so we eventually asked to be moved. After discussions with the landlord we were offered an upstairs room that was smaller but at least had a view of the main road and some light. The smell of air fresheners hung heavy in the air, masking something nastier-smelling. The bedding was not ready but as we were going out to a wedding reception for the evening we didn't mind as the landlord assured us that the bed would be made and the travel cot from our previous room would be brought up and placed in the new room. We left the place on that basis. Upon our return at around 2330 we were all tired and ready for bed. Imagine our surprise that the promises of bedding and travel cot were false. When requesting an explanation from the landlord (when he had finished serving all the locals left in the bar) he refused to take any responsibility, blaming 'the girls' that he had asked to sort out the room for him. We then went through the farcical situation of the landlord and one of 'the girls' putting the bedsheets on around us as we prepared baby for bed. Once we had the room back to ourselves we then were kept up at night with the conversation from another room coming through the walls. The next morning's breakfast was served in a friendly manner though was pretty average. The landlord was nowhere to be seen, leaving it to us to check out and to try and obtain a discount for the frankly pathetic performance the previous night. We were offered a paltry £10 off our bill. I'm assuming from the reviews and the excuses the landlord gave us that these are teething problems of a new regime at this pub, but it just isn't acceptable. Bed and breakfast is pretty simple; if at least one of those two isn't working then there's really not much hope...!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peelthestain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick Y, Owner at The Craven Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review of The Craven Arms.
We are very sorry your visit fell below your expectations and we would be happy if you would like to visit again and show you that we have over come any teething problems we had in our first 2 weeks.
We always try to help our guests with their requests and your very late request to change rooms was not handled as well as we would have hoped.

We are always speaking with our staff to ensure they know correct procedures for all eventualities and although I was not available when you were checking out I could have been with you within 5 minutes had you asked. We have told all staff in future to call us if any of our guests is at all dissatisfied.

We have not had any other negative feed back with the room you were first shown and the noise during the night you mention was a member of your party who was drunk and being disruptive.
This is the only incident we have ever had of this kind and we would hope this is the last as we are a family establishment.
If you would like to discuss your stay I am always available to go over your issues and would actively welcome the opportunity, I can be reached on 01729 825627.
Regards
Nick Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as we wanted to be close to Settle station. We had a spacious room with an ensuite shower and lovely toiletries. The room was slightly noisy as it faced a main road but there was no traffic at night so our sleep was not disturbed. The property is a pub and restaurant and breakfast was served in the restaurant area. Breakfast was as expected but we missed having any fruit on offer. We believe the food in the restaurant is good but we didn't eat there as we wanted to investigate Settle. It as a mile or so to Settle and Giggleswick so we did need the car in the evening. We enjoyed the Settle to Carlisle railway journey then went back to Ribblehead Viaduct the next day to see it from below - amazing structure, very impressive. The countryside of the Yorkshire Dales is beautiful. The Craven Arms met our needs. It was very clean and the owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelley9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Wonderful hospitality at the Craven Arms during the past 2 days spent with friend This was our second visit and the experience was even better than our 1st.Food and overall hospitality cannot be faulted. Every success to you all at the Craven Arms in the future you deserve it. Brian & Margaret E.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We found this hotel on Bookings.com..... It is a fabulous place to stay, very handy for Settle, Mallam and surrounding area ..... Breakfast was really good and the room was clean and comfy . Ian the host is really nice and helpful..... The bar and restaurant area have been fully renovated and has been done to a great standard ..... Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

well done craven arms. splendid place to stay, stayed for 2 nights staff went over backwards to make us welcome on a rainy afternoon with not a lot to do. room seven having a large double bed and nice views.breakfast was fab on both mornings, and we ate there of an evening the food was nicely presented piping hot and served well.we also ate at lunch time food was just as good.

Room Tip: room seven good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helena662777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here for one night with my brother and a friend whilst we were on a short mountainbike riding holiday 12th,13th and 14th October.
the welcome we received on the sunday night was very warm after a hard days riding in the lake district and a bit of a drive to the Craven Arms, so to sit and sample some of the excellent local beers on arrival was fantastic !
Nick even let us bring our bikes in to the pub for safe storage overnight, a great weight of your mind i can tell you, thanks Nick !
Our room was comfortable and clean and the food we had for dinner was out of this world..... have the fish pie, it was amazing !!

I will try and come back as soon as possible.

regards

simon

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Firstly, this place should not be classified as an 'Inn' This conjures up images of chicken in basket and sawdust on the floor. The Craven Arms is much much more. Eaten here twice now once in November last year and again last week.

On our first visit we stayed over, the breakfast was top notch and cooked to order. On both occasions we ate at the restaurant in the evening. Last year was excellent however this year was outstanding. There were 4 of us, all ate different starters, mains (and then desserts, despite being stuffed we couldn't resist.) Our favourites were the Salt Beef Wellington & Pork cooked 3 way. Alex's famous Tiramisu had me at the first spoonful.

Service was very attentive, yet not overly so. Very reasonably priced for such high quality food, and the wine list doesn't break the bank either

We will return again and again. Well worth the 1:30 drive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
355 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
507 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
9.8 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
18.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Arms

Address: Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly free house with real ales, great food & eight letting rooms. The Craven Arms is situated in the Yorkshire Dales on the edge of the beautiful village of Giggleswick & near the popular market town of Settle. The Craven Arms is the perfect base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland & ideally placed for guests wishing to take up 'The Three Peaks Challenge'. Other popular activities include road & mountain biking, caving, climbing & paragliding. Giggleswick station is a two minute walk away & Settle station being the start of the famous & picturesque Settle to Carlisle line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craven Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Arms Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing