We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly service”
Review of The Craven Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Craven Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

An excellent meal where the food was outstanding but not the biggest of menu choices but we were able to find something for everyone.
Kids eat for free which was a surprise bonus on arrival.
Good friendly staff and peroni on tap.
Would defiantly return

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank polamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven-Arms-Settle, Owner at The Craven Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of The Craven Arms.
We strive to ensure that we satisfy all of our guests and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Nick Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Thanks Nick for the warm welcome and the great breakfast this morning. Next time we are staying in the area we will book here. Still full off that breakfast. Great choice of local beers. Wish we could have tried the restaurant but it was closed for its winter break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timbertoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on a Saturday in January.
The hotel is right next to the A65, so the rooms do have some traffic noise. It is only a 5 minute drive into Settle.
Our room was a family room (number 3). It is spacious and has a double bed made of 2 single beds connected together. A fold up single bed is also provided.There is a small ensuite shower room with electric shower. The room was very clean. Although fairly basic, the room represents very good value (£65 including breakfast.)
As has been mentioned before, the hotel restaurant is superb. The food we had was excellent quality, served piping hot (quite rare these days) and again very reasonably priced. We shared Moules Mariniere as a starter and it was pretty close to perfection.
All in all, thoroughly recommended for a night or two, maybe after a walk in the outstandingly beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJM_of_LS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on a Saturday in January.
The hotel is right next to the A65, so the rooms do have some traffic noise. It is only a 5 minute drive into Settle.
Our room was a family room (number 3). It is spacious and has a double bed made of 2 single beds connected together. A fold up single bed is also provided.There is a small ensuite shower room with electric shower. The room was very clean. Although fairly basic, the room represents very good value (£65 including breakfast.)
As has been mentioned before, the hotel restaurant is superb. The food we had was excellent quality, served piping hot (quite rare these days) and again very reasonably priced. We shared Moules Mariniere as a starter and it was pretty close to perfection.
All in all, thoroughly recommended for a night or two, maybe after a walk in the outstandingly beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJM_of_LS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This is the third time I have visited the Craven Arms. The previous two visits had encouraged my wife and I to see in the New Year, to see what it had to offer.

The atmosphere as always was welcoming and friendly throughout. Every single member of staff said hello on meeting you. Any little inconvenience was always apologised for.

The 6 course meal was started with canopies, absolutely wonderful trout. This was the beginning of an incredible meal. The beef wellington was gorgeous and as for the dessert - my wife will be coming back simply for the white chocolate cheesecake. For £49.95 per person it was the bargain of the year.

The accommodation was the same as usual, although this time we were extremely grateful for the under floor heating in the bathroom.

Just a big thank you for Nick and Beccs, who have made us feel so welcome. We will certainly be back again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank rhurst55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at the Craven Arms with a fellow cycling club member for the 3 Peaks cycle-cross in September 2013. It was spot on - Nick and Rebecca (the proprietors) are very sympathetic to cyclists needs and sorted bike storage, early breakfast and a ready supply of bike parts via 3 peaks cycles in Settle. The room was comfortable, quiet and restful, whilst the food and drink was nothing short of excellent. With the Tour De France passing next year and more three peaks on the horizon, we'll be back!

Room Tip: If bringing bikes, let the Craven Arms know in advance - they're likely to offer you something c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the Cravens Arms for two nights 13th/14th December 2013. We had booked through booking.com and hadn't really expect that much for a pub B&B. I couldn't have been more wrong, from the minute we arrived Nick the owner couldn't do enough for us. We were fitted in for a late dinner even though they were chattering for 70+ people having there christmas party.

The food was absolutely brilliant and I would rate the fillet steak amongst the best I have ever had. The rooms although not huge had everything you would want and we're very clean and comfortable.

Nick even ran me up to collect my car on the Sunday to save me getting a taxi, a very nice thing to do. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldeacon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
517 reviews
6 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
5.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
566 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Arms

Address: Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Price Range: £58 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly free house with real ales, great food & eight letting rooms. The Craven Arms is situated in the Yorkshire Dales on the edge of the beautiful village of Giggleswick & near the popular market town of Settle. The Craven Arms is the perfect base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland & ideally placed for guests wishing to take up 'The Three Peaks Challenge'. Other popular activities include road & mountain biking, caving, climbing & paragliding. Giggleswick station is a two minute walk away & Settle station being the start of the famous & picturesque Settle to Carlisle line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craven Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Arms Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing