We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Craven Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Craven Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the craven arms and it won't be our last. We stayed in room six witch is a large clean room with large bed. We ate at the pub in the evening and found the food to be really good quality at reasonable price. We found the breakfast in the morning to be one of the best we have had. This is a great place in good location and friendly staff

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    82
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
60
135
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Having booked the Craven Arms based on a recommendation from a colleague, we met with some friends for my wife's special birthday. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and very welcome. Everything about our stay was superb, the accommodation, the food and, above all, the staff. It is refreshing to receive such good customer care and attention to detail. Our compliments to Nick and his team. Many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryB559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Thanks to the lovely staff for a fantastic meal. 2 courses for £15 on a Sunday and my kids ate free.
The food was fresh and very tasty.
A must try us the gluten free chocolate pudding. A chocolate lovers heaven
Will return for definite

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank polamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The restaurant produced excellent evening and lunchtime food. It was faultless. Tasty and well presented. The quantities were good but filled with tasty well prepared food and quality ingredients.
Staff and proprietor couldn't do enough for you. Always helpful and friendly. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had been allocated a double. But as not a couple we preferred a twin room so moved. This room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineTodmorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

would like to say what a warm welcome and excellent staff , breakfast was amazing filled us up for the days walking. warm rooms with very comfatable beds . Would recommend anyone to stay had a lovely break good choice

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverbird69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

It was our first trip to the Craven Arms in Giggleswick and we could not have been made to feel more at home. The staff were extremely friendly, the food was excellent and our room was very comfortable. We will be returning shortly - great place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviamurray2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just spent the last weekend here, spotlessly clean, lovely food and the owner, Nick and the rest of the staff couldn't do enough to make us feel so welcome. The trad beer in the bar was also first class and great value. We were in room 6 with a HUGE comfy bed and a bonus was the underfloor heating in the en suite !!
First class breakfast using all produce from the local butcher, lovely.
We are so looking forward to going back and as it's dog friendly our Lab can come too !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gozzzaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
479 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Arms

Property: The Craven Arms
Address: Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly free house with real ales, great food & eight letting rooms. The Craven Arms is situated in the Yorkshire Dales on the edge of the beautiful village of Giggleswick & near the popular market town of Settle. The Craven Arms is the perfect base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland & ideally placed for guests wishing to take up 'The Three Peaks Challenge'. Other popular activities include road & mountain biking, caving, climbing & paragliding. Giggleswick station is a two minute walk away & Settle station being the start of the famous & picturesque Settle to Carlisle line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Craven Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Arms Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing