We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of The Craven Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Craven Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Craven Arms for 5 nights, everything was perfect. The room was spotlessly clean, the refreshment tray was replenished every day, Underfloor heating in the bathroom will be very welcome in the colder months. Breakfast really was fantastic, cooked freshly to order every morning with a good choice of cereals etc too. Dinner was excellent, so much so that friends who were staying 40 minutes away in Grassington joined us for dinner every evening in the Craven Arms! Not only does the food taste amazing, it is beautifully presented and fresh local produce used. The Beef Wellington is brilliant, the Trio of Pork, Steak sandwich........well everything is fantastic and the desserts..... seriously yummy! Everything was beautiful. Nick, Becky and staff made us so welcome and we even got to cuddle Penny, The Craven Arms St Bernard :) We are looking forward to staying again, just hope you can fit us in! Lovely comfy sofas and chairs in the bar perfect to relax and unwind with a drink while reading the paper or a book. Thank you again for a really lovely stay Lynn and Lester xxx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    83
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
60
135
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Craven Arms for a wedding that we went to in Settle. We were made very welcome when we arrived at the hotel and made use of the lovely sitting area where newspapers and magazines are provided.
Room was really comfortable and spacious with good facilities.
The full English the next day was delicious. We didn't have an evening meal there but wish we had of done as that too looked great.
Only reason for 4 stars rather than 5 is that our key to get in to the hotel at night didn't work so we had to wake the owner up to let us in, however he was very apologetic about it the next day over breakfast, really nice guy.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meshellawella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here just after the new owners took over and meant to write a review then. Our stay was great. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff were really friendly and helpful, if we were to go back to Yorkshire I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent food, beer and service. Modern looking bar and dining room. Views to surrounding hills. Good range of local beers and ales. All staff friendly and helpful. I eat the unusual beetroot and sorrell cheesecake for my main meal and it was delicious. The desserts looked fab but alas I was too full to try one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, North East Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Recently stayed for two days, staff very friendly and helpful, room was clean and fresh, bathroom a bit small. Food was delicious, just think they need to seperate meals from main dining room and bar. Prices in bar seemed a bit expensive.

Area was beautiful, plenty to do and see in surrounding areas depending on what you want. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Very family friendly and allowed pets, all very welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have rated this hotel as excellent principally because of the service and food. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was clean with the nice touch of underfloor heating. Menu was imaginative and food was very good for both breakfast and dinner. There are a few issues, however. The Booking.com photograph shows the hotel sitting the middle of a field ostensibly in the countrysideThis is correct, but because of the way the photo has been taken, it does not show that it is on the A65, a busy highway. Cleaning of the rooms was not well done - glasses removed not replaced, no soap. Parking is off the street and is secure

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Let me say immediately that my only real criticism is that bed! It was a twin room with the narrowest of single beds and somewhat hard! Others in our party of 6 had no such similar complaint. The rooms were clean and reasonably well equipped.
We were warned that we couldn't eat dinner at the hotel because they had an event. Breakfast was good and the service was fine.
For me it's just a shame that one is provided with a BEDroom where the main item is so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U3A2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
480 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Arms

Property: The Craven Arms
Address: Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly free house with real ales, great food & eight letting rooms. The Craven Arms is situated in the Yorkshire Dales on the edge of the beautiful village of Giggleswick & near the popular market town of Settle. The Craven Arms is the perfect base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland & ideally placed for guests wishing to take up 'The Three Peaks Challenge'. Other popular activities include road & mountain biking, caving, climbing & paragliding. Giggleswick station is a two minute walk away & Settle station being the start of the famous & picturesque Settle to Carlisle line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Craven Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Arms Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing