We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nearly a five!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burythorpe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“nearly a five!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay at Burythorpe house. The staff were excellent, attentive and considerate. The room was v nice, a refurbished bathroom and a good, comfy bed (I think the mattresses need changing as their is a 'dished' effect in the beds from all of the people who have slept here). We had the evening meal which was three courses and v good. The wine list was extensive and good value. Breakfast was included which again was very good. If I had a tiny niggle about the breakfast it would be that it was all waitress service and no buffet. You are therefore dependant on the speed of the staff and the busyness of the room in order to get tea, coffee, orange juice, cereals etc etc. Not a huge problem but meant we were forever asking for little things which we could have more easily got ourselves. Please do not be put off by this as the staff were excellent. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnHairyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    122
    40
    28
    9
See reviews for
44
372
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in the hotel last week. Between booking and staying I had an accident and broke my leg so rang the hotel to check the location of our room. The staff could not have been more helpful and considerate and went out of their way to accommodate us. When we arrived they were concerned and sympathetic ensuring we were both comfortable. The hotel was originally a Victorian Vicarage and is in an idyllic setting providing the perfect place for a tranquil and relaxing stay. Our room (Easby) had only recently been renovated and was superb, spacious with large bay window, a comfortable sleigh bed and beautiful well fitted bathroom. The meal in the evening was as good as anywhere we have eaten including restaurants with Michelin stars. Likewise for breakfast where we had a wide choice of high quality dishes using locally sourced produce. The staff combined warmth with professionalism which all helped to make this the perfect stay. We sincerely hope this will only be the first of many visits.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for a recently renovated room for the perfect stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

my friend and I visited Burythorpe house for Afternoon tea!! we were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us into a beautiful lounge. prosecco arrived perfectly chilled,follwed by tea.....i politely requested if it was possible that we could have our sandwhiches made without butter(as i have a slight dairy intollerance ) and this is where i found myself getting some very unhelpful and an uncalled for reply from this lady, who informed me that our sandwhiches had already been made( we were informed that they were all made in one go in the morning as they very busy and did loads of afternoon teas every day) and if i wanted them without butter i should have rung up in advance and requested that!!! i eventually relented and asked if the so called chef could scrape out the fillings and just put them into plain bread ,that would be ok!!!I we were beginning to wish we hadn,t bothered to find what we thought was a hidden gem....our sandwhiches arrived and looked delightful....plenty of choice Fab!!!but once we got into them found out there wasn,t much filling in any of them except the brie ones where it had been sliced about 1/2 inch thick!!!
got to say the scones were lovely!!! cakes i,m not convinced they home made.......having spent over 30 years in the catering industry most of it as a self employed outside caterer ...i,m not impressed !!!!Ive visited lots of establishments and eaten a lot of afternoon teas this was not worth the money we payed for it.....I always remember being told that " the customer is king" and you only get one chance to create a good impression!!!!! i suggest the management takes a trip to Malton and visits The Talbot!!! the al round experience there will teach you how it SHOULD be done!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed on a Travelzoo voucher and overall had a lovely stay at Burythorpe. We were given Rivaulx room, overlooking the fields and garden. A large comfortable, clean room. The hotel is obviously having some major renovation done and Rivaulx has not yet been upgraded. The furnishings are looking tired and the bathroom certainly needs upgrading. However, the comfortable bed and lovely outlook made up for it. Others staying said the upgraded rooms were superb. The hotel is situated in a quiet country lane, there is a small village nearby but the local pub has recently been closed. Staff are very friendly & helpful.

We dined at the hotel and overall the meal was good. A small varied menu to suit all tastes. Scallops and blackpudding to start with were fresh and well cooked. I had lamb for main but unfortunately it was rather overcooked despite asking for it pink. My partners plaice was good, but the sauce was so overpowering with garlic that it smothered the taste of the fish.

Breakfasts are delicious. Eggs, bacon, sausage all locally sourced. Large portions to set you up for the day.

When Burythorpe is finally renovated it will be lovely, but they probably won't do Travelzoo deals then! Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent a night at Burythorpe with friends, which is situated in a very peaceful village.
The room we were given was Rosedale on the ground floor, the beds were very comfortable
And we enjoyed a good nights sleep .we understand the hotel is going through a renovation
Stage but more attention needs to be given to the fixtures and fittings in the bedrooms.
The lounges and dining room were comfortable, the dinner and breakfast were very good as were
The serving staff. Pictures in the dining room completely out of character .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank butterfly304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The renovation programme of this hotel, including leisure facilities, is extensive but not intrusive. The redecoration of our room was still unfinished (bare plaster), but this didn't annoy as much as the shattered basin, broken bathroom light shade and the black bath mould. The absence of bedside reading lamps also put a damper on the quality of relaxation. Such a shame - and completely puzzling - that the hotel management haven't addressed these things, as the room and bathroom could have been great.
Food at dinner was just okay: certainly a long way from "to die for" as one reviewer claims.
Good points demonstrate the strong potential this hotel has: peaceful location, comfortable drawing rooms, and good waiting staff. The building itself is charming and its secluded location offers complete tranquillity. If you want a cosy country retreat without fine dining, this could be for you: but bring your own lamps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Treated my husband for his birthday to a nights stay in this fantastic find of a hotel. I can only reiterate what everyone else has said. Beautiful peaceful setting, evening meal was to die for and breakfast superb. The day we left we had a problem with our car which meant we had to call a breakdown service. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty, bringing us coffee while we waited and would not take any payment for it. It made a stressful situation more bearable. The break was booked through Travelzoo so was excellent value for money. We had a slight problem with our radiator not working in our room, which was Rosedale on the ground floor, but they quickly delivered a portable heater as they could not immediately rectify the problem, which did the trick.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burythorpe
4.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
15.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
21.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Property: Burythorpe House
Address: Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Adam Richardson produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House Malton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing