We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat”
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Burythorpe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the ideal stop over to enjoy the peace and quiet of a country house slightly off the beaten track. The room was very well appointed, food beautifully cooked and presented with most staff being polite and attentive. Burythorpe House provides a tranquil environment to relax and savour the wonders of the Yorkshire countryside. 3 miles away is the market town of Malton which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but the superior rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    126
    40
    28
    9
See reviews for
48
389
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked a prosecco afternoon tea through Groupon in this lovely looking, if a little hard to find hotel. First impressions were good, greeted and shown to the room swiftly and the waitress was lovely.

There was plenty of choice of sandwich fillings which were good, however a bit of cross contamination had taken place (pickle on the side of salmon sandwiches, obviously cut by the same knife). The cakes and scones were on the small side, dry and not overly tasty. Shame, as the whole thing could have been so much better.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Soldiering_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

On our arrival at the hotel, our first impression was that the decor and general furnishings were "a little tired' and needed some basic repair and maintenance. We stayed in the Jervaulx luxury room which was very spacious. We would describe the bathroom as requiring a little attention but overall we were pleased with the room and the view over the fields. The hotel is currently undergoing some major work to the gym and swimming pool which did not interfere with our stay at all.The staff were very helpful and attentive. The food was absolutely delicious and the menu changed daily. The breakfasts likewise were varied and plentiful. Very good value.

The only negative for us was that on our final evening a very young child (12ths?) was in the restaurant (which is small, intimate and atmospheric) and the parents had to try to keep the child amused by walking the child through the restaurant several times. I like children, I have grandchildren, but allowing very young children at 8.30pm in the evening in the restaurant which we considered an adult domain is something the hotel should consider for other guests in the future in my view. No mention is made on the hotel's website that young children are welcomed at all times?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Only spent one night here on Travelzoo offer but it was very relaxing. Staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. Our room was recently refurbished and there was lots of room and bathroom had a large bath and separate shower. Food at dinner was delicious and a good choice with excellent wine list. Overall a very peaceful and relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliemoo255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Like most of the guests we stayed here on the Travelzoo deal and what an amazing deal it was. The food was delicious and could not be faulted and it made a pleasant change to be served breakfast rather than have a buffet bun fight.
The staff are second to none so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for the guests.
Thanks to Lesley we had a wonderful day touring so many sights we would never have know about had it not been for her local knowledge.
Equally kind were Sarah Alison Myka and Luke who we had lovely lengthy chats with. Don't know the chefs name but huge compliments to him or her this really is fine dining.
As has been mentioned there is a huge refurbishment being undertaken sadly we were not in a room that had been updated but the whole place will be beautiful when it is complete I just hope it won't be out of our price range once the pool and tennis courts and put in to play.
To anyone hoping to visit The Bay Horse Pub In the village once connected to the hotel it is now sadly closed.
A big thank you to everyone at Burythorpe we had a perfect couple of days and look forward to a return visit and seeing you all again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SprogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just spent three nights at Burythorpe house on a Travelzoo offer and what a lovely, charming hotel it is. As others have said, there is a refurbishment programme in place but it does not distract from the hotel. We stayed in Byland and it was spacious and comfortable with a huge bathroom. Lovely comfortable bed and pillows. Wonderful views over the fields. There was a huge choice for breakfast all beautifully prepared but the 3 course dinner was superb. Choices included guinea fowl stuffed with leeks and mushrooms, venison, duck, lamb, beef, fish etc. The hotel is in a beautiful village with lots of lovely walks close by, with the Yorkshire moors, Whitby and York all easily accessible. Best of all though is the lovely, happy wonderful staff. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlingpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed one night in the Rievaulx suite which was spacious and comfortable but is in need of a little refurbishment but this did not detract from it's charm. The jewel in the crown was the restaurant food which was delicious. A wide choice of freshly prepared local ingredients which were well presented tasted great and the food was piping hot. Both breakfast and the evening meal could not be bettered and it was nice to have service at the table rather than the proverbial luke warm buffet breakfast!
The pool and spa are currently being refurbished and these can only add to what is a beautiful setting for Burythorpe House. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gp1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burythorpe
3.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
501 reviews
15.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
977 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
615 reviews
11.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Property: Burythorpe House
Address: Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Adam Richardson produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House Malton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing