We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great staff, fabric of the buidling needs work!”
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burythorpe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed her to meet my brother and his wife for a couple of days. We were in a room on the first floor and they had a room and the second floor.

Our room was large with a king size bed, ample seating drink making, TV. etc. The en-suite was also large with a big bath, separate shower etc and quality toiletries.
Our room was comfortable and had all you need however it was a bit tired and could do with an update. My brothers room on the second floor had clearly been updated since ours so was large and not as tired.

We stayed on a deal so had dinner, bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were full English and very good. The dinners were from a short menu which changed daily. The meat and fish was, I am told good. My vegetarian main was the same both days so i asked for an alternative and was offered a choice, I went of the risotto which was delicious.To complement they had a good wine list with a range of prices.

The staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

They advertise free WiFi throughout but this did not get to the second floor rooms.

There was building work being undertaken on the spa/swimming pool which was closed. we were aware of this and there was no disturbance from the work.

We would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was the most spacious and had WiFi however the second floor rooms were m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Unusally we left booking our anniversary break till the last minute, due to a number of family issues and it wasn't till the day we travelled 2nd August that we booked this 2 night stay.

Fantastic! We stayed in the Kirkham room on the 3rd floor with dual aspect. The room was superb with a large bathroom and shower, it could do with a paint refresh ( but guess what the 3rd floor rooms are being renovated starting this week so they will be even better then)

We had Dinner, Bed and Breakfast every meal was spot on with a good selection and the evening meal menu was changed each night. Wine list is also great starting at £22.

Service throughout was fantastic and all staff were very welcoming and made you feel at home.

So if you want a quiet hideaway with good food - look no further!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house would be my joice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here 25 years ago - what a surprise when it popped up as a Travelzoo offer, we couldn't resist - it exceeded our expectations, FAB dinner menu & superb breakfast - even the kippers were aroma free & were excellent, so was the full English.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Burythorpe House hotel last week and couldn't fault it in any way. The accommodation, the food, the service and the friendliness of staff were wonderful. The house was originally a gentleman's country residence and it has been sympathetically restored with high class fixtures and fittings. The swimming pool is currently being renovated and will be lovely when completed. The owners offer wedding packages and there will be lots of very lucky brides to be, who celebrate their special occasion at Burythorpe.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, which is set in the midst of gorgeous Yorkshire countryside.

Room Tip: We stayed in Easby room, which was at the front of the house and quite large with a lovely en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lavendarblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Came here on my birthday for afternoon tea and I am so pleased we picked this hotel. The staff were friendly, the afternoon tea was excellent ( and a glass of prosecco) and the location is lovely. I would definitely consider here for a weekend away

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lozgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A fantastic stay in a lovely hotel in a beautiful part of North Yorkshire. Hotel, food & staff were all excellent. Great food, lovely clean accommodation and all bar none of the staff were extremely helpful & friendly throughout. They truly could not have done enough for us. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed overnight on a Travel Zoo deal, excellent value. Beautiful setting, quality hotel, our room Easby was newly refurbished, just fabulous. Dinner was great, the best breakfast I have had for a while. The staff really helpful, friendly and very welcoming. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Easby room was large and comfortable, fab bathroom with high quality fixtures and fittings, lovely v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burythorpe
3.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
548 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
11.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
698 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Address: Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range: £72 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Adam Richardson produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House Malton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing