We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kenyoung3
Retford, United Kingdom

Truly a Gem

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2024via mobile
Visited Burythorpe House on a weekend break. A wonderful welcoming Country House set in North Yorkshire. The accommodation was spotlessly clean. and the hotel has a warm and comfortable feel in all areas. The staff were excellent with a special mention for Jill who looked after us so well on arrival and throughout Dinner. The Manager Alison is passionate on good customer service and this shines through in every department
The standard of cuisine both for Dinner and breakfast could not be faulted with a good selection of options available.Good range of drinks at sensible prices however no draught ales available but a good section of bottled beers etc
All in all a very pleasant experience and we will certainly return
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Beautiful country setting in North Yorkshire on the edge of Burythorpe Village Excellent Parking
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Troodos Cottage is situated in a pretty courtyard
    4.1 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £141
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £141
    0.2 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £50
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £50
    • Priceline
    0.2 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Room 4
    £100
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      £100
    • Hotels.com
      £100
    • Tripadvisor
      £100
    0.1 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £84
    • Expedia.com
      £88
    0.2 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £68
    • Expedia.com
      £70
    1.0 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The Ham and Cheese
    £108
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £108
    3.0 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    7.4 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    7.3 miles from Burythorpe House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Burythorpe
    Reviews (731)
    Filter reviews
    731 results
    Traveller rating
    480
    151
    54
    34
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    480
    151
    54
    34
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews old house country house dining room open fire lovely hotel beautiful surroundings a lovely stay following morning cooked to perfection stayed for one night north yorkshire afternoon tea whole experience breakfast was delicious the pub tennis bath
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 731 reviews
    Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

    What a wonderful country house. Setting, service and ambience. Set for great walks and warm fires. The food in the restaurant was lovely and overall a great experience. The only elements that prevented me giving this a 5. The mattress. Change it now. It was like a water bed and spoilt the beautiful sleigh bed. The roll top bath and shower is an accident waiting to happen…. It wobbles and no handle to help getting in or out of the shower element.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Geordie28
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Gaskell, General Manager at Burythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay over the New Year period. We are delighted to let you know that both issues raised have been addressed and the bed now has a new ( and very firm ) mattress and the bath is once again completely stable. We very much enjoyed meeting you both and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Burythorpe in the not too distant future.

    Many Thanks and Kindest Regards

    Alison

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 October 2023

    Stayed in the Newbury room ( I think it’s called ). The one with the large bath in the room. Service from start to finish excellent. From the lady ringing us to ask if we needed a cot, to leaving after breakfast, the stay was superb. The room was spotless, and the bed was massive and a huge sleigh. The views over the very well maintained lawn were lovely, although unfortunate about the grey foggy weather. I think this room was a steal at the price we payed, as I lay in the bath watching TV! The breakfast a little pricey at £35 for 2 full English’s and tea & coffee. We also felt like we didn’t fit in very well at breakfast time as mainly upper class people, and we have a very noisy (beautiful) baby! But the staff made us and her feel very welcome, looked after, and at ease. Would happily stay again.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Y5463YOamye
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 October 2023

    We stayed as a small group for two nights from the 20/10/23.
    The welcome from Alison and Julie and the rest of the staff was wonderful. The rooms are very well appointed and comfy. The food at Burythorpe house is excellent and the breakfast is superb, many thanks to the chef.
    This hotel is a hidden gem and perfect for a relaxing break surrounded by the beautiful countryside, just several miles from Malton. We visited when the weather was not so warm, but seated at the side of their roaring log fire, enjoying a nice drink from the bar, it was a home from home.
    On the Saturday to our great surprise they had a saxophonist visit for several hours which was great entertainment, enjoyed by all.
    Thanks again to all the staff, we cannot wait to visit again. Kevin

    Room tip: Try the breakfast at the hotel it’s excellent.
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Kev w
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 September 2023

    Stunning location, beautiful large rooms, very clean.
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning. Super comfy nights’ sleep, friendly staff and quite close to local pubs to enjoy what the surrounding villages have to offer.

    Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank GeneralDoyle
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

    We visited as a family for a special birthday celebration. The whole experience from start to finish was fantastic. The staff were very down to Earth, nothing was too much trouble for them.The food was of incredible quality and they made adjustments to everyone’s requirements which was appreciated. Despite the hotel being full (it’s Malton Food Festival weekend) there was hardly a delay with service. The rooms were very clean and well appointed and the beds extremely comfortable. We had coffee after breakfast in the beautiful grounds and felt very relaxed the whole visit. A special mention to George who worked as bar staff, porter and all round assistant going above and beyond to assist. Thank you to all though it was wonderful. I can’t wait to return

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank MichaelaVeal
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews