We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be better”

The Blacksmith's Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blacksmith's Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Flaxton B&B and Inns
york
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Not sure if this place has changed hands but used to come here regualy to eat and havent been for a while so thought it might be nice for a treat. Everbody working there seemed to be different and all little unsure of what they were doing. The food was definatly not as good, Not terrible but nothing to write home about either. Dont think we will be back as better places to eat in our area and better value for money. Nice beers though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparts666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    9
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
30
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Had a meal there last night,just testing the water after hearing great reviews from friends..I can say I was not dissapointed.The bar was full,with a lovely log fire,and friendly ambience.Every table was full at 7.30,in this climate I thought that was great.My starter of scallops was truly the best ever......followed by fillet steak that melted in your mouth..Good Yorkshire portions too.Looking forward to my next visit. Thankyou ! .Didnt realise there were rooms,that will come in handy for a future wedding guests...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with a work collegue, the room was a great size and very comfortable, the beds were superb. The service was great and the food better. The atmosphere in the pub was brilliant and the locals very friendly. The owner was brilliant and made sure that we were made welcome and couldnt do enough to help us, I know for certain that when I am on the area next I will be staying here again. Great value, great place great stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tucker84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here after getting married at sandburn hall. My wife also got ready for the wedding here. We booked 3 rooms for immediate family and received the most thoughtful service. Excellent quaint rooms lovely setting, great owners. So glad we stopped here rather than paying fortune to stop at a busy city centre hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My family and I stayed here for two nights, while attending a wedding at the nearby Sandburn Hall.
We had already read some fantastic reviews and we were not disappointed.
The owners were so friendly and helpful. They provided a wonderful breakfast each morning and were very accomodating with regards to the children (4 and 3 years old)
We ate at the pub on the first evening and enjoyed that very much too.
We stayed in the family room and we were very impressed as to the size of the room and bathroom.
We we all very comfortable and had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_81_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laughton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed with some work colleagues, all rooms were excellent. Breakfast to die for and food overall lovely.

Always stay here rather than York central as easy to Park and the location is delightful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laughton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I have stayed at the Blacksmiths arms on numerous occasions, always a great welcome. Great food, try the flipper; Dolphin size fish and chips! Rooms are excellent. Great base to discover York without the parking problems, near to Scarborough and Whitby. Nice golf courses near by, recommend York golf club Strensall. lastly, great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.0 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thompsons Arms B&B
Thompsons Arms B&B
#2 of 2 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
0.0 mi away
Birk House Bed & Breakfast
Birk House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Stamford Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's Arms

Property: The Blacksmith's Arms
Address: Flaxton, Flaxton YO60 7RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Flaxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blacksmith's Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blacksmith's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's Arms Flaxton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing