We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

The Blacksmith's Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blacksmith's Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Flaxton B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The Blacksmith's Arms in Flaxton is our favourite place to dine. With outstandingly good food at very reasonable prices, a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and excellent service we have never been disappointed. When we got engaged earlier this year we knew from the outset that our perfect day would include a reception at this pub. Claire and Nigel made this dream come true for us and we cannot thank them and their amazing staff enough for all their hard work and efforts. From start to finish the day was everything we had hoped it would be, and so much more besides. Simply the best. Anna Louise and Karl

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    9
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
30
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

An overnight business trip meant that we were fortunate enough to stop at The Blacksmith's Arms in beautiful Flaxton. First impressions count for so much and the pretty village with it's pretty pub and B&B got us off to a great start. Private parking was a nice touch and the friendly greeting from Nigel and the dogs set the tempo for a very relaxed stay.

We were shown to our room which was superbly presented with lovely furnishings and couldn't wait to get downstairs for our evening meal. I'd read other reviews on here about the quality and variety on the menu, and the reviews were largely accurate. An excellent range of locally sourced produce and terrific prices too. My lady and I settled in to our drinks as we waited for our food (excellent waitress service by the way) as we enjoyed the 'proper' pub surroundings.

Soon enough the generous portions of gorgeous fish were served up and it lived up to the positive feedback on here; two of the best meals we've had in a pub for years. The draught cider was lovely and went down a little too well, so we retired for an evening of relaxation after a few pints.

The following morning's breakfast was of superb quality and generous Yorkshire portions once again. The hospitality shown by Claire and everyone involved with The Blacksmith's Arms at Flaxton goes way beyond what I'd grown to expect. My lady and I have travelled all over the place, and it's very rare to get a combination of value, atmosphere and quality of service.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our daughter's wedding was held here - meal for 26 family and close friends, then evening reception with buffet for 60 friends. We cannot fault the standard of friendly, personal, efficient service given by Claire, Nigel and staff, who went to great lengths to make it a perfect day. The delicious food and the indoor and outdoor setting - marquee provided for the overspill in the evening - were enjoyed by all. We stayed here for 2 nights and received great service, very comfortable room and excellent breakfast. This was the first wedding Claire and Nigel had held here, and they deserve to have people queuing to book. Totally recommended. Maggie and Richard

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Tried this excellent pub after a nice drive out on a sunny evening. Welcome, service and a great meal will make sure we return to The Blacksmith`s. I had fillet steak which was cooked to perfection and my Husband had home made steak and kidney pie which came with a jug of lovely hot gravy. The chips were excellent. Little touches like a tray of olives and jug of iced water were appreciated. Great value for money as well. I cannot fault anything about the evening and the owners deserve to do very well here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I was part of a group over in Flaxton for a wedding. The landlord was friendly and very hospitable and welcoming, he opened the pub up early for us and was helpful about how we could get around the area. Lovely staff and the Theakstons tastes top notch too, very moreish :-) I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Went Easter wekend with family and was very pleasantly surprised with what we saw. Having lived in the area this was our first try at the Blacksmiths. Welcomed by a friendly host and seated at our reserved table near a very warming log fire. We had a variety of meals from the selection on offer and on the whole we were very delighted with what we got. The selection of beers and wine was welcome and not pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkies83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Had an evening meal here with my husband and two children as we were staying in nearby lodges.
Inside is nicely decorated and it looks like it has recently been done up.The owners were friendly and looked after us well. That evening we arrived just after a party of 23 so I was a bit worried how long it would take for our food to arrive. But I didn't need to worry, food is cooked using fresh ingredients and you can certainly tell by the quality. As a group of 4 we all had something different and we were all very pleased with what we had. I had the fillet steak which was very tender and cooked perfectly served with a fresh salad and homemade chips. I would certainly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleafordSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.0 mi away
Thompsons Arms B&B
Thompsons Arms B&B
#2 of 2 in Flaxton
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Birk House Bed & Breakfast
Birk House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Stamford Bridge
43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's Arms

Property: The Blacksmith's Arms
Address: Flaxton, Flaxton YO60 7RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Flaxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blacksmith's Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Blacksmith's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's Arms Flaxton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing